Alaska Virtual Youth Fish and Wildlife Club

Calling all inquisitive explorers, young anglers, brilliant biologists, future fish nerds, and generally nature-curious kiddos! Youth Fish & Wildlife Club aims to tap into youth curiosity and wonder, foster appreciation for nature and culture in Alaska and beyond, engage young people informally with science, and teach proficiency in outdoor skills. 

Join Marye and guests every Wednesday to learn something new and connect with friends:

We meet Wednesdays over Zoom (meeting ID: 161 682 2976 password: F&Wclub23!) @4PM Alaska (3PM Hawaii/5PM Pacific/6PM Mountain/7PM Central/8PM Eastern). With Anchorage School District's extended school day times to make up for snow days, we are bumping our normal 4PM spot to 4:30PM through March 1st (see below).

SPRING 2023 SESSION TOPICS

January 18 – Welcome to Youth Fish & Wildlife Club!

January 25 – Alaska's rodents

February 1 – Snowflakes and ice (bring a white piece of paper and scissors)

Feb 8 (4:30PM) – Pacific walrus 

Feb 15 (4:30PM) – Sounds and smells of the animal world

Feb 22 (4:30PM) – Junior Duck Stamp  

March 1 (4:30PM) – Stump a scientist 

March 8 – K9s in conservation 

March 15 – No Zoom/Spring Break 

March 22 – Sea otters 

March 29 – Puffins & Alaska Maritime National Wildlife Refuge

April 5 – Wildfires

April 12 – Spring bears & safety

April 19 – Ocean pollution & more 

April 26 – Hunting Q&A

May 3 – Spring moose & safety

Week of May 10Virtual Arctic Refuge Bird Fest featuring conversation & demo with artist Francis Vallejo)

View past sessions

SCA Intern (Urban Fishing/Youth Fish & Wildlife Club)
Office of Communications
Expertise
Youth education
Area
AK
Public Affairs Specialist
Office of Communications
Expertise
Fish,
Urban programming,
Refuges (southern Alaska),
Endangered Species Act/Ecological Services,
Wildlife and Sportfish Restoration ,
Digital Media
Area
AK
Anchorage, AK
Download these digital coloring pages created by Alaskan artists to learn more about wildlife and conservation, while creating works of art.

Upcoming Events