Migratory Birds
Conserving the Nature of America in the Southwest region
Southwest Region USFWS facebook page Southwest Region USFWS page Southwest region USFWS Flikr page USFWS YouTube site

Staff and Functions of the Southwest Region Migratory Bird Offices

   
Southwest Region, Region 2
500 Gold SW - 8th Floor; Albuquerque NM
Migratory Bird Main Office
- FAX Number 505/248-7885
Division of Migratory Birds Chief
Room 8035
Greg Hughes 505/248-6639
Division of Migratory Birds Deputy Chief, Room 8427 Kristin Madden 505/248-6876
Program Assistant, Room 8015 Suzanne Provencio 505/248-6878
Budget/Grants Analyst, Room 8003 (Sara) Nicole Williams 505/248-7462
     
Migratory Bird Biology Team - FAX Number 505/248-7885
Migratory Bird Coordinator, Game Bird Specialist, Room 8423 Dan Collins 505/248-6881
Migratory Bird Biologist, Nongame/Landbird Specialist, Room 8411 Dave Krueper 505/248-6877
Migratory Bird Biologist, Raptor Specialist, Room 8415 Robert Murphy  505/248-6879
Migratory Bird Biologist, Room 8011 Kammie Kruse  505/248-6575
Shorebird and Waterbird Specialist, Room 8031 Kelli Stone 505/248-6515
     
Migratory Bird Permit Team - Main #505-248-7882/FAX #505-248-7885
Permits Branch Chief Room 8004 M. Eldon Brown 505-248-6406
Legal Instruments Examiner Room 8007 Vacant 505-248-7883
Legal Instruments Examiner Room 8019 Katie Wade-Matthews 505-248-7884
     
Field Offices - Sonoran Joint Venture
Tuscon, Arizona    
Sonoran JV Coordinator Jennie Duberstein 520/882-0047 
Sonoran JV Communications Vacant 520/882-0837
     
Phoenix, Arizona    
Sonoran JV Science Coordinator Carol Beardmore 602/242-0524
x 248
     
Field Offices - Gulf Coast Joint Venture
Lafayette, Louisiana     
Gulf Coast JV Coordinator Barry Wilson 337/266-8815
Gulf Coast JV Bird Conservation Specialist William Vermillion 337/266-8813
Gulf Coast JV GIS/Remote Sensing Analyst Mark Parr  337/266-8810
Gulf Coast JV Monitoring Coordinator Stephen DeMaso

337/266-8812

For Migratory Bird contacts in other Regions, access the tabs below.
Region 1 Migratory Bird Contacts
Nanette Seto: Chief-ARD
Email: Nanette_Seto@fws.gov
Phone: 503-736-4749
Michelle McDowell: Waterbirds
Email: Michelle McDowell@fws.gov
Phone: 503-231-2024 
Bonnie Bates: Grants & Agreements 
Email: Bonnie_Bates@fws.gov
Phone 503-231-6246
Jennifer Miller: Permits Branch Chief
Email: Jennifer_Miller@fws.gov 
Phone: 503-872-2715
Mike Green: Deputy Chief
Email: Michael_Green@fws.gov
Phone: 503-872-2707
Joe Sands: Waterfowl and Migratory Gamebirds
Email:  joseph_sands@fws.gov
Phone: 503-231-6729
Jenny Hoskins: Hawaii Bird Lead
Email: Jenny_Hoskins@fws.gov
Phone: 808-281-9129
Roberta Swift: Seabirds
Email: Roberta_Swift@fws.gov
Phone: 503-231-2015
Vanessa Loverti: Shorebirds
Email: Vanessa_Loverti@fws.gov 
Phone: 503-736-4497
Matt Stuber: Eagle Coordinator
Email: Matthew_Stuber@fws.gov 
Phone: 503-231-2010
Region 3 Migratory Bird Contacts
Sean Kelly
Deputy Chief, Game Bird & Avian Health/Disease Coordinator
612-713-5470
sean_kelly@fws.gov
Deanne Endrizzi
Migratory Bird Permits - Eagles & Scientific Collecting
612-713-5441
deanne_endrizzi@fws.gov
Steve Lewis
Non-Game Bird Coordinator, Waterbirds
612-713-5473
steve_j_lewis@fws.gov
Richard Rottman
Migratory Bird Permits - All permits except Scientific Collecting and Eagle Take for IA, MI, MO, WI
612-713-5449
richard_rottman@fws.gov
Tom Will
Partners In Flight Coordinator
612-713-5362
tom_will@fws.gov
Jason Mercado
Migratory Bird Permits - All permits except Scientific Collecting and Eagle Take for IL, IN, MN, OH
612-713-5364
jason_mercado@fws.gov
Katie Koch
Coordindated Bird Monitoring
906-226-1249
katie_koch@fws.gov
Andrew Forbes
Assistant Joint Venture Coordinator
612-713-5364
andrew_forbes@fws.gov
Bob Russell
Shorebird Coordinator
612-713-5437
bob_russell@fws.gov
Benjamin Kahler
Bird Conservation Modeler
517-351-8334
benjamin_kahler@fws.gov
Margaret Rheude
Eagles (MN & WI)
517-351 4214
margaret_rheude@fws.gov

Greg Soulliere
Upper Miss & Great Lakes Joint Venture Science Coordinator
612-725-3548 Ext. 2-202
greg_soulliere@fws.gov
Chris Mensing
Eagles (IN, OH, MI)
517-351-8316

chris_mensing@fws.gov
Dan Hertel
HAPET
218-736-0640
dan_hertel@fws.gov
Drew Becker
Eagles (IL, IA, MO)
309-757-5800
drew_becker@fws.gov
Larry Harrison
Migratory Bird Permits Supervisor
612-713-5489
larry_harrison@fws.gov
Dave Scott
Assistant Regional Director, Migratory Birds & State Programs
612-713-5101
david_scott@fws.gov
Tom Cooper
Chief, Division of Migratory Birds
612-713-5338
tom_cooper@fws.gov
Terry Prax
Administrative Officer
612-713-5326
terry_prax@fws.gov
Jane Lardy-Nelson
Assistant Administrative Officer
612-713-5354
jane_lardynelson@fws.gov
Region 5 Migratory Bird Contacts
Pamela Toschik, Chief Division of Migratory Birds, 413/253-8610, Pamela_Toschik@fws.gov
Karen Gallant, Chief Secretary, 413/253-8273, Karen_Gallant@fws.gov 
Annelee Motta, Secretary, 413/253-8539, Annelee_Motta@fws.gov 
Kristin Borntrager, Budget Chief, 413/253-8400, Kristin_Borntrager@fws.gov 
Debra Reynolds, Communication and Outreach Coordinator, 413/253-8674, Debra_Reynolds@fws.gov

Population Branch
Scott Johnston, Chief of Populations Branch, 413/253-8557, Scott_Johnston@fws.gov
Chris Dwyer, Migratory Gamebird Biologist, 413/253-8706. Chris_Dwyer@fws.gov
Randy Dettmers, Landbird Biologist, 413/253-8567, Randy_Dettmers@fws.gov
Caleb Spiegel, Marine Bird Biologist, 413/253-8490, Caleb_Spiegel@fws.gov
Eric Leflore, Pathways Student/Biologist, 774/249-8212, eleflore@eco.umass.edu
Pam Loring, Pathways Student/Biologist, 413/237-1213, ploring@eco.umass.edu
Bill Perry, Marine Bird Biologist/detail, 413. 253-8688, Bill_Perry@fws.gov

Atlantic Coast Joint Venture
Mitch Hartley, Atlantic Coast Joint Venture Coordinator, 413/253-8779, Mitch_Hartley@fws.gov
Tim Jones, Atlantic Coast Joint Venture Science Coordinator, Tim_Jones@fws.gov
Kirsten Luke, Atlantic Coast Joint Venture AGIS Specialist, 850/769-0552 x253, Kirsten_Luke@fws.gov
Craig Watson, Atlantic Coast Joint Venture Assistant Coordinator South, 843/727-4707 ext. 304, Craig_Watson@fws.gov
Debra Reynolds, Communication and Outreach Coordinator, 413/253-8674, Debra_Reynolds@fws.gov

Permit Branch
Valerie Slocumb, Chief Permits Branch, 413/253-8541, Valerie_Slocumb@fws.gov 
Pamela Corota, LI Examiner, 413/253-8642, Pamela_Corota@fws.gov
Linda McKenna, LI Examiner, 413/253-8642, Linda_McKenna@fws.gov
Jonothon Radcliffe, LI Examiner, 413/253-8576, Jonothon_Radcliffe@fws.gov 
Scott Frickey, Permit biologist, 413/253-8577, Scott_Frickey@fws.gov

Additional Migratory Bird Contacts in Regions 4, 6, 7, & 8

REGION 4 doesn’t list specific contacts

REGION 6:  
For more information, contact:
Email: fw6_migratorybirds@fws.gov or call: 303-236-4408 
For the Migratory Birds Permit Office, call 303-236-8171

REGION 7:
Pete Probasco, Assistant Regional Director – Migratory Birds and State Programs
Eric J. Taylor, Chief, Division of Migratory Bird Management
1011 East Tudor Road
Anchorage, Alaska 99503
Phone: 907-786-3375
Phone: 907-786-3446
1-800-368-8890
Fax: 907-786-3641
E-mail: ak_mbm@fws.gov

REGION 8:
The Migratory Bird Office is located at the Pacific Southwest Regional Office in Sacramento, Calif. Telephone: (916) 414-6464. Permit email: permitsr8mb@fws.gov

 

 
Northern mockingbird Tx
Photo credit: USFWS
Last updated: June 29, 2016