Skip Navigation

Interesting Facts

About the Complex

Lostwood Wetland Management District Complex

The Lostwood WMD Complex, located in northwest North Dakota encompasses five counties and is comprised of four National Wildlife Refuges and two Wetland Management Districts.

Des Lacs is managed as part of the Lostwood Wetland Management District Complex.

Learn more about the complex 

About the NWRS

National Wildlife Refuge System


The National Wildlife Refuge System, within the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, manages a national network of lands and waters set aside to conserve America’s fish, wildlife, and plants.

Learn more about the NWRS  

Follow NWRS Online


Visitor Information

Page Photo Credits — All photos courtesy of USFWS unless otherwise noted.,

Spring Turkey - Copyright Laurie Richardson


Last Updated: May 24, 2017
Return to main navigation