The Service has eight different geographic regions with our headquarters located in Washington, D.C. But no matter the location, each region is dedicated to conserving the nation's fish and wildlife resources and fostering an environmental stewardship ethic based on ecological principles, scientific knowledge of fish and wildlife and a sense of moral responsibility.

Explore Our Regions

Each FWS Region is committed to the mission to conserve, protect and enhance fish, wildlife, plants and their habitats for the continuing benefit of the American people. Click a region name below for more about each region.

Pacific Region
The Pacific region is committed to collaborating with our numerous partners, including Tribes and state, local and federal agencies, Native Hawaiians, and Indigenous Pacific Island communities.
map of the Southwest region including Arizona, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas
In the Southwest region, we work with a variety of partners and other agencies, communities, tribal governments, conservation groups, business interests, landowners and concerned citizens to conserve, protect, and enhance fish, wildlife, and their habitat. Our regional office is in Albuquerque, New Mexico.
A map of the Midwest Region including Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio and Wisconsin
The Midwest region is committed to expanding partnerships offering innovative opportunities to enhance the region, and providing the public with quality hunting, fishing, wildlife watching and other wildlife-dependent recreational opportunities on Service lands.
map showing area of the Southeast region
The Southeast Region carries out the Service mission within the states of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee, as well as Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Our regional office is located in Atlanta, Georgia.
The Northeast Region is committed to safe and equitable access to nature for all, working with partners to meet today's conservation needs while addressing the concerns of a changing climate, and cultivating an inclusive workforce. Our regional office is in Hadley, Massachusetts.
Our region is defined by three distinct landscapes. In the east lie the central and northern Great Plains, primarily the vast mixed- and short-grass prairies. To the west rise the Rocky Mountains and the intermountain areas beyond the Continental Divide, including parts of the sprawling Colorado Plateau and the Great Basin. The northeastern part of the Region contains millions of shallow wetlands known as the “prairie potholes,” which produce a large portion of the continent’s waterfowl. Our regional office is in Lakewood, Colorado.
In Alaska we are shared stewards of world renowned natural resources and our nation’s last true wild places. The lands and waters of this place we call home nourish a vast and unique array of fish, wildlife and people. We cultivate a reverent awareness and respect for all things, from Alaska’s smallest plants and most iconic animals to its diverse communities and cultures. Our hope is that each generation has the opportunity to live with, live from, discover and enjoy the wildness of this awe-inspiring land and the people who love and depend on it.
Pacific Southwest
The Pacific Southwest region is committed to protecting a healthy environment for people, fish and wildlife. We pride ourselves on helping Americans conserve and enjoy the outdoors and our living treasures.