2020-2021 General Deer Hunting Permit – Prime Hook NWR
This brochure serves as your Prime Hook General Deer Hunting Permit. It must be validated with your signature and retained in your possession while participating in authorized refuge hunts. Expires June 30, 2021.I have read and understand the refuge hunting regulations and agree to abide by all state and federal laws and regulations. 
Signature              
General Deer Hunting Permit

Your hunt permit authorizes you to take specified game only. Harming or needlessly disturbing any other wildlife is a violation of refuge regulations and is cause for prosecution.  The regulations listed in this brochure supplement the general regulations which govern hunting on national wildlife refuges set forth in Title 50: Part 32, Code of Federal Regulations. Individuals may have their permits revoked if found to be in violation of any Federal or State laws. Hunting will be in accordance with applicable State regulations and the following special refuge regulations.

PERMIT AND LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

All hunters are required to possess a valid refuge General Deer Hunting Permit, a printed valid Delaware state hunting license or a License Exempt Number (LEN), and valid form government-issued picture identification on their person at all times during refuge hunt and scout days. 
*In addition to possessing the General Deer Hunting Permit, a printed valid Prime Hook Annual Lottery Hunting Permit is required for all hunters to possess on their person while hunting the Lottery Deer Hunt Area. **Permits are non-transferrable**
Hunters with Disabilities
We require all hunters with disabilities to obtain a State of Delaware Certified Hunter with Disabilities Card. Individuals with a disability may have an assistant during the hunt. Persons assisting a hunter with a disability must be at least 18 years of age and obey all refuge, state, and federal laws and regulations. Hunter assistants must be licensed to hunt in Delaware, but may not possess a firearm during the hunt.
Youth Hunt
Any youth from 10 years through 15 years old may participate in the designated Youth Hunt. Youth hunters must be accompanied and assisted by an adult 21 years of age or older. Adult assistants must possess a valid Delaware hunting license or LEN. Adult assistants shall not possess a firearm or other hunting device during the hunt. Hunters 13 -15 years of age must have completed a hunter education course and possess a certification card and must also purchase a Delaware junior hunting license. Adult assistants must remain within 5 feet, maintaining close visual and verbal contact, providing adequate direction to, and can immediately assume control of the firearm from the youth hunter.

Scouting

Scouting will only be permitted by hunters with a permit from 7:00 am to sunset as shown on attached table.  All youth deer hunters must be accompanied by an adult/guardian age 21 or older.
General Hunting Regulations
**All Delaware State hunting laws apply in addition to the regulations outlined in this brochure. 
· Sunday hunting is prohibited 

· Only participants possessing authorized hunt permits will be allowed to enter the hunt areas.

· Hunters and their assistants must display for inspection all licenses, permits, game, equipment, weapons, and ammunition, to Federal and State law enforcement officers.
· Hunters are prohibited from being on the refuge (including parking lots) between 9:00 pm & 4:30 am. 
· Hunting and scouting are only allowed on designated days 
· Distribution of bait or hunting with the aid of bait, including any grain, salt, minerals and other substances that are consumed is prohibited.
· Building or maintaining any structure on the refuge is prohibited.
· The use of nails, wire, bolts, screws, screw-in steps, spikes, or other objects that may damage trees is prohibited

· Cutting and damaging vegetation/trees or the use of cut vegetation/trees or organic material as camouflage for any purpose is prohibited.
· The collection or antlers or any other resources from the refuge is prohibited.
· We prohibit the use of rimfire or centerfire rifles and all handguns including muzzleloading pistols

· The use or possession of buckshot while hunting is prohibited.
· All hunting in designated safety zones as shown on hunting maps is prohibited.
· We prohibit leaving deer entrails or other waste within 50 feet of any trail, road, or refuge structure. 

· Camping and campfires are not permitted. 

· Hunt permit holders may not engage in guiding, outfitting, advertising, or audio or visual productions for commercial purposes.
· Use and/or possession of alcoholic beverages while hunting is prohibited.

· Automatic, motion-activated game or trail cameras are prohibited on the refuge.

· Driving or pushing deer is prohibited.
· Shooting from, across or down any designated refuge road is prohibited. 
· Parking in front of or blocking gates is prohibited.
· The use of ATVs, motorized off-road vehicles, and amphibious vehicles to access the refuge is prohibited.

· Motor vehicles operated outside of designated routes and parking areas is prohibited. 
· We require hunters to notify a refuge representative and receive permission from the refuge manager or designee prior to entering a closed area or safety zone to retrieve game.  
Red Fox may be taken during any deer firearms season permitted on the refuge for the 2020-2021 season(s).  There is no limit on the number of red fox that can be harvested but the refuge requires a harvest report of red fox taken ½ hour before sunrise to ½ hour after sunset.   Include red fox taken when completing the required Big Game Harvest Report for the season.              
Boating Regulations
· All hunters are required to operate their craft and possess all safety equipment in accordance with Delaware State and U.S. Coast Guard regulations. 
· The maximum horsepower allowed for boat motors is 30 HP. 
· All refuge waters are slow, no wake zones.

· Designated launching sites must be used to launch boats. 
· The use of air-thrust or inboard water-thrust boats on refuge waters is prohibited
· Boat access to Slaughter and Prime Hook Creeks is prohibited
· Boats may be used in the navigable waters of Slaughter Canal. They may not be left overnight.

Tree Stands

We only allow portable or temporary tree stands and ground blinds while hunting. We require hunters to mark in plain sight any tree stands or blinds left unattended on refuge property with a name and year. We also require hunters to remove all stands, blinds and marking devices, including flagging or tape, by sunset of the day of hunt. We prohibit paint or any other permanent marker to mark trails. The refuge will not be held responsible for damage, theft, or other hunter occupancy. Any stands left in a hunt area will be confiscated and deemed abandoned property.              

Field Tagging and Deer Checking Instructions

Deer must be tagged and checked in accordance with the State of Delaware regulations. All hunters hunting in a non-lottery hunt area must complete a harvest information report(s) at the end of the hunting season and submit them to the refuge by mail (11978 Turkle Pond Road, Milton, DE 19968), email (fw5rw_phnwr@fws.gov), or fax (302.684.8504).  Harvest information reports are available on the refuge’s website, check station or at the refuge office.
LOTTERY DEER HUNTS - November 21st & January 16th
You must be at least 16 years old to enter into the preseason lottery drawing and to obtain the Prime Hook Annual Permit.  Permits will be issued in 4 zones in the Lottery Deer Hunt Area (see map).
All hunters who hunt in the Lottery Deer Hunt Area must sign-out via the clipboard at refuge check station following their hunt and complete the harvest information report.    Any lottery permitted hunter who is not able to hunt (“no-show”) must contact the refuge at 302-684-8419 on or before the hunt day.
             LOTTERY DEER HUNT SPECIAL REGULATIONS
· Vehicles are only permitted into the hunt area through the entrance gate on Turkle Pond Road two hours before the morning legal shooting time and between 2:00-2:30pm.  The gate will be manned by a refuge representative. 
For hunt information, call the Refuge Head Quarters at 302-684-8419. 
Report illegal activity or related information to USFWS Law Enforcement 
443-477-1934.
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Prime Hook National

Wildlife Refuge

Milton, Delaware
	Season
	Date
	Bag Limit 

	Archery/

Crossbow
	Sept. 1 –      Jan. 30th

	State of Delaware Limits

	Lottery Headquarters Hunt


	Nov. 21st &       Jan. 16th
	State of Delaware Limits

	Muzzleloader
	Oct. 09 – 17
Jan. 25– 30
	State of Delaware Limits

	Shotgun
	Nov. 13 – 21
Jan. 16 – 23
	State of Delaware Limits

	Youth/Non-Ambulatory Disabled
	Nov. 7th 
	State of Delaware Limits

	Special   Antlerless
	 None for                  2020-2021
	0

	Scout Days
	Sat. & Sun.    Prior to Season
	    ****

	           Closed for
             January Handgun Season

	          NO SUNDAY HUNTING


