About Us

The Urban Bird Treaty Program is a collaborative effort between the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and partners in participating U.S. cities. Launched in 1999, the first treaty was signed with New Orleans and the second with Chicago in 2000. Since that time, an additional 28 cities have become Urban Bird Treaty cities, for a total of 31 spanning from Alaska to Alabama. Read about our Urban Bird Treaty cities on the program’s Story Map.