Wichita Mountains National Wildlife Refuge, OK
Credit: Elise Smith

The National Wildlife Refuge System is the nation’s largest collection of public lands and waters conserved for fish and wildlife. Planning is essential to ensure that the Refuge System meets this conservation commitment.

National wildlife refuges are often small pieces of broad landscapes, but the Refuge System commitment and vision are not small.  To be effective in confronting the challenges posed by climate change, invasive species, habitat fragmentation and development, the Refuge System must look beyond refuge boundaries to work and plan with multiple partners.

Region 1 (Pacific)
Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Oregon, Pacific Islands, Washington

Region 2 (Southwest)
Arizona, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas

Region 3 (Midwest)
Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, Wisconsin

Region 4 (Southeast)
Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands


Region 5 (Northeast)

Connecticut, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Delaware, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Maine, New York, Vermont, Maryland, New Jersey, Virginia

Region 6 (Mountain-Prairie)
Colorado, Kansas, Montana
Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming

Region 7 (Alaska)

Region 8 (California Nevada Operations)
California, Nevada, Oregon (Klamath Basin)