Contact Us

For general questions about the Wetlands Mapper, accessing wetlands data, or our website, please email your inquiry to wetlands_team@fws.gov.

Please note: The wetlands displayed on the Wetlands Mapper show wetland type and extent using a biological definition of wetlands and are mapped using a specific date. There is no attempt to define the limits of proprietary jurisdiction of any Federal, State, or local government, or to establish the geographical scope of the regulatory programs of government agencies, or to account for changes in the landscape that may have occurred after the wetland data were produced.

Persons intending to engage in activities involving modifications within or adjacent to wetland areas should seek the advice of appropriate federal, state, or local agencies concerning specified agency regulatory programs and proprietary jurisdictions that may affect such activities.

For information about regulations that may affect wetlands or development on your property, contact the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers office nearest you: Army Corps of Engineers Office Locations.

Location and Contact Information

Mailing Address

5275 Leesburg Pike Baileys Crossroads, VA, 22041

National and Regional Contacts

NWI Leadership/HQ

HQ Leadership specializes in program administration, scientific integrity, and innovation.

Martha Balis-Larsen
Chief, Division of Budget and Technical Support
Ecological Services
martha_bails_larsen@fws.gov

Jonathan Phinney
Chief, Branch of Geospatial Mapping & Technical Support
Ecological Services
jonathan_phinney@fws.gov

Megan Lang
Chief Scientist
National Wetlands Inventory
megan_lang@fws.gov

NWI Wetland Coordinators

Wetland coordinators specialize in data quality control, training, field operations support, funding and coordination.

Gary Hunt
Wetlands Coordinator for FWS regions 2 and 4
gary_hunt@fws.gov

Amanda Pachomski
Wetlands Coordinator for FWS regions 3 and 5
amanda_pachomski@fws.gov

Sara Owen
Wetlands Coordinator for FWS regions 1, 6 and 8
sara_owen@fws.gov

Sydney Thielke
Wetlands Coordinator for Region 7 (Alaska)
sydney_thielke@fws.gov

NWI Data Center

Data center staff specialize in data quality assurance, management, distribution and analysis.

Rusty Griffin
Quality Assurance Coordinator
rusty_griffin@fws.gov

Jane Harner
Wetlands Database Administrator
jane_harner@fws.gov

Jeff Ingebritsen
GIS Specialist
jeff_ingebritsen@fws.gov