
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Storms and waters of the Gulf of Mexico 

constantly shape Aransas National Wildlife 

Refuge. The tidal marshes, long narrow 

sloughs, grasslands, live oaks and red bay 

thickets provide essential habitat for 

resident and migratory wildlife. 

Recreational opportunities abound at 

Aransas National Wildlife Refuge. Among 

these opportunities is hunting. All Texas 

State Hunting Regulations apply to hunting 

on Aransas National Wildlife Refuge. 

Licensed hunters are responsible for 

knowing and following state hunting laws. 

Texas state hunting laws are not listed in 

this brochure. For complete information, 

hunters are encouraged to read the 2014-15 

Outdoor Annual Hunting Regulations or to 

contact Texas Parks & Wildlife at 800/792-

1112 or www.tpwd.state.tx.us. 

  

Aransas Rifle Season 

The rifle season is four individual 

weekends (Saturday and Sunday): 

               November 8-9 and 22-23 

               December 6-7 and 20-21 

 

Hunt Area 

A designated portion of the Refuge is open 

to hunting (19,668 acres). The hunt area 

opens at 5:00 a.m. and closes at 8:00 p.m., 

road and other conditions permitting. Only 

permitted hunters and accompanying 

observer are admitted into the Hunt Area. 

Hunting is not allowed within 100 yards of 

roads. Hunters may not shoot across roads. 

No portion of the Hunt Area can be 

reserved– the entire Hunt Area is opened to 

first come, first served. 

  

Closed Areas 

Closed areas are delineated with “AREA 

CLOSED” signs. Any portion of the Hunt 

Area may be closed due to unusual  

conditions without prior notification. It is 

the hunter’s responsibility to know his/her 

location. 

  

Rifle Hunt Applications and Permits 

Notice: Applications & information are 

available at: www.aransaspermits.com 

 Apply online! Online and by mail, permits 

will be issued by Kinsail Corp. By mail, 

applications and fees must either be 

received or postmarked two weeks prior to 

your preferred hunt weekend for these 

applications to be valid.  Each hunter is 

required to submit a separate Big Game 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hunt Application Form (3-2356). Hunters 

can still submit applications together and 

hunt as a party, if desired. 100 permits are 

issued on a first come, first served basis for 

each of the four Rifle Hunt weekends. Each 

hunt permit is valid only for the named 

permittee. 

  

Rifle Hunt Fees 

Fees are $135 for adults and $67.50 for 

youth hunters, age 17 or under, for a two 

day hunt. Money order, personal check 

(made to: Kinsail Corp.) or credit card per 

hunter per hunt are accepted for payment.  

Do not mail cash. 

  

Youth Hunters/Observers 

In order to foster the sport of rifle  

hunting, a reduced rate is offered for youth 

hunters, age 17 or under. Youth hunters 

must possess a Texas hunting license, 

Hunter Education certificate or one-time 

deferral, and abide by all Refuge 

regulations.  Youth are the sole 

responsibility of the hunter and must 

remain within normal voice control of the 

hunter at all times.  Each adult hunter may 

supervise two youth hunters.  

Refunds and Cancellations 

Fee refunds are conditional. Fees will be 

refunded if the Refuge cancels the hunt. If 

only part of the hunt is cancelled, refunds 

will be prorated accordingly. Refunds will 

be mailed and are subject to Refuge 

Manager’s approval. 

  

Refuge Regulations 

In addition to state laws, the following  

conditions apply on Aransas National  

Wildlife Refuge: 

  

Permits 

Hunters must have a valid Aransas Rifle 

Season Permit to hunt on the Refuge. Hunt 

permit must be present with hunter and the 

vehicle pass must be placed on the 

windshield of vehicle. 

  

Legal Species & Bag Limit 

Only hunting of white-tailed deer and feral 

hog is allowed during the Aransas Rifle  

Season. As part of a hunter’s annual  

statewide bag limit, hunters may take: 

 

Two white-tailed deer (either sex). No 

bonus tags are allowed. Hunters must  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

legally tag and log harvested deer. 

No limit on feral (wild) hog. 

  

Scouting Access 

Permitted hunters may scout and place 

blinds or stands in the Hunt Area on the 

Friday of their hunt weekend from 7:30 

a.m. to 7:00 p.m. Only permitted hunters 

may enter the hunt area. Observers will be 

covered by hunters permit.  

 

Weapons 

No weapons are allowed during scouting. 

All weapons used for hunting, must be 

unloaded, cased and remain in the vehicle 

while on the Refuge during transport to and 

from hunt areas. Hunters may only use 

center-fire rifles in accordance with state 

law.  Target shooting or the discharge of a 

weapon except to hunt is not permitted. We 

prohibit hunters using handguns during the 

rifle hunts. 

 

Hunter Orange 

Hunters (including youth observers) must 

wear at least 400 square inches of hunter 

orange including 144 square inches visible 

in the front and rear. Some hunter orange 

must appear on headgear. 

 

Flagging 

Only color-coded biodegradable flagging is 

authorized for marking trails and hunt 

stands. The use of any other non-

biodegradable flagging or failure to remove 

flagging is considered littering.  

Weekend #1: Orange flagging 

Weekend #2: Blue flagging 

Weekend #3: Yellow flagging 

Weekend #4: Red flagging 

 

Hunting Stands 

Portable stands and blinds are allowed on 

the Refuge during the Rifle Hunt. There is a 

limit of two portable stands per permitted 

hunter. Hunters may set up equipment 

during scouting, but it must be removed by 

the end of their hunt weekend. Stands or 

blinds must be a minimum of 100 yards 

away from any road. Do not drive any 

objects (nails, wire, screws, bolts) into any 

trees or other objects. Do not cut any part of 

a tree. Do not hunt from existing structures. 

 

Field Dress 

Hunters must field dress harvested game in 

the Hunt Area. A meat cooler is available 

for dressed game at the Refuge Check  

Station. Harvest may NOT be processed in 
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the field; facilities are available at the 

Check Station for processing game. 

 

Check Station 

Successful hunters are required to stop at 

the Refuge Check Station and report their  

harvested deer and hogs. This must be done 

in writing on the Harvest Report form 

located at the Refuge meat cooler. 

 

Bait 

The use or possession of bait, salt or any 

ingestible attractant is strictly prohibited on 

the Refuge. 

 

Alcohol 

Hunters are not allowed to use/possess 

alcohol on the Refuge or be under the 

influence of alcohol.  

 

 

 

 

Travel 

Only street legal cars and trucks are 

allowed in the Hunt Area. Vehicles must 

remain on roads. Parking is allowed along 

roadsides in such a manner that will not 

interfere with normal traffic flow. The 

speed limit is 35 m.p.h., unless otherwise 

posted. All Texas driving laws apply to 

Refuge roads. Blocking of any roadway or 

gate is strictly prohibited. 

 

Fishing Access  

Fishing is not allowed in the Hunt Area. 

 Hunters are accountable for their own 

entrance and exit of the Hunt area. 

While on the Refuge hunters are subject 

to inspection by state and federal officers 

at anytime.  

 

For Additional Information 

     Aransas National Wildlife Refuge 

     P.O. Box 100 

     Austwell, Texas 77950 

     361/286-3559 

http://www.fws.gov/refuge/Aransas/ 
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