skip to content

We are the federal agency dedicated to conserving wildlife, plants, and habitats for the American people.

The Southeast Region serves Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

map marker

Find local offices

It’s that time of year again. The sun is shining, the air is thick with heat and humidity, and people have begun to watch their weather forecasts with a nervous eye out for a special set of names — the names associated with tropical storms and hurricanes. Meteorologists at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration have predicted an above-normal to near-normal hurricane season, as evidenced with the recent storm event of Hurricane Hanna in south Texas.

Story archive

Public comment sought on changes to proposed critical habitat and proposed changes to 4(d) rule the Neuse River waterdog; Carolina madtom proposal remains unchanged

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (Service) is reopening the public comment period on a combined proposal to list the Neuse River waterdog salamander and the Carolina madtom catfish in North Carolina under the Endangered Species Act (ESA). In May 2019, the Service proposed listing the Carolina madtom as endangered and the Neuse River waterdog as threatened following a rigorous scientific review. Critical habitat was also proposed for both species.

News archive

From around conservation

Partner story archive

Contact Us:

Looking for a media contact? Reach out to a regional spokesperson.

Share this page

Tweet this page on Twitter or follow @USFWSsoutheast

Share this page on Facebook or follow USFWSsoutheast.


Share this page on LinkedIn