Coastal Barrier Resources Act

More information available here:

Official CBRS Maps

The John H. Chafee Coastal Barrier Resources System (CBRS) is a collection of specific units of land and associated aquatic habitats that serve as barriers protecting the Atlantic, Gulf, and Great Lakes coasts. The CBRS currently includes 584 System units, which comprise nearly 1.3 million acres of land and associated aquatic habitat. There are also 271 "otherwise protected areas," a category of coastal barriers already held for conservation purposes that include an additional 1.9 million acres of land and associated aquatic habitat.

Step 1: Use the Google Earth KML file or the State Locator Maps (PDF format) below to find a unit name(s).

State Locator Maps

Alabama Georgia Massachusetts New Jersey Ohio Texas
Connecticut Louisiana Michigan New York Great Lakes Puerto Rico Virgin Islands
Delaware Maine Minnesota New York Long Island Rhode Island Virginia
Florida Maryland Mississippi North Carolina South Carolina Wisconsin


Step 2: Download Official CBRS Maps (PDF format)

To download a map, click on a file name to save it, then open the file with a PDF viewer or editor.  

Click here to access Official CBRS Maps







Last updated: