South Dakota Shooting Sports Complex Project


The South Dakota Department of Game, Fish and Parks (SDGFP) is proposing to develop a shooting range complex on state-owned property that will accommodate the varied interest of both hunters and recreational shooters. The proposed project will be utilized for educational classes, hunter safety training, shooting sports activities, and other associated shooting range events, and will provide a safe and managed facility for the public to participate in shooting sports activities in an area  where such opportunities are limited. The project will be funded in part with a grant acquired through the Pittman-Roberson Wildlife Restoration Act, administered by the Service.

Relevant documents to this project and and additional information, including current press release and opportunities for public comment, are posted here.

Current Updates

Recent press release(s) hereSeptember 26, 2023 - U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Seeks Public Comments on a Draft Update to the Final Environmental Assessment for the South Dakota Shooting Sports Complex in Meade County, South Dakota. 

Available for public comment through October 26, 2023. Relevant documents are posted below: Draft Update to the Final EA, Appendices A-C and D-H.

Additional Materials 

Additional reference materials related to this project, such as the FONSI and previous Environmental Assessments, are also included below.

Contact Information


2022_July_Rapid City Shooting Range Final EA
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service makes a Finding of No Significant Impact for the proposed development of the South Dakota Shooting Sports Complex near Rapid City, South Dakota

Immediate Release: August 19, 2022

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (Service) has...


Fly Fish Clinic at Wolf Creek
The Office of Conservation Investment funds conservation and connects people with nature through grants that support conservation efforts with partners. We provide technical assistance and administer grants that distribute millions of dollars annually to support fish and wildlife conservation,...


A lake abuts green grass, in the background are small mountains
The Mountain-Prairie Region consists of 8 states in the heart of the American west including Colorado, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming. The region is defined by three distinct landscapes. In the east lie the central and northern Great Plains, primarily the...