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Managed Deer Hunts at Lost Mound Unit - 2020

Introduction: Two managed deer hunts, one for youth (ages 10-18) and one for hunters with
disabilities (ages 19 and older), are conducted within designated areas of Lost Mound Unit. There are
35 sites available for each hunt that is open to Illinois residents and non-residents. These guidelines
pertain only to the two managed hunts and do not apply to areas open to public hunting, nor to the
managed hunt to be conducted during the first firearm’s season.

Attendants: All hunters must be accompanied by an able-bodied attendant (ages 19 and older) that is
capable of tracking, retrieving and field dressing a deer. Attendants for youth are not allowed to hunt,
whereas, attendants for disabled hunters can hunt. Hunters may be accompanied by one non-hunting
individual in addition to the attendant.

Application Guidelines & Random Draw: The application period and random draw dates for the
youth and disabled hunts are the same. Applications are available from July 1-31. Hunters must submit
a US Fish & Wildlife Service Quota Big Game Hunt Application and attached document to: Retuge
Manager, 7071 Riverview Road, Thomson IL, 61285 before 4:00PM on July 31. Applications are
available by calling the Refuge office and online. You can return completed applications via mail or
fax (information at top of page). If, within the past 12 months, you have been charged with a State or
Federal violation of fish and wildlife regulations you are not eligible to apply. All eligible applications
will be entered into a random draw to be held August 12 at 10:00AM at the Refuge office. Due to the
coronavirus threat and the need to abide by health and social distancing guidelines, the drawing will
not be open to the public. Wheelchair-user and amputee applicants will be given priority in the
drawing annually, so please self-identify on the application to receive priority. In addition, applicants
that did not hunt at Lost Mound last year will be given priority in the drawing. Letters will be sent to
hunters that are drawn and to standby hunters so that all hunt sites are filled.

Mandatory Orientation and Safety Training: All hunters, attendants and accompanying individuals
must attend a mandatory orientation and safety training to become familiar with the hunt area, safety
regulations and access restrictions. Standbys must attend a safety orientation to be eligible to hunt.
Two orientation sessions are scheduled: Saturday, October 3 and Friday, November 13. Location to be
determined. Youth must bring documentation they have completed a state approved hunter education
safety course. All state hunting licenses, stamps and permits required by Illinois Department of Natural
Resources (ILDNR) must be brought to the orientation. Hunters with disabilities and their hunting
attendants do not need a Jo Daviess County deer permit as this permit will be issued by the Refuge.
Hunters must bring lead free shotgun slugs and muzzleloader bullets that will be used in the hunt to the
orientation. All Illinois resident hunters must have in their possession a valid Firearm Owners
Identification (FOID) Card. If using an Apprentice Hunting License, each Deer Hunt participant must
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have a Hunter’s Safety Certification and be accompanied by a non-hunting, validly-licensed (Illinots
hunting license) adult who is 21 years of age or older.

Hunt Sites & Shooting Zones: There are 35 hunt sites with designated shooting zones. You must stay
within 50 feet of the site marker. Some sites have greater handicapped accessibility than others.
Hunters and/or attendants are not allowed to climb onto the sides or top of the earthen covered
buildings (igloos). Climbing tree stands are allowed in the youth hunt only.

Hunter Check-In and Restricted Hours of Movement: Hunters and attendants are required to:
Register at River Road gate, upon entry and departure, daily; must travel directly to and from their
designated hunt site during the hours of movement in order to minimize disturbance to other hunters
and for safety; must travel together (i.e., one cannot leave the hunt site without the other) but may
travel in separate vehicles, and; may not scout areas, nor walk or drive roads within the hunt area.

Hunters and attendants must follow these hours of restricted movement:
4:00AM — 5:30AM: Check in at River Road gate; go directly to your hunt site along designated
routes of travel.
3:30AM - 9:00AM: No entry into or departure from your hunt site is allowed; you must stay at
your designated hunt site even if you harvest a deer.
9:00AM - 2:30PM: You may depart and return to your hunt site using designated routes of travel
only. No entry is allowed into the hunt area after 2:30PM.
2:30PM - End of Day: You must stay at your designated hunt site until one-half hour after sunset
even if you harvest a deer. You are required to check out at River Road gate no later than 1 hour
after the close of shooting time.

Firearms: Only shotguns and muzzleloaders are allowed. Firearms must be unloaded and cased and/or
dismantled at all times in the vehicle.

Lead free ammunition requirement: All hunters are required to use only lead free bullets. The
possession of lead bullets is prohibited. The lead free bullets that will be used during the hunt must be
brought to the orientation for verification. Spent shotgun shells must be brought to the deer check
station or provided to the gate keeper (if no deer are harvested) for verification. This requirement is an
effort to reduce lead exposure in bald eagles that feed on gut piles left in the field and on fatally
wounded but not retrieved deer. Please note there are several types of jacketed bullets that have a lead
core, so read the label carefully to make sure you are purchasing lead free bullets.

Blaze Orange/Pink: Hunters, attendants and accompanying persons must wear a solid blaze orange or
solid blaze pink color cap/hat and an upper outer garment displaying at least 400 square inches of solid
blaze orange or solid blaze pink material. Portable blinds or camouflage covering must also display
400 square inches of solid blaze orange or solid blaze pink material that is securely attached to the
uppermost portion of the blind or covering and a substantial amount of orange or pink is visible for 360
degrees. Hunting blinds are not provided.

Cell phones are required: Each hunt site must have one operational cell phone that is monitored at all
time during the hunt. No phones are provided.

Deer Check Station: All harvested deer must be brought to the Lost Mound Deer Check Station
located at the FWS equipment storage building for collection of biological information and testing for
Chronic Wasting Disease. You may check deer during the hours allowed for movement or at day’s
end. In addition, you must register your deer with ILDNR by 10:00PM on the same calendar day the
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deer was taken by calling the toll-free Deer Harvest Hotline at 1-866-452-4325. You will be given a
confirmation number that must be written on the leg tag attached to the deer.

Chronic Wasting Disease: CWD has been confirmed in Jo Daviess County. Each harvested deer will
be checked for CWD. You should also be aware of the regulations regarding transporting deer to or
through any other state. To avoid fines and confiscation you must process your deer according to each
respective state’s laws and regulations before crossing state lines. Most states require that only de-
boned meat can be transported from a CWD state. A list of local meat processors is available. Visit the
ILDNR website for additional information on CWD.

Acknowledgement of Danger: All individuals who enter the hunt area must sign an
“Acknowledgement of Danger: Release and Hold Harmless Agreement”. This agreement
acknowledges your understanding that Lost Mound is a former military installation and there is
potential for munitions of explosive concern being present within the hunt area.

Permit Revocation: A hunter’s permit may be revoked at any time if they commit a violation of
Refuge regulations or State regulations.

Additional Information: For additional Refuge information, call the Refuge office in Thomson IL at
815-273-2732. For additional state hunting information, contact the local ILDNR office or access their
website at: www.dnr.illinois.goy

GUIDELINES FOR YOUTH HUNT

1. Youth Hunt Dates: October 10-11, 2020 which coincides with the Illinois Youth Either Sex Deer
Hunt.

2. Eligibility Requirements: If using an Apprentice Hunting License or a Youth Hunting & Trapping
License, each Youth Deer Hunt participant must be accompanied by a non-hunting, validly-licensed
(Tllinois hunting license) adult who is 21 years of age or older. All other hunters participating in the
Youth Deer Hunt must each be accompanied by a non-hunting supervisor (parent, guardian, or
responsible adult). All supervisors who are residents of Illinois must have in their possession a valid
Firearm Owners Identification (FOID) Card, and all supervisors who are nonresidents must possess a
valid Illinois hunting license. The non-hunting supervisor must wear the solid blaze orange/pink
garments required of gun deer hunters and must remain with the hunting youth so as to have the youth
under immediate control. Each supervisor may only accompany a single youth at any given time
during the hunt and must be capable of tracking, retrieving and field dressing a deer.

3. County Youth Deer Permit: Youth must obtain an ILDNR County Youth Deer Hunt Permit that is
available over the counter where hunting licenses are sold. This permit costs $10.00 and must be

brought to the orientation; the Refuge does not provide this permit. Beginning 2020, any county permit
is allowed.

4. Refuge Permit Fees: There are no Refuge permit fees.

5. Daily limit/possession limit: Youth hunters are allowed to harvest one “either-sex” deer.

GUIDELINES FOR HUNTERS WITH DISABILITIES HUNT
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1. Hunt Dates: November 14-15, 2020 which is the Saturday-Sunday prior to the Illinois Firearms
Deer First Season.

2. Disability Requirements: Hunters with disabilities must possess a minimum Class P-2a disability
certification issued by the State of Illinois or an equivalent certification from another state. A copy of
the disability certification (e.g. doctor’s letter or government certification) must be included with the
hunt application. The certification requires a physical disability of a permanent nature that renders a
person unable to walk 200 feet or more unassisted by another person or without the aid of a walker,
crutches, wheelchair, or other device. Standing vehicle permits are allowed. All Illinois resident
hunters must have in their possession a valid Firearm Owners Identification (FOID) Card.

3. Jo Daviess County Deer Permit: Hunters do not need a Jo Daviess County Deer Permit as this
permit will be issued by the Refuge.

4. Possession limit: The possession limit for disabled hunters is 3 deer to include 2 antlerless and 1
antlered. The antlered deer can be taken at any time provided an “either sex” permit has been issued.
The possession limit for hunting attendants is 2 antlerless deer, no antlered deer are allowed.
Attendants may harvest antlerless deer anytime during the hunt.

5. Permit types: There are two types of deer permits issued to disabled hunters, a “Bonus Permit” and
a “Standby Permit”. Each permit has specific requirements and fees.

“Bonus Permit”: At the orientation, each hunter is issued a “Bonus Permit” that is valid for
harvest of the first deer. The “Bonus Permit” can be an “antlerless” or an “either sex” permit but must
be identified when the permit is issued. Fees differ between “antlerless” and “either sex™, especially for
non-residents, see fee schedule below. “Bonus Permits” for attendants can only be “antlerless”.

“Standby Permit”: After the first deer is harvested, then a “Standbhy Permit” is issued to harvest
a second deer. Additional “Standby Permits” are issued, if applicable, after each deer is harvested.
“Standby Permits” are only valid for the day issued; you must purchase an additional “Standby Permit”
in order to hunt the following day. The “Standby Permit” can be an “antlerless” or “either sex” permit,
however, “either sex” permits are only issued to disabled hunters that have not yet harvested a buck.

6. Permit fees: Permit fees vary depending upon: resident versus non-resident; “Bonus Permit” versus
“Standby Permit” and; “antlerless” versus “either sex” permit. There is no fee for a non-hunting
attendant. These fees are regulated by ILDNR, as follows.

Illinois Resident: “Bonus Permit” = “Antlerless™: $17.50 or “Either sex”: $25.00
“Standby Permit” = “Antlerless”: $5.00 or “Either sex”: $5.00
Non-resident: “Bonus Permit” = “Antlerless”: $25.00 or “Either sex™: $300.00
“Standby Permit” = “Antlerless™: $5.00 or “Either sex™: $5.00




United States Department of the Interior

FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE

Upper Mississippi River National Wildlife and Fish Refuge
7071 Riverview Road
Thomson, Illinois 61285
p. 815-273.-2732
f. 815-273-2960

July 2020
Lost Mound Unit (LMU) 2020 Deer Hunt Application Information

Please fill out the following information and return this form with your application:
(This information is for office use only and will not be released).

1. Did you (the applicant) participate as a main hunter in the 2019 Quota Deer Hunt at LMU

as a main hunter (not the hunting attendant)? Yes No
2. Are you (the applicant) an amputee or wheel chair user? Yes No
If yes, do you REQUIRE a wheelchair accessible hunt site? Yes No

Guidance for ‘Quota Deer Hunt Application’ (print legibly; fill in all highlighted information):

1. Name of Refuge:
e Upper Mississippi River NW&FR — Savanna
2. Date of Application:
e the date you are submitting application
3. Legal Name, mailing address, telephone number and email address:
e provide the most up to date information
4. Method (identify one):
e Shotgun OR Muzzleloader
5. Hunt Date Choice:
e NOT APPLICABLE
6. Hunt Location Choices:
e NOT APPLICABLE
7. Special Hunt (identify one):
e Youth OR Hunter with Disability
a. Youth Age at Time of Hunt
8. Statement and signature

Note: First Time Applicants (does not apply to Youth Hunt Applicants)

- Your application must include current Proof of Disability documentation (see page 3 of
the Regulations.), with this cover letter and application.

- Mail or Fax: Cover Sheet, Application, and Proof of Disability (please do not email).






FWS Form 3-2354 (Rev. 02/2018) OMB Control. No. 1018-0140
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Expiration Date 07/31/2021

QUOTA DEER HUNT APPLICATION
National Wildlife Refuge System

Follow instructions in the refuge hunt publication; not all fields may be required. Read and comply with all refuge
regulations, including application deadlines.

1. Name of Refuge: 2. Date of Application:

3. Full Legal Name:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Area Code/Phone No:

Email Address:

4. Method:
5. Hunt Date Choices 6. Hunt Location Choices
1% Choice: N/A 1% Choice: N/A
2" Choice: N/A 2" Choice: N/A
3™ Choice: N/A 3" Choice: N/A
4" Choice: N/A 4™ Choice: N/A
5" Choice: N/A 5™ Choice: N/A
7. Special Hunt: 7A. Youth Hunt Only: Age Limit at Time of Hunt:

8. I have read and understand the refuge hunt regulations and agree to abide by the regulations governing
hunting on the refuge. ‘

Hunter Signature Print guardian name and signature here
(required for hunters less than 18 years old)

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

Date Received:

0 Payment Exempt/No Fee ] Payment Required

Payment Amount:

Payment Type: [0 Personal Check [0 Cashier's Check [0 Money Order [ Other:

Notes:
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FWS Form 3-2354 (Rev. 02/2018) OMB Control. No. 1018-0140
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Expiration Date 07/31/2021

NOTICES

All information you provide will be considered in reviewing this application. False, fictitious, or fraudulent statements or representations
made in the application may be grounds for revocation of the permit and may be punishable by fine or imprisonment (18 U.S.C. 1001).

PRIVACY ACT STATEMENT

Authority: The information requested is authorized by the National Wildlife Refuge System Administration Act (16 U.S.C. 668dd-ee) as
amended and the Refuge Recreation Act (16 U.S.C. 460k — 460k-4).

Purpose: The collection of contact information is to verify that the individual has an eligible permit to hunt on one of the National
Wildlife Refuges that is designated for deer hunting.

Routine Uses: The individual's contact information may be used to verify permit status, provide permittees with permit-related
information, and monitor waterfowl hunt activities conducted under a permit. More information about routine uses can be found in the
System of Records Notice, Permits System, FWS-21.

Disclosure: Providing the information is required as a condition of maintaining a Federal permit under the National Wildlife Refuge
System Administration Act. Failure to disclose the requested information may be sufficient cause for revocation of the permit. If the
information indicates a violation of a statute, regulation, rule, order or license, whether civil, criminal, or regulatory in nature, the
information may be transferred to the appropriate Federal, State, local or foreign agency charged with investigating or prosecuting such
violations.

PAPERWORK REDUCTION ACT STATEMENT

We are collecting this information subject to the Paperwork Reduction Act (44 U.S.C. 3501) to provide the refuge managers the
information needed to decide whether or not to allow the requested use, and to respond to requests made under the Freedom of
Information Act and the Privacy Act of 1974. The information that you provide is voluntary; however, submission of the requested
information is required to evaluate the qualifications, determine eligibility, and document permit applicants. Failure to provide all
required information is sufficient cause for the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to deny a permit, We may not conduct or sponsor and
you are not required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a currently valid OMB control number. OMB has
approved this collection of information and assigned OMB Control No. 1018-0140.

ESTIMATED BURDEN STATEMENT

Public reporting for this collection of information is estimated to average 30 minutes per response, including the time for reviewing
instructions, searching existing data sources, gathering and maintaining the data needed, and completing and reviewing the collection
of information. Send comments regarding this burden estimate or any other aspect of this collection of information, including
suggestions for reducing this burden, to the Service Information Clearance Officer, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 5275 Leesburg Pike,
MS: BPHC, Falls Church, VA 22041-3803, or via email at Info_Coll@fws.gov. Please do not send your completed application to this
address.
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