
 

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 

DeSoto 
National Wildlife Refuge  

Hunting Regulations  
2020-2021 

The signing of the permit validates it as your 
general Refuge hunting permit and must be in your 
possession while participating in authorized Refuge 
hunting activities. Expiration date: January 10th, 
2021. 

I have read and understand these regulations. 

___________________   ________ 

Hunter’s Signature Date 

For More Information:  
DeSoto National Wildlife Refuge 
1434 316th Lane  
Missouri Valley, IA 51555 
712-388-4803 
402-679-9020 (Refuge Law Enforcement) 
  

REFUGE HUNTING PERMIT: All hunters must 
possess a Refuge hunting permit. This brochure, 
when signed and in your possession, serves as a 
permit for all refuge lands.  

ENTERANCE FEE PERMIT: Hunters may only 
enter the refuge if they also have a valid entrance 
fee permit (one per vehicle). Valid permits are 
DeSoto Annual Pass ($15.00), Federal Duck Stamp 
($25.00), and Daily Permit ($3.00). Other passes 
are available at the Visitor Center for seniors, 
active military, and the permanently disabled. 
Contact DeSoto NWR for more details. 

STATE REGUALTIONS: All state regulations 
apply including hunting methods, license, tagging, 
and reporting requirements. Additional Refuge-
Specific regulations are outlined in this brochure 
and in Title 50 CFR. All commercial activities, 
including guided hunts, are prohibited. 

REFUGE HOURS: Two hours before sunrise and 
two hours after sunset. Contact refuge law 
enforcement to remain after closing hours to 
retrieve or track wounded game.  

RECIPROCITY: All areas open to hunting, as 
outlined on the map of this brochure, may be 
accessed by hunters holding a resident Iowa or 
resident Nebraska license. Hunters holding non-
resident Iowa or Nebraska licenses may only hunt 
on land within the state the nonresident license is 
issued. 

***NEW– MUZZLELOADER PERMITS***: 

For muzzleloader deer hunts, Nebraska hunters 
need either a statewide muzzleloader (December 
Hunt) or Wahoo AOSC permit (December or 
January).  Nebraska hunters can contact Peter Rea 
for more information on the muzzleloader hunts 
(peter_rea@fws.gov) 

Iowa hunters will still apply for hunt through 
refuge.  Iowa hunters can mail in or drop off a 
letter with their name, address, and the hunt dates 

they want to participate in.  Mail to 1434 316th 
Lane, Missouri Valley, IA 51555  

MUZZLELOADER HUNT SCOUT DAY: The 
scout day for both DeSoto Muzzleloader hunts is 
the Saturday before the hunt weekend (11/28/2020 
and 12/26/2020). On these dates stands can be 
placed for the respective hunt weekend. 

STANDS, BLINDS, & OTHER PROPERITIES:  
Only portable stands and blinds may be placed on 
the refuge during the applicable hunting season. 
Trail cameras are not allowed.  

• ***NEW*** We allow two portable tree 
stands/blinds per hunter within the 
Archery hunt area.  Of those, only one 
stand/blind can be left on the refuge from 
one week prior to the start of the 
designated hunt season to one week after 
the end of the designated hunt season. 

• Unattended stands and blinds must be 
plainly labeled with the full name and/or 
hunting license number of the owner. 
Labels must be visible from the ground.  

• Spikes, nails, screw-in bow holders, and 
any items that penetrate the outer bark of 
a tree are prohibited. 

• Cutting or altering of tree branches or any 
vegetation is prohibited. 

• During any deer firearm season, ground 
blinds must display a 12 inch x 12 inch 
patch of solid blaze orange material 
visible in all directions. 

• Stands and blinds not in full compliance 
with these regulations are subject to 
removal.  

How to Obtain a Permit 
Nebraska:  
For all seasons: purchase state permits from— 
www.outdoornebraska.ne.gov 

Seasons, Weapons, Hunt Dates, and Quotas 

Iowa: 
Spring  and Fall Turkey: Purchase state permit 
from Iowa DNR license vendor.  
Deer Archery Either Sex: Purchase state permit 
from Iowa DNR license vendor. 
 Deer Archery Antlerless Only: Harrison or 
Pottawattamie County Antlerless Archery tags 
valid in DeSoto Archery Area. Purchase from Iowa 
DNR license vendor 
Deer Muzzleloader Antlerless Only: Special 
Permit, Apply at DeSoto NWR by 9/1/2020 

Spring Turkey: 
 Legal Weapon: Archery 
Hunt Dates: 4/15/2020—5/17/2020 
Hunter Quota: Unlimited 
Fall Turkey: 
Legal Weapon: Archery 
Hunt Dates: 10/1/2020-1/10/2021 
Hunter Quota: Unlimited 
Deer Either Sex: 
Legal Weapon: Archery 
Hunt Dates: 10/1/2020—1/10/2021 
Hunter Quota: Unlimited 
Deer Antlerless Only (Hunt 1): 
 Legal Weapon: Muzzleloader 
Hunt Dates: 12/5/2020—12/6/2020 
Iowa Permit Quota: 50  
Nebraska Permit Quota: Until Sold Out, Statewide 
Muzzleloader Permit or Season Choice Wahoo 
Unit Permit Valid 
Deer Antlerless Only (Hunt 2): 
 Legal Weapon: Muzzleloader 
Hunt Dates: 1/2/2020—1/3/2021 
Iowa Permit Quota: 50  
Nebraska Permit Quota: Until Sold Out, Season 
Choice Wahoo Unit Permit Valid 



FIRE ARMS: All firearms must be 1) unloaded 
and 2) entirely cased or broken down while in 
vehicles on refuge roads during refuge firearms 
hunts. A muzzleloader must be cased and is 
considered unloaded if the cap or priming charge is 
removed from the firearm.  

CROSSBOWS: Crossbows are prohibited as 
archery equipment unless needed because of a 
physical disability. Contact DeSoto NWR for 
additional information.   

RADIOS: The use of two-way mobile radio 
transmitters to communicate location of game or 
coordinate movement of hunters is prohibited.  

ALCOHOL: Possession or use of alcoholic 
beverages while hunting is prohibited.  

COMPANIONS: Only legal hunters holding the 
proper state hunting license may enter and hunt the 
refuge hunting areas. Unlicensed companions are 
not permitted in the hunting area when not open to 
the general public.  

DEER DRIVES: Participation in organized deer 
drives is prohibited.  

LITTERING: You may not field dress any game 
within 100 feet of the centerline of any refuge road 
or parking area. You may not dispose of an animal 
carcass on refuge property. All ribbon & flagging 
must be removed by the end of the season.  

ARCHERY DURING GUN SEASONS: Hunting 
areas will remain open to archery deer hunting 
during the respective states firearms deer season.  

BLAZE ORANGE: All hunters (including archery) 
must display blaze orange that meets their 
respective states firearms season requirements 
during any DEER season in which firearms are 
allowed om the refuge (Dec. 5th & 6th, and Jan. 
2nd & 3rd).  
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