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5 PUBLIC DEER 
HUNT REGULATIONS

Presquile National Wildlife Refuge    

2015 White-Tailed Deer Refuge-Specific Hunting Permit Conditions

In addition to current Code of Virginia Big Game Hunting Regulations and Title 50 Code of Federal Regulations, hunting of white-tailed deer on the Refuge is subject to the following permit conditions.
1. We require big game hunters to obtain a permit through a lottery administered by the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries.  We require a fee to obtain a refuge hunting permit. We notify successful applicants by mail or e-mail, and if we receive the hunting fee by the date identified in the mailing, we mail refuge hunting permits to successful applicants.  

2. We require hunters to possess a refuge hunting permit, along with their State hunting license while on refuge. 

3. We require stand hunting only. Stand hunting means the use of portable hunting blinds, portable tree stands, or stationary ground hunting.  We prohibit use of nails, screws, bolts, or screw-in steps.   We prohibit damage to trees.  Hunters must remove stands and blinds daily.

4. We prohibit the use of “man drives, “defined as individuals or group efforts intended to “push” or “jump” deer for the purposes of hunting.

5. We allow shotgun hunting on designated days as indicated on refuge hunting permits.

6. We allow the take of two deer per day.

7. We prohibit dogs.

8. We prohibit the discharge of a weapon within 300 feet (90 m) of any building.

9. We require hunters to wear in a conspicuous manner on head, chest, and back a minimum of 400 square inches (2,600 cm2) of solid-colored, hunter-orange clothing or material.

10. We prohibit the use of flagging to mark trails or for any other purpose.

11. Persons possessing, transporting or carrying firearms on national wildlife refuges must comply with all provisions of State and local law.  Person may only use firearms in accordance with refuge regulations.

12. An adult, age 21 or older, possessing and carrying a valid hunting license and refuge hunting permit, must accompany and directly control youth hunters ages 12 to 17.  We prohibit persons younger than age 12 to hunt on the refuge.

13. We prohibit the use or possession of alcohol while hunting on the refuge.

14. We require hunters to dock their boats at designated locations on the refuge.

15. We require hunters to report accidents or injuries to the refuge office or sheriff’s office within 24 hours after the incident.  Hunters must report hunting accidents resulting in serious injury to the sheriff’s office immediately.

16. We require hunters to unload shotguns while in or around boats or refuge roads.  Unloaded is defined as shotgun shell removed from chamber of the shotgun.
Legal Hunting Hours:  From ½ hour before sunrise to ½ hour after sunset
  Refuge Arrival/Departures Times: No earlier than 4:30 AM and no later than 7:00 PM
Deer are to be checked-in by calling 1-866-GOT-GAME or at <http://www3.dgif.virginia.gov/gamecheck/>.  Report that the deer was harvested in Chesterfield County, on Federally-owned public land.             
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