National Triploid Grass Carp Inspection and Certification Program

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service offers a triploid grass carp inspection service for natural resource agencies in the United States and in other countries, to help States and others protect their aquatic habitats. The inspection program is to provide assurance to these agencies, and others concerned about protecting aquatic resources, that shipments of grass carp alleged to be all sterile triploid carp, do not, within the confidence limits of the inspection program, contain naturally reproduction diploid carp.

What are triploid grass carp?

A triploid grass carp has three sets of chromosomes in every cell instead of the normal two. The additional set of chromosomes prevents the fish from reproducing.  Grass carp were introduced into the United States in the 1960s to control aquatic vegetation. However, the same qualities that make grass carp successful at controlling vegetation, make them harmful as an invasive species invasive species
An invasive species is any plant or animal that has spread or been introduced into a new area where they are, or could, cause harm to the environment, economy, or human, animal, or plant health. Their unwelcome presence can destroy ecosystems and cost millions of dollars.

Learn more about invasive species
. If reproducing populations of the exotic grass carp become established in river systems and other waters, their vegetation consumption would significantly alter the habitat upon which native species depend. To control grass carp populations, many States allow only sterile 'triploid' grass carp to be used.   


PUBLIC LAW 104–40—NOV. 1, 1995

Senate Report 104-51: Triploid Carp Certification

Review the Triploid Grass Carp Inspection and Certification Program

The USFWS Triploid Grass Carp Inspection and Certification Program are based on standards which the USFWS uses to provide consistency and fairness in dealing with different circumstances encountered in the implementation of a National Triploid Grass Carp Inspection and Certification Program. The critical elements of the Program are described in five categories:

  • Standards for USFWS Inspectors
  • Standards for Grass Carp Producers
  • Standards for Collection and Fees
  • Standard Fees and Penalties Program.
  • Appendix 1: Scenario Charts for Using Credits Earned

Get Started