


 

Trempealeau National Wildlife Refuge Gun Deer Hunting 

Fact Sheet and Application Instructions  
 

2013 Gun Deer Season 
 

 Number of permits available: 45.  Permits will be awarded by a random drawing to be held on  

October 16, 2013.  If you choose to designate a hunting partner, each hunter must fill out an 

application form (applications may be copied or may be obtained on-line at 

http://www.fws.gov/refuge/Trempealeau/.  Remember to put your partners name in item #7 on 

the application form.  All applications must be returned with the $10.00 administrative fee.  

Hunting partners will share one chance to be selected for the hunt.  If drawn, each partner will 

receive a hunting permit.  You may only apply ONE TIME.  Multiple applications with duplicate 

names will be discarded.  

 

 Hunter Notification:  Permits for selected hunters will be mailed by November 8, 2013.  If you 

wish to receive an email regarding the results of the drawing, please provide an email address in 

the space in item #3.  Those hunters that are not selected will not be notified by mail.   
 

 Dates: November 23, 2013 through December 1, 2013 
 

 Season Limit:   As per state regulations, one buck deer and an additional antlerless deer of either 

sex per refuge permit may be taken during the Gun deer season from November 23 through 

December 1, 2013. Hunters must have appropriate state tags for the deer that they harvest.  

Trempealeau NWR is in WI DNR Deer Management Unit #61. 
 

 Closed Areas: Black Oak Island, and the ends of Delta Dike and Oxbow Dike. 
 

 Deadline to turn in application: October 11, 2013 
 

 Fee: There is a $10.00 administrative fee for all applications upon receipt.  Payment is accepted 

in the form of cash, personal check, or money orders.  Hunters that fail to return applications 

with the $10.00 administrative fee will not be entered in the drawing.  Please make checks 

payable to: U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service  
 

Additional Regulations/Information 

 All hunters must possess a valid Wisconsin hunting license and a Refuge Permit to hunt on the 

Refuge.  Wisconsin State hunting regulations will be in effect while hunting on the refuge. The 

Refuge will not be participating in the Hunting Mentorship Program.  All hunters must be at 

least 12 years old and must be accompanied by an adult if under the age of 18. 
 

 Only portable tree stands may be used and must not be left overnight.  The cutting of vegetation 

for any reason is prohibited. 
 

 Rifles are prohibited. 

 

 A Big Game Harvest Report must be returned for each permit (even if no deer was harvested) or 

the hunter will not be eligible for a permit the next year.  Report forms are due no later than 

Dec. 13, 2013. 
 

Please return application to: Trempealeau National Wildlife Refuge, W28488 Refuge Road, Trempealeau, WI 54661. 

Deadline to apply for a gun deer permit: October 11, 2013.   For more information, call 608/539-2311, ext. 6  

Or e-mail: trempealeau@fws.gov 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

In accordance with the Privacy Act (5 U.S.C. 552a) and the Paperwork Reduction Act (44 U.S.C. 3501), please note the following; 
 
Applications will be available online after August 1

st
 each year at http://www.fws.gov/midwest/trempealeau (follow the link for 

Hunting).  Hunters may also apply in person at the refuge office after August 1
st
 each year. 
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