Virtual Youth Fish and Wildlife Club

Calling all inquisitive explorers, young anglers, brilliant biologists, future fish nerds, and generally nature-curious kiddos! Youth Fish & Wildlife Club aims to tap into youth curiosity and wonder, foster appreciation for nature and culture in the Alaska and Mountain-Prairie regions, engage young people informally with science, and teach proficiency in outdoor skills. Youth Fish & Wildlife Club is geared towards youth ages 8-12 but all are welcome, including younger kiddos and curious adults.

Join Marye and guests every Wednesday to learn something new and connect with friends:

How do I connect? Open https://www.zoomgov.com/join in a new window. Enter meeting ID: 161 744 4324 password: F&Wclub23!

What time should I tune in? 8:30PM Eastern / 7:30PM Central / 6:30PM Mountain / 5:30PM Pacific / 4:30PM Alaska / 3:30PM Hawaii

American Sign Language interpretation will be available at virtual sessions beginning January 31.

SPRING 2024 SESSION TOPICS

January 17 – Whose Track is That? Become a Winter Detective

January 24 – Winter Winners: How Fish Don’t Freeze and Other Chilly Facts - Please bring a marker and a piece of paper!

January 31 – All About Wolves with Sarah Markegard, Biologist - *This session is open to all youth under age 18

February 7 – Staying Safe Around Ice and Snow

February 14 – Wildlife Valentine!

February 21 – How to Break Up With Your Goldfish and Other Invasive Species Tips

February 28 – All About Polar Bears with Lindsey Mangipane, Wildlife Biologist

March 6 – Women in Conservation with Rachel Arrick, Recovery Program Coordinator, Wyoming Ecological Field Services Office and the Wyoming Toad Conservation Area.

March 13 – Bizarre and Beautiful Fishes with Katrina Liebich, Public Affairs Specialist and Fish of the Week! Podcast Host

March 20 – Who’s Scat is That? And Other Environmental Clues…

March 27 – Step Inside a National Fish Hatchery

April 3 – All About Bison

*Wednesday, April 10 – [IN-PERSON ONLY] Visit Our National Eagle Repository! Registration details coming soon!

*Thursday, April 11 – [VIRTUAL] All About Our National Eagle Repository! with Taliah Farnsworth, Education Specialist and Celeste Chen, Public Affairs Specialist.

April 17 – Being Safe Around Wildlife

April 24 – How to Poo Politely on (and Respect) Your Public Lands

May 1 – Foraging and Wild Foods with Maria Dosal, Indigenous Knowledge Liaison

May 8 – Birds, Bees, and Butterflies: Become a Friend to Pollinators!

View past sessions

Learn about careers in the Fish & Wildlife Field by listening to our two podcasts:

My Life, Wildlife (hear from Alaska staff about the career paths they took to get to where they are). Fish of the Week! (a week-by-week tour of interesting fish with guests from all walks of life).

woman standing by fireweed and an old train
Public Affairs Specialist
Office of Communications
Expertise
Fish,
Urban programming,
Refuges (southern Alaska),
Endangered Species Act/Ecological Services,
Wildlife and Sportfish Restoration ,
Digital Media
Area
AK
Anchorage,AK
a line drawing of a sea otter holding her pup
Download these digital coloring pages created by Alaskan artists to learn more about wildlife and conservation, while creating works of art.
Spring 2024 - Virtual Youth Fish & Wildlife Club Flyer

Flyer for the spring 2024 season of the Virtual Youth Fish and Wildlife Club (YFWC) aims to tap into youth curiosity and wonder, foster appreciation for nature and culture in Alaska and the Mountain-Prairie region, engage young people informally with science, and teach proficiency in outdoor...

Upcoming Events