Comparison of spotted owl subspecies

Photo By/Credit

John and Karen Hollingsworth (NSO); Rick Kuyper (CSO); and Shaula Hedwall (MSO)/USFWS

Date Shot/Created
Media Usage Rights/License
Public Domain
There are three subspecies of spotted owl (Strix occidentalis) that live in the western United States – the northern spotted owl, the California spotted owl and the Mexican spotted owl, pictured here from left to right. (Northern spotted owl, Credit: John and Karen Hollingsworth/USFWS; California spotted owl, Credit: Rick Kuyper/USFWS; Mexican spotted owl, Credit: Shaula Hedwall/USFWS)
Subject tags