
 

 

 

 

2014 Information 

Storms and waters of the Gulf of Mexico 

constantly shape Aransas National Wildlife 

Refuge. The tidal marshes, long narrow 

sloughs, grasslands, live oaks and red bay 

thickets provide essential habitat for 

resident and migratory wildlife. 

Recreational opportunities abound at 

Aransas National Wildlife Refuge. Among 

these opportunities is hunting. All Texas 

State Hunting Regulations apply to hunting 

on Aransas National Wildlife Refuge. 

Licensed hunters are responsible for 

knowing and following state hunting laws. 

Texas state hunting laws are not listed in 

this brochure. For complete information, 

hunters are encouraged to read the 2014-15 

Outdoor Annual Hunting Regulations or to 

contact Texas Parks & Wildlife at 800/792-

1112 or www.tpwd.state.tx.us. 

 

Aransas Archery Season 

The archery season is Saturday, October 4 

through Sunday, October 12, road and 

other conditions permitting. 

 

Hunt Area 

A designated portion of the Refuge is open 

to hunting (36,225 acres). The hunt area 

opens at 5:00 a.m. and closes at 9:00 p.m., 

road and other conditions permitting. Only 

permitted hunters (and accompanying 

observer) are permitted into the Hunt Area. 

Hunting is not allowed within 100 yards of 

roads. Hunters may not shoot across roads. 

No portion of the Hunt Area can be 

reserved – the entire Hunt Area is opened to 

first come, first served. 

 

Closed Areas 

Closed areas are delineated with “AREA 

CLOSED” signs. Any portion of the Hunt 

Area may be closed due to unusual  

conditions without prior notification. It is 

the hunter’s responsibility to know his/her 

location. 

 

Archery Hunt Applications and Permits 

Notice: Applications & information are 

available at www.aransaspermits.com  

Apply online! Online and by mail, permits 

will be issued by Kinsail Corp. By mail, 

applications and fees must either be 

received or postmarked by September 16, 

2014 to be valid. 400 permits are issued on 

a first come, first served basis.  Each hunt 

permit is valid only for the named 

permittee. 

 

 

 

 

 

Archery Hunt Fees 

Fees are $65 for adults and $35 for youth 

hunters, age 17 or under, for the nine day 

Archery Hunt. Money order, personal 

check (made to: Kinsail Corp.) or credit 

card are accepted for payment.  Do not mail 

cash. 

Youth Hunters/Observers 

In order to foster the sport of archery  

hunting, a reduced rate is offered for youth 

hunters, age 17 or under. Youth hunters 

must possess a Texas hunting license, 

Hunter Education certificate or one-time 

deferral, and abide by all Refuge 

regulations.  Youth are the sole 

responsibility of the hunter and must 

remain within normal voice control of the 

hunter at all times. Each adult hunter may 

supervise two youth hunters.  

Refunds and Cancellations 

Fee refunds are conditional. Fees will be 

refunded if the Refuge cancels the hunt. If 

only part of the hunt is cancelled, refunds 

will be prorated accordingly. Refunds will 

be mailed and are subject to Refuge 

Manager’s approval. 

Refuge Regulations 

In addition to state laws, the following  

conditions apply on Aransas National  

Wildlife Refuge:  

Permits 

Hunters must have a valid Aransas Archery 

Season Permit to hunt on the Refuge. Hunt 

permit must be present with hunter and the 

vehicle pass must be placed on the 

windshield of vehicle. 

Legal Species & Bag Limit 

Only hunting of white-tailed deer and feral 

hog is allowed during the Aransas Archery 

Season. As part of a hunter’s annual  

statewide bag limit, hunters may take: 

Three white-tailed deer, of which no more 

than two may be bucks. No bonus tags are 

allowed. Hunters must legally tag and log 

harvested deer. No limit on feral (wild) 

hog. 

Scouting Access 

Permitted hunters may scout and place 

blinds or stands in the Hunt Area on 

September 27 & 28, 2014 from 7:30 a.m. to 

7:00 p.m. and October 3 from 7:30 a.m. to 

7:00 p.m.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bonus Scouting  

Hunters are encouraged to enroll in the 

Aransas National Wildlife Refuge 

sponsored 2014 International Bow hunter 

Education Program (IBEP) class. Enrollees 

and permitted hunters with valid IBEP 

cards may scout and place blinds or stands 

on September 20and 21 from 3:00 p.m. to  

7:00 p.m.  

Weapons 

No weapons are allowed during scouting. 

During the hunts, weapons must be 

unloaded and cased during transport to and 

from hunt areas. Hunters may only use 

bows and arrows in accordance with state 

law. The refuge does not permit 

crossbows unless a letter of permanent 

“upper limb” disability from your physician 

is submitted and a refuge permit (FWS 

Form 3-1382-G) is issued.  We prohibit 

hunters using handguns during archery and 

rifle hunts. Target shooting or the discharge 

of a weapon except to hunt is not permitted. 

Flagging 

Only biodegradable WHITE flagging is 

authorized for marking trails and hunt 

stands. The use of any other non-

biodegradable flagging or failure to remove 

flagging at the end of the hunt is considered 

littering.  

Hunting Stands 

Portable stands and blinds are allowed on 

the Refuge during the Archery Hunt. There 

is a limit of two portable stands per 

permitted hunter. Hunters may set up 

equipment during scouting, but it must be 

removed by the end of their hunt. Stands or 

blinds must be a minimum of 100 yards 

away from any road. 

Do not drive any objects (nails, wire, 

screws, bolts) into any trees or other 

objects. 

Do not cut any part of a tree. 

Do not hunt from existing structures. 

 

Field Dress 

Hunters must field dress harvested game in 

the Hunt Area. A meat cooler is available 

for dressed game at the Refuge Check  

Station. Harvest may NOT be processed in 

the field; facilities are available at Check 

Station for processing game.  
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Check Station 

Successful hunters are required to stop at 

the Refuge Check Station and report their  

harvested deer and hogs. This must be done 

in writing on the Harvest Report form 

located at the Refuge meat cooler. 

Bait 

The use or possession of bait, salt or any 

ingestible attractant is strictly prohibited on 

the Refuge.  

  

Alcohol 

Hunters are not allowed to use/possess 

alcohol on the Refuge or be under the 

influence of alcohol.  

 

Travel 

Only street legal cars and trucks are 

allowed in the Hunt Area. 

Travel cont’d.  

Vehicles must remain on roads. Parking is 

allowed along roadsides in such a manner 

that will not interfere with normal traffic 

flow. The speed limit is 35 mph unless 

otherwise posted. All Texas driving laws 

apply to Refuge roads. Blocking of any 

roadway or gate is strictly prohibited.  

 

Fishing Access  

Fishing is not allowed in the Hunt Area. 

 

Hunters are accountable for their own 

entrance and exit of the Hunt area. 

While on the Refuge hunters are subject 

to inspection by state and federal officers 

at anytime.  

For Additional Information:  

Aransas National Wildlife Refuge 

P.O. Box 100 

Austwell, Texas 77950 

361/286-3559  

http://www.fws.gov/refuge/Aransas/ 
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