Calling all inquisitive explorers, young anglers, brilliant biologists, future fish nerds, and generally nature-curious kiddos! Alaska Youth Fish & Wildlife Club aims to tap into youth curiosity and wonder, foster appreciation for nature and culture in Alaska, engage young people informally with science, and teach proficiency in outdoor skills. Programming is tailored to middle school and younger, but all are welcome!

Join Marye and guests every Wednesday to learn something new and connect with friends (note new time):

We meet Wednesdays over Zoom (meeting ID: 161 932 4120 password: F&Wclub22!) at 5:30 PM Alaska(3:30 PM Hawaii/6:30 PM Pacific/7:30 PM Mountain/8:30 PM Central/9:30 PM Eastern)

SUMMER 2022 SESSION TOPICS

June 15 – Invasive Species

June 22 – Juneteenth Stump a Scientist

June 29 – Wildlife and Fireworks

July 6 – Loons, Line, and Lead

July 13 – Water and Wildlife Safety

July 20 – Fish Identification

July 27 – Counting Fish & Birds

August 3 – Pollinators and Alaska’s Hummingbirds

View past sessions

Program History

This club is a place where young people meet scientists, learn about careers in this field, and build an understanding and appreciation for Alaska fish, wildlife, and public lands. Our in-person Anchorage youth fishing program grew into this larger online community where youth, mentors, and professionals could continue to safely interact during the COVID-19 pandemic. While we continue to offer in-person programming as capacity and conditions allow, we enthusiastically continue to offer this virtual space for networking, learning, and sharing inspiration! We meet every Wednesday and frequently have guest speakers.

Related: My Life, Wildlife (hear from Alaska staff about the career paths they took to get to where they are).

Contact Information

Programs

The Fish and Aquatic Conservation program leads aquatic conservation efforts for the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. We are committed to tackling the nation’s highest priority aquatic conservation and recreational challenges to conserve, restore, and enhance fisheries for future generations.
The Ecological Services Program works to restore and protect healthy populations of fish, wildlife, and plants and the environments upon which they depend. Using the best available science, we work with federal, state, Tribal, local, and non-profit stakeholders, as well as private land owners, to...
The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service manages an unparalleled network of public lands and waters called the National Wildlife Refuge System. With more than 560 refuges spanning the country, this system protects iconic species and provides some of the best wildlife viewing opportunities on Earth.
The Migratory Bird Program works with partners to protect, restore and conserve bird populations and their habitats for the benefit of future generations by: ensuring long-term ecological sustainability of all migratory bird populations, increasing socioeconomic benefits derived from birds,...

Facilities

Welcome to our Southern Alaska Office! We have dedicated staff working with partners to conserve fish and wildlife via habitat restoration and conservation, fish assessment and management, technical assistance, cost-sharing, funding, and outreach.