Southwest Region
Conserving the Nature of America
Southwest Region USFWS facebook page Southwest Region USFWS page Southwest region USFWS Flikr page USFWS YouTube site
Cranes at sunset at Bosque del Apache NWR. Credit: USFWS. Cranes at sunset at Bosque del Apache NWR. Credit: USFWS.

Southwest Region Stories

Here is news and stories of our employees, partners, events and conservation efforts in the Southwest Region. The dedication and passion for our natural resources that is attributed to the employees of this region, will allow future generations of Americans to enjoy our wild places. Scroll down this list of recent stories from the Southwest Region site.

2018

January 31, 2018   First Deer Hunt at Buffalo Lake Wildlife
January 31, 2018   Roosevelt's Game Preserve
     
2017
December 4, 2017   Mussel Building: A gathering on mussel conservation sets a stage for success in conserving native Texas mussels
November 22, 2017   Public Lands: Hagerman National Wildlife Refuge Consistently Produces Quality Deer
October 25, 2017  

Turkey Hunting and the Psalm of Life

September 28, 2017   See with a Hunter’s Heart
September 2017   It's a Wrap: A new graphic vinyl wrap covers the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service - Southwest Region’s fish distribution truck.
September 2017   Developing Future Conservationists at the University of Texas at San Antonio 
August 2017   Hawaiian Hawk Hatched at Comanche Nation Aviary
August 2017   Two Texas Songbird Populations Improving Thanks to Efforts by Largest U.S. Army Installation

 

Southwest Region News Releases

 

Access additional news releases from our newsroom page.

Or

Search the Service Newsroom site.

 

 

 


 
For media inquiries, please contact:
Vacant
ARD, External Affairs
505-248-6285

Phoebe Comeau
Executive Assistant
505-248-6912
Phoebe_Comeau@fws.gov
Vacant
Congressional Liaison
Lesli Gray
Public Affairs Spec.
All programs / EAs /
Texas / Oklahoma
972-439-4542
Lesli_Gray@fws.gov
John Bradley
Public Affairs Spec.
Ecological Services /
Wolf / Law Enforcement
John_Bradley@fws.gov
Craig Springer
Public Affairs Spec.
Emphasis Areas /
WSFR / Fisheries
505-248-6867
Craig_Springer@fws.gov
Aislinn Maestas
Public Affairs Spec.
Science Apps /
Migratory Birds
505-248-6599
Aislinn_Maestas@fws.gov
Jeff Humphrey
Public Affairs Spec.
All programs / EAs /
Arizona / New Mexico
Ecological Services /
Wolf Backup
602-242-0210 x. 222
Jeff_Humphrey@fws.gov
Joe Early
Native American Liaison
505-248-6602
Joe_Early@fws.gov
Lisa Whittle
Regional Web Manager
Visual Information
505-248-6931
Lisa_Whittle@fws.gov
Beth Ullenberg
Refuge/Regional Outreach Coordinator
505-248-6638
Beth_Ullenberg@fws.gov
Al Barrus
Video / Social Media
505-248-6970
Al_Barrus@fws.gov

 




 

 

Last updated: February 20, 2018