North American Wetlands Conservation Council

106 FW 2
FWM Number
Originating Office
Division of Realty

2.1 Purpose. This chapter describes the role of the North American Wetlands Conservation Council.

2.2 Authority. North American Wetlands Conservation Act of 1989.

2.3 Council Responsibilities. The North American Wetlands Conservation Act (Act) established a nine-member Council to recommend wetlands conservation projects in the United States, Canada, and Mexico to the Migratory Bird Conservation Commission (Commission) based on criteria in the Act.

2.4 Policies and Procedures.

A. Council policies and procedures are found in the Act, summaries of Council meetings, and the "North American Wetlands Conservation Act - Grant Application Instructions" booklet.

B. Service policies and procedures on support of the Council are covered in 662 FW.

2.5 Membership.

A. Permanent Members. The Director of the Fish and Wildlife Service and Secretary of the Board of the National Fish and Wildlife Foundation.

B. Appointed Members. The Secretary of the Interior appoints the following Council members:

(1) Four individuals who reside in different flyways and who are Directors of state fish and wildlife agencies;

(2) Three individuals who represent different charitable and nonprofit organizations that are actively participating in carrying out wetlands conservation projects under the Act, the Plan, or the Tripartite Agreement for conservation of migratory birds in Mexico; and

(3) An alternate.

2.6 Meetings. The Council meets approximately two months prior to Commission meetings, usually in March, July, and December. Meetings may be held at any location in Canada, Mexico or the United States.