The Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES) entered into force in 1975, and became the only treaty to ensure that international trade in plants and animals does not threaten their survival in the wild. A State or country that has agreed to implement the Convention is called a Party to CITES. Currently there are 183 Parties. They include 182 member countries and the European Union .

CITES in the United States

Under the Endangered Species Act (ESA), the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service has been designated to carry out the provisions of CITES through the Division of Management Authority and the Division of Scientific Authority.  We work with numerous partners including federal and state agencies, industry groups, and conservation organizations. 

U.S. CITES Implementation and Biennial Reports

CITES requires each Party to regularly submit reports on how they are implementing the Convention.  These reports may contain information on legislative and regulatory changes, as well as law enforcement, permitting, communications, and administrative matters.  The reporting process is a valuable assessment of our program, allowing us to identify successes as well as areas for improvement. 

PDF downloads of U.S. CITES implementation and biennial reports:
U.S. CITES Implementation Report 2013-2015 pdf
U.S. CITES Biennial Report 2011-2012 pdf
U.S. CITES Biennial Report 2009-2010 pdf
U.S. CITES Biennial Report 2007-2008pdf
U.S. CITES Biennial Report 2005-2006 pdf
U.S. CITES Special Single Year Report for 2004 pdf
U.S. CITES Biennial Report 2002-2003 pdf
U.S. CITES Biennial Report 2000-2001 pdf


Banner Credits: Orchid background: USFWS; Alligator: USFWS; Primate: Vanessa Woods; Pink Lady's Slipper orchid: Thomas Barnes/University of Kentucky; Paddlefish: Tennessee Aquarium