U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service

2015 Feral Hog Hunting Regulations

and Information

Hagerman National Wildlife Refuge

Hagerman National Wildlife Refuge will
hold a limited-permit feral hog hunt in March
2015. A total of 170 permits will be available.
Shotguns, muzzleloaders, and bow and arrow
are allowed as hunting weapons. The Big
Mineral, Sandy, Godwin, Harris and Goode
Units will be open to feral hog hunting.
Hunters may select which unit they wish to
hunt, however the Goode Unit will be open to
archery hunting only. The Meyers Unit will
be closed to hunting.

Hunt Applications and Permits

For the 2015 hunt, applications will be
accepted at Hagerman National Wildlife
Refuge beginning January 5* and ending
January 234, 2015. The first 170 hunters to
apply will be issued a permit. There is a $5
application/processing fee (non-refundable)
and a $25 permit fee per hunter. Once all 170
permits have been issued, the application
period will close.

To apply, send your name and address on an
index card to:

2015 Feral Hog Hunt
Hagerman NWR
6465 Refuge Road
Sherman, TX 75092

You may also come to the Refuge
Headquarters Monday-Friday, 7:30-4:00 and
apply in person. Cash will not be accepted.
You must bring a check or money order
made out to U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

If you have a preference of Segment A

or Segment B, please note this on your
application card, or inform Refuge staff if
applying in person.

Note: All applicants who will be hunting with
a bow must have completed a Bowhunter
Education Course* before applying for the
hunt and must provide their Bowhunter
Education Certificate Student Number when

applying.

*IBEP courses are conducted locally and
statewide. Contact your local bow shop

or contact the Texas Parks & Wildlife
Department, Hunter Education Division at
1-800/792-1112 or see internet site: Www.

tpwd.state.tx.us.

Significant Dates
Hunt Dates for Segment A and B:

Segment A. Friday Morning March 6 to
Sunday Evening March 8, 2015

Segment B. Friday Morning March 20 to
Sunday Evening March 22, 2015*

* If fewer than 75 applications are received,
all hunters will hunt during Segment A

Hunt Fees

There is a $5 application/processing fee and
a $25 permit fee per hunter. Check or money-
order only made out to U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service will be accepted for payment. Cash
will not be accepted.

Hunter Qualifications

License & Tags: A valid State of Texas
hunting license is required. All Texas State
regulations apply. Note: The Refuge has no
licenses or stamps for sale. Photo ID, hunting
license, and hunt permit are required for
registration.

Hunter Education. In accordance with State
regulations.

Bowhunter Education Card. Required if
hunting with a bow.

Firearms

Persons possessing, transporting, or
carrying firearms on National Wildlife
Refuges must comply with all provisions of
state and local law. Persons may only use
(discharge) firearms in accordance with
Refuge regulations (50 CFR 27.42 and
specific refuge regulations in 50 CFR Part
32). Units will have a hunting type of weapon
restriction (long gun, shot gun, or archery)
due to safety concerns.

Regulations

* Only lead free, non-toxic (steel, bismuth,
copper or tungsten) bullets, slugs, or 00
buckshot may be used and possessed while
hunting feral hogs on the Refuge.

* We do not allow baiting or hunting over
bait.

* Permitted hunters only allowed in the field
during the hunt.

* We do not allow possession of alcohol
during a hunt.

* No trees or limbs greater than one inch
may be cut.

* We do not allow collecting shed antlers.

* We do not allow camping on the refuge;
public camping facilities are available off
refuge.

* A complete set of hunting regulations will
be provided to selected hunters.

Legal Game. Feral hogs.

Bag Limits: There is no bag, age, sex, or size
limit on hogs

Reporting: All harvested hogs must be
checked at or reported to the Hunter Check
Station the day harvested. 903/786-2826

Methods: Hunting is from stands, blinds or
by stalking (still hunting) only. Only one (1)
stand per hunter is allowed. Only portable
blinds and stands are allowed and must be
removed at the close of the hunt segment.
The hunt units will be closed to public

entry the day prior to each hunt segment.
Permitted hunters will be allowed to place
hunt stands on trees the day before their
hunt segment begins, but must first check
in at the hunter check station (anytime
after 7:00 am) and must leave the unit by
2:00 pm. Any hunter that has not left the hunt
unit by 2:00 p.m. on stand placement day will
be disqualified from the hunt.

Hours of Access

A self-serve check station will be used for the
hunt. All hunters MUST check-in and check-
out daily. You may check-in beginning at 5:00
a.m. each of the three hunt days. Check-out
time each day is one hour after legal sunset.

Scouting

Scouting is encouraged (daylight hours only),
but is not allowed during hunt segment,
including the day before each segment. No
weapons may be discharged except when
hunting.

For Further Information

Hagerman National Wildlife Refuge
6465 Refuge Road

Sherman, TX 75092-5817

903/786-2826

Monday thru Friday, 7:30 a.m.—4:00 p.m.

January 2015
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