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The signing of this brochure validates it as your Prime Hook Waterfowl Hunting Permit and must be in your possession while participating in authorized refuge hunts. Permit expires June 30, 2017.

I have read and understand the refuge hunting regulations and agree to abide by the regulations governing the refuge.

_______________________________________________
              Signature (permits are not transferable)

 General Refuge Hunting Regulations
All hunters must have a refuge hunting permit and government-issued picture ID. This brochure serves as the Prime Hook Waterfowl Hunting Permit when signed and in your possession. Permits are non-transferable. A Prime Hook Waterfowl Hunting Permit and a Prime Hook Daily Lottery Hunting Permit are required for all hunters hunting in lottery hunts. These permits can be revoked at any time at the discretion of the refuge manager or their representative.
· Hunting in violation of any Delaware State law is a violation of refuge hunting regulations
· Hunters and assistants must display for inspection all permits, game, equipment, weapons, and ammunition, to Federal and State enforcement officers.
· All hunting boats, blinds, decoys, personal property and trash must be removed at the end of every day
· Hunters may not be on the refuge earlier than two hours before the legal morning shooting time
· Hunting and scouting are only allowed on designated days.  You must have a Prime Hook General Hunting Permit on your person to scout
· All boaters are required to operate their craft and possess all safety equipment in accordance with Delaware State and U.S. Coast Guard regulations during refuge hunts. The maximum horsepower allowed for boat motors is 30 HP. The Headquarters’ Canal is a slow, no wake zone. Designated launching sites must be used to launch boats
· To carry a firearm, all hunters under the age of 16 must be accompanied and directly supervised by a licensed adult hunter (18 years or older) who has the lawful right to hunt.  “Accompanied and directly supervised” means the adult is within 5 feet of, maintains close visual and verbal contact with, provides adequate direction to, and can immediately assume control of the firearm from the youth hunter
· All hunters must submit harvest information to the refuge.  Hunters who do not complete their harvest information report in the specified time period will have their hunting privileges revoked, at the refuge manager’s discretion
· All hunters in a non-lottery hunt area must complete a harvest information report(s) at the end of the hunting season and submit them to the refuge by mail (11978 Turkle Pond Road, Milton, DE 19968), email (fw5rw_phnwr@fws.gov), or fax (302.684.8504).  Harvest information reports are available on the refuge’s website or at the refuge office
The following activities are prohibited on the refuge:
· Distribution of bait or hunting with the aid of bait, including any grain, salt, minerals and other feed
· Building or maintaining any structure
· All public entry in designated safety zones
· Boat access to Slaughter Creek
· Cutting or damaging vegetation for any purpose
· The use of air-thrust or inboard water-thrust boats on refuge waters
· Motor vehicle use outside of designated routes and parking areas
Waterfowl Hunting
· We allow hunting of waterfowl and coot four days per week (Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday) on designated areas of the refuge during all of the state’s hunting seasons except the resident Canada goose and September teal seasons, subject to the following conditions:
· Hunting must stop at 3:00pm in all hunting areas. All hunters and assistants must exit the hunting areas by 4:00pm
· The use of dogs is permitted to locate, point, and retrieve while hunting waterfowl.
· The use or possession of toxic shot for migratory bird hunting is prohibited
· Lottery Waterfowl Hunt Area: includes 1 blind and 5 blind-sites on the federal refuge and 5 blinds and 3 blind-sites in the State-owned Prime Hook Wildlife Area
· A youth duck hunt will take place on October 22 and February 11 in accordance with State of Delaware requirements.  Adults may not hunt.  The Regular Waterfowl Hunt Area is open to hunting on a first-come, first serve basis and only a Prime Hook Waterfowl Hunting Permit is needed.  For the youth hunts, the Lottery Waterfowl Hunt Area (state blinds/blind-sites & selected federal blind/blind-sites), are open to hunting and permits are issued through a morning, hunter-facilitated lottery drawing (See Lottery Waterfowl Hunting section for more information).  For the Regular Waterfowl Hunt Area, harvest information reports must be submitted to the refuge no later than the end of the hunting season by mail, email, or fax (see General Refuge Hunting Regulations under non-lottery hunt area)

IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT:  For the Lottery Waterfowl Hunt Area, all regulations apply in this brochure with the following exceptions:
· Unless otherwise announced, blinds #1-5 and blind-sites 6-8 on the state-owned Prime Hook Wildlife Area and blind sites #’s 11, 12, 14, 15, 16 & Blind 25 on the federal refuge will be open to waterfowl hunting during the 2016-2017 hunting season.  The issuance of the Prime Hook Daily Lottery Hunting Permits for these blinds will be managed by the federal refuge staff at Prime Hook National Wildlife Refuge through a daily standby, hunter-facilitated, lottery drawing conducted 2 hours before shooting time at the refuge’s check station followed by self-service until 12:00 noon.  Hunters must not be on the refuge any earlier than 3 hours before shooting time to begin signing up for the lottery drawing.  Access to the hunt area is available via the boat ramp on Little Neck Road in the State Area and at Foord’s Landing in the refuge’s Headquarters Area
· You must be at least 16 years old to obtain the Prime Hook Daily Lottery Hunting Permit.  A Prime Hook Annual Lottery Hunt Permit is not required and the permit fees have been waived for the 2016-2017 hunting season only
· Procedures for Hunter Facilitated Drawing:  Each hunting party will completely fill out a waterfowl hunting permit, fold it in half, and place it in the provided bucket.  All members of the hunting party must be present at the drawing or at the time of self-service. Hunters may not reserve blinds or obtain permits for other hunting parties. The names of all occupants of the blind/blind-site and contact information for one hunter must be written on the permit prior to the morning drawing or before hunting if the permit is claimed by first-come, first-serve procedures after the drawing. The permit must include any youth’s name, indicating him/her as “hunting” or “non-hunting”.  At two hours before shooting time, permits are picked one at a time out of the bucket by a willing hunter from the crowd. Hunters may select blind-sites from the tag board in the order that the party was selected from the bucket. Hunters must sign out a blind or blind-site by turning over the appropriate tag from green (available) to red (in use) and write the number on your permit in the “Hunt Location Choices” section. Place white copy of permit in “permit” slot. Keep yellow copy of permit on your person and return the permit to the check station after hunting. Flip your tag back to green when your hunt is over
· Hunters not selected by the morning lottery drawing can obtain permits for vacant blinds/blind-sites on a first-come, self-serve basis until 12:00 noon. Hunters who sign up on the standby list for vacant blinds must remain at the check station until a blind becomes available to remain in good standing. Permits must be turned in at the check station by 4:00 PM. The questionnaire portion on the permit must be filled out after the hunt.  The information that you provide from your hunt is essential in evaluating the migratory waterfowl population. When leaving the blind unoccupied for any reason, the permit must be turned in and a new permit must be paid for and completely filled out at the check station before hunting again
· On January 21, 2017, only the State blinds (#1-5 & blind-sites 6-8) will be open to hunting.  Access for duck hunters will be from the boat ramp at the State Area only.  Refuge waterfowl hunting will be closed due to a Headquarters Area Deer Hunt.
· Hunting is permitted only from government blinds/sites
· Only 3 individuals are allowed per blind/site in the Lottery Waterfowl Hunt Area
· Access to the lottery hunting area is by boat only and hunters must use designated launching sites to launch their boats
Lottery Disabled Waterfowl Hunt Area
Prime Hook Daily Lottery Hunting Permits will be issued for the wheelchair accessible blinds through the Kinsail on-line website at www.primehookpermits.com each day with the same fees and in the same manner as the Lottery Deer Hunt Area, including regulations about signing-out, completing harvest reports, and no-shows.

We allow up to two individuals assisting a disabled hunter to hunt waterfowl with the disabled hunter.  All hunters must hunt from a government administered blind.

Snow Goose Conservation Area

IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT:  Unless otherwise announced, snow goose hunting in the Snow Goose Conservation Hunt Area will be closed for the 2016-2017. If opened to hunting, procedures and regulations will be announced and  a Snow Goose Conservation Hunt  would then apply.

Permit Application Fees
Waterfowl – NONE
PERMIT LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
Hunters are required to possess a valid Delaware hunting license and all required stamps, valid government-issued photo identification, and a valid hunting permit issued by the refuge on their person at all times during refuge hunt and scout days.
· For hunt information, call the Refuge Head Quarters at 302-884-8419.  
· Report illegal activity or related information to: 
              USFWS Law Enforcement 443-477-1934

GENERAL REGULATIONS
Youth Hunt 
Hunters 16 years of age or younger may participate in the Oct. 22 & Feb. 11 youth hunts if the individual possesses a valid hunting license or is exempt from Delaware hunting license requirements. Prior to hunting on the refuge during the youth day hunts, all youth and their legal guardians must sign the permit on the front of this brochure. All youth hunt permit holders must be accompanied by an adult/guardian age 21 or older
Hunters with Disabilities
We require all hunters with disabilities to obtain a State of Delaware Certified Hunter with Disabilities Card. Individuals with a disability may have an assistant during the hunt. Persons assisting a hunter with a disability must be at least 18 years of age and obey all refuge, State, and Federal laws and regulations.
Access
Motorized vehicles are authorized for access only on designated roads and parking areas indicated on the hunt map. We prohibit the use of ATVs, motorized off-road vehicles, and amphibious vehicles to access the refuge. Boats and floatation devices may not be left on refuge property overnight. 
Scouting
Scouting will only be permitted by hunters with a permit from 7:00 am to sunset on;
See attached table.
                         Other Regulations
· Only participants possessing authorized hunt permits will be allowed to enter the hunt areas.
· Hunters are prohibited from being on the refuge (including parking lots) between 9:00 PM & 4:30 AM.
· Hunt permit holders may not engage in guiding, outfitting, advertising, or audio/visual productions for commercial purposes.
· Baiting is not permitted.
· Use and/or possession of alcoholic beverages while hunting is prohibited.
· Shooting or hunting within 150 yards of any occupied structure is prohibited.
· Boats may be used in open navigable waters. They may not be left overnight.
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	       Season
	          Date
	Total Bag Limit

	Ducks 
(Regular Season)
	Oct. 28 – Nov. 8
Nov. 21 – Nov. 26
Dec. 9 – Jan. 28

Mon., Wed., Fri.,         & Sat.
	State of Delaware Limits

	Snow Goose Conservation Order
	To Be Determined
	Conservation Order Limits if Announced

	Scout Dates
	Saturdays  & Sundays prior                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   to the Oct. 28  Opening Day     
	          __

	Youth Waterfowl Hunt
	Oct. 22 & Feb. 11
	State of Delaware Limits

	NO SUNDAY HUNTING
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Limited opportunities for waterfowl
hunting are available in the Lottery
Waterfowl Hunt Area during the
2016-2017 hunting season due to
ongoing activiies with the refuge’s | "\,
tidal marsh restoration project. | 4, \Je Hunting within 100 feet of the refuge boundary in
7 designated hunting areas is prohibited





