
Blackwater National Wildlife Refuge (NWR) is one of 
over 560 national wildlife refuges in the United States. The 
primary objective of a national wildlife refuge is to provide 
habitat for the conservation and protection of wildlife.   
 
Your hunt permit authorizes you to take specified game 
only. Harming or needlessly disturbing any other wildlife 
is a violation of refuge regulations and is cause for 
prosecution.  The regulations listed in this brochure 
supplement the general regulations which govern hunting 
on national wildlife refuges set forth in Title 50: Part 32, 
Code of Federal Regulations. Individuals may have their 
permits revoked if found to be in violation of any Federal 
or State laws. Hunting will be in accordance with 
applicable State regulations and the following special 
refuge regulations. 
 

APPLICATION GUIDELINES 
Applications will only be accepted by mail postmarked 
no later than October 1st.  The only exception will be 
the archery permits.  They will still be available at the 
visitor center starting Sept. 8th and continuing 
throughout the archery season. 

 
• Beginning July 5th - applications will be available at the 

Visitor Center from 9:00 am – 4:00 pm. 
• Completed hunt applications must be received through 

the mail. Include check or money order made out to the 
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) in the 
appropriate amount. 

• Area U and B1 will be closed to archery during the 
Youth Hunts on November 5th & 6th, 2016. 

 
Permit Application Fees 
Archery Application:  $20 
Quota Muzzleloader:  $10 
Non-Quota Muzzleloader:  $10 
Quota Shotgun:  $10 
Non-Quota Shotgun:  $10 or $20 (for each block of days) 
Youth Fees:  $5 for each hunt 
Free for Youth Hunt Days (Nov. 5th & 6th) 
 
Note: Fees are reduced by ½ for Golden Age 
Passport/Senior Pass or Golden Access Passport/Access 
Pass holders. Pass numbers must be provided. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 

PERMIT LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 
Hunters are required to possess a printed valid Maryland 
hunting license and all required stamps, valid government-
issued photo identification, and a valid original printed 
hunting permit issued by the refuge on their person at all 
times during refuge hunt and scout days. 
 
For hunt information, call Hunt Coordinator Allen 
Johnston at 410-221-8815.  During the quota hunts only, 
Allen may be contacted by cell phone at 443-205-5290. 
 
Report illegal activity or related information to:  
USFWS Law Enforcement 443-477-1934. 
 

GENERAL REGULATIONS 
Other than archery permits and the youth hunt days, we 
require all hunters, regardless of age, to submit a Big 
Game Hunt Application (FWS Form 3-2356) by mail to 
obtain a permit. All permits are non-transferable. Only 
participants possessing authorized permits will be allowed 
to enter the hunt areas. The only exceptions are non-
hunting assistants for youth hunters and hunters with 
disabilities. 
  
Youth Hunt  
Hunters 16 years of age or younger may participate in the 
youth hunt if the individual possesses a valid hunting 
license or is exempt from Maryland hunting license 
requirements. Prior to hunting on the refuge during the 
youth day hunts, all youth and their legal guardians must 
sign the permit on the front of this brochure. Youth must 
be accompanied in the field by an individual who is 21 
years old or older and possesses a valid Maryland hunting 
license, or is exempt from hunting license requirements, 
and is not afield with a firearm, bow or other hunting 
device. Hunter check-in is not required.  Only areas B1, N 
and U are open for the designated youth hunt days.  
 
Hunters with Disabilities 
We require all hunters with disabilities to provide, with 
their application, a copy of a valid Maryland DNR issued 
hunt from vehicle permit. Individuals with a disability may 
have an assistant during the hunt. Persons assisting a 
hunter with a disability must be at least 18 years of age and 
obey all refuge, State, and Federal laws and regulations. 
Persons actively assisting hunters with disabilities may 
hunt in Areas Q2 and U1. If assistants wish to hunt they 
must have all the required licenses and a refuge hunt 
permit. The use of ATVs is only permitted by disabled 
hunters in areas Q2 and U1, and they must stay on 
established roads and/or field edges.  Vehicles cannot be 
used in Area U1, only ATVs. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Access 
Motorized vehicles are authorized for access only on 
designated roads and parking areas indicated on the hunt 
map. We prohibit the use of ATVs, motorized off-road 
vehicles, and amphibious vehicles to access the refuge. 
Only hunters with disabilities are authorized by the refuge 
manager to use ATVs in area U1 and Q2. All other access 
is limited to boats, floatation devices, walk-in or bicycles.  
We prohibit hunters taking bicycles off designated roads 
and trails while on refuge lands. Boats and floatation 
devices may not be left on refuge property overnight. We 
require hunters to notify a refuge representative and 
receive permission from the refuge manager or designee 
prior to entering a closed area to retrieve game. 
 
Scouting 
Scouting will only be permitted by hunters with a permit 
from 7:00 am to sunset on September 8; October 16; 
November 20; December 11, 2016; and January 1, 2017.  
The Hunt Coordinator will be available to provide 
information at the Refuge Visitor Center during all scout 
days from 9:00 am -12:00 pm.  All youth hunt permit 
holders must be accompanied by an adult/guardian age 21 
or older. 
 
Tree Stands 
We only allow portable or temporary tree stands and blinds 
while hunting. Tree stands may be pre-installed during the 
scouting days. We prohibit hunting from a permanently 
constructed tree stand or blind. We require hunters to mark 
in plain sight any tree stands or blinds left unattended on 
refuge property with permit number and year. We also 
require hunters to remove all stands, blinds and marking 
devices, including flagging or tape, by sunset of the last 
day of the designated “stand removal week” (Feb. 4-12, 
2017). We prohibit paint or any other permanent marker to 
mark trails. We prohibit screw-in steps, spikes, or other 
objects that may damage trees. The refuge will not be held 
responsible for damage, theft, or other hunter occupancy. 
Any stands left in a hunt area after February 12, 2017, will 
be confiscated and deemed abandoned property. 
 
 
 

Other Regulations 
• Only participants possessing authorized hunt permits 

will be allowed to enter the hunt areas. 
• Hunters are prohibited from being on the refuge 

(including parking lots) between 9:00 pm & 4:30 am. 
• We prohibit the use of rimfire or centerfire rifles and 

all handguns including muzzleloading pistols. 
• We prohibit leaving deer entrails or other waste within 

50 feet of any trail, road, or refuge structure.  
• Camping and campfires are not permitted. All cooking 

devices must be self-contained and these are restricted 
only to designated parking areas. 

•  Hunt permit holders may not engage in guiding, 
outfitting, advertising, or audio or visual productions 
for commercial purposes. 

• Baiting is not permitted. 
• Use and/or possession of alcoholic beverages while 

hunting is prohibited. 
• Automatic, motion-activated game or trail cameras are 

prohibited on the refuge. 
• Driving deer is permitted only on Dec. 8-10; Jan.6-7; 

and Jan. 28. 
• Shooting or hunting within 150 yards of any occupied 

structure is prohibited. 
• Shooting from, across or down any designated refuge 

road is prohibited.  An open gate designates a refuge 
road. 

• Parking in front of gates is prohibited. 
• Boats may be used in open navigable waters. They 

may not be left overnight. 
 
Tagging and Checking Instructions  
Hunters who harvest deer during the quota hunts must 
present deer for examination at the refuge check 
station (see map) on the day of the kill, between  
9:00 am and 9:30 pm during the muzzleloader hunt 
and 9:00 am and 8:00 pm during shotgun hunts. 
Hunters who fail to check deer during operating hours 
of the check station will notify the refuge hunt 
coordinator of their kill to include species, area 
harvested, sex, and for male deer the number of points 
on each antler by noon of the following day. The Hunt 
Coordinator will be available from 12:00 pm – 1:00 
pm at the Refuge Visitor Center during the non-quota 
muzzleloader and non-quota shotgun hunts.  Deer 
taken at Blackwater NWR will not count against your 
Maryland state bag limit.  In addition, ALL deer killed 
must be field-tagged, recorded, and checked in 
accordance with State regulations. The public land 
code for Blackwater NWR is 543.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 Hunters that harvest a doe during any of  
the designated quota hunt days may apply 
early for next year’s hunt. However, to 
qualify the doe must be physically  
checked in during check station hours.  
Call-Ins will not be accepted. 



 


