National Wildlife Refuge System
Midwest Region

The mission of the National Wildlife Refuge System is to administer a national network of lands and waters for the conservation, management and where appropriate, restoration of the fish, wildlife and plant resources and their habitats within the United States for the benefit of present and future generations of Americans.

From the wolves of Agassiz National Wildlife Refuge to the oldest living trees east of the Mississippi River at Cypress Creek National Wildlife Refuge, the Midwest Region of the National Wildlife Refuge System protects the unique natural heritage of America’s heartland.

There are 56 National Wildlife Refuges in the Midwest Region that permanently protect an array of wetlands, prairies, rivers and forest habitat. In addition, 12 Wetland Management Districts actively acquire, restore and manage prairie wetland and grassland habitat critical to waterfowl and many other wetland, grassland shorebirds. This is all made possible through Federal Duck Stamp funding. Thank you!

National Wildlife Refuges and Wetland Management Districts in the Midwest include more than 1.3 million acres of fish and wildlife habitat throughout Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio and Wisconsin.

Learn about the latest in conservation across the Midwest.

Read more »

Last updated: November 7, 2017