Skip Navigation


Special Use Permits

Special Use Permits enable the public to engage in wildlife-related activities on a National Wildlife Refuge which would otherwise be prohibited.

Learn more

About the Complex

Pacific Reefs

The complex includes Baker Island, Howland Island, and Jarvis Island, Kingman Reef, Johnston Atoll, Palmyra Atoll, Rose Atoll, Mariana Arc of Fire, and Wake Atoll.

Mariana Trench is managed as part of the Pacific Reefs.

Learn more about the complex 

About the NWRS

National Wildlife Refuge System


The National Wildlife Refuge System, within the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, manages a national network of lands and waters set aside to conserve America’s fish, wildlife, and plants.

Learn more about the NWRS  

Follow NWRS Online


Learn About the Marianas Trench MNM

Page Photo Credits — Submarine Ring of Fire 2006 Exploration, NOAA Vents Program
Last Updated: Apr 22, 2016
Return to main navigation