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$5,000 REWARD FOR INFO ABOUT FLORIDA PANTHER 

SHOT IN COLLIER COUNTY 
  

VERO BEACH, Fla. -- The U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) and Florida Fish 

and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) are offering a $5,000 reward for 

information leading to the arrest and conviction of the person/persons responsible for 

shooting a Florida panther. 

  

The adult Florida panther was reported as road-killed at about 8:30 p.m. on March 22, 

2015, by passing motorists.  The reporting party found the dead panther lying on the edge 

of Immokalee Road in Collier County about one mile west of Camp Keais Road.  FWC 

Officers responded to the scene and follow-up investigation revealed that the panther had 

actually died as a result of a gunshot wound, and that there was no evidence that it had 

been struck by a vehicle. 

  

Investigators with the USFWS and FWC are working cooperatively to identify the 

person/persons responsible for shooting this Florida panther, and are seeking assistance 

from the public in solving the crime. Anyone with information about this incident may 

call the FWC’s 24-hour Wildlife Alert Hotline at 888-404-3922. For those wishing to 

remain anonymous, please use Tip@MyFWC.com or go online to 

MyFWC.com/WildlifeAlert. 

  

The Florida panther is protected under the Endangered Species Act of 1973 (ESA), which 

currently lists the species as “endangered.”  This means the Florida panther is in danger 

of extinction throughout all or a significant portion of its range.  The ESA makes it 

unlawful for a person to take a listed animal without a permit.  Take is defined as “to 

harass, harm, pursue, hunt, shoot, wound, kill, trap, capture, or collect or attempt to 

engage in any such conduct.”  

 



If convicted criminally, the federal penalty is up to one year of imprisonment, $100,000 

fine per individual or $200,000 per organization.  

  

In addition, State of Florida Statute 379.4115 makes it a third degree felony to kill a 

Florida panther.  The state penalty is up to five years in jail and/or up to a $5,000 fine. 

 

                                                               ### 

  

Note for reporters:  This release contains virtually all of the releasable information 

about this case at this time.  However, agency media contacts for information regarding 

the ongoing investigation are: USFWS, Ken Warren at (772) 469-4323 or 

ken_warren@fws.gov; and FWC, Diane Hirth at (850) 410-5291 or 

diane.hirth@myfwc.com. 


