General Information

Lower Suwannee National Wildlife Refuge is made up of over 55,000
acres along the Suwannee River in Dixie and Levy Counties. More
than 100 miles of roads provide either vehicle or foot/bicycle access
to many habitat types open to hunting. The Refuge provides a
variety of public hunting opportunities.

All general Refuge regulations apply unless specifically addressed in
this leaflet. Restrictions and designations on the map in this leaflet
also apply. Please note that forest management activities including
prescribed burns and logging operations may occur at any time
during the year. Annual plans will be posted at Refuge hunter check
stations. The Refuge is not responsible for damage to or theft of tree
stands. The Refuge reserves the right to temporarily close roads or
land areas for management reasons without prior notification.

The annual Hunter Working Group meeting will be held at Refuge
Headquarters on the third Thursday in April, at 2:00 PM. Please
contact the refuge if you are interested in attending.

The following regulations supplement Florida State hunting
regulations and the general regulations governing hunting on Lower
Suwannee National Wildlife Refuge set forth in Title 50, Code of
Federal Regulations.

Permit Requirements

All hunters must purchase and possess a Refuge hunting permit

and a State of Florida Hunting License, unless otherwise exempt.
Hunting permits can only be purchased through the Florida Fish
and Wildlife Conservation Commission licensing website, county

tax office, or other outlets that sale State licenses. A general hunt
permit will be required for all hunters, ages 16 and older, to hunt
during all refuge hunts. Youth hunters 15 and under are not required
to possess a general refuge hunt permit. State Wildlife Management
Area stamps are not required. Unless otherwise exempt, hunters are
required to have appropriate archery, muzzleloader, deer, and turkey
stamps/permits. Unless exempt, waterfowl hunters are required to
have appropriate State and Federal waterfowl stamps.

Successful hunters are required to report their bag by completing

a Bag Report Form provided at each check stand, or by calling

the Refuge at 352/493 0238 on the day of the harvest. No personal
information is necessary. These reports allow us to better determine
population health, numbers, and stability.

General Hunting Regulations

Persons possessing, transporting, or carrying firearms on National
Wildlife Refuges must comply with all provisions of state and local
law. Persons may only use (discharge) firearms in accordance with
refuge regulations.

A state issued photo ID must be in possession at all times while on
Refuge property.

All motorized land vehicles are restricted to designated roads shown
on the map. Vehicles must be parked in a manner which does not
block roads or gates. Use of all-terrain vehicles (three-wheeler, four-
wheeler, etc.) is prohibited.

Hunters (including all persons accompanying hunters) must wear

a minimum of 500 square inches of fluorescent orange visible above
the waistline while hunting during Muzzleloader, General Gun, Hog
Hunts, and Family Hunts.

In addition to State hunter education requirements, hunters under
the age of 16 must be supervised by an adult 18 years of age or

older. Parent or adult guardians, 18 and older, are responsible for
supervising hunters under the age of 16 and must remain within sight
and normal voice contact of the youth hunter. During Waterfowl,
Small Game, and Family Hunts, one adult may supervise no more
than two youth hunters. During Archery, Muzzleloader, General

Gun, and Spring Turkey Hunts, the adult may supervise no more
than one youth hunter.

Dogs may only be used as an aid to taking raccoon during the raccoon
night-hunting season and for waterfowl season. Except as otherwise
specified, dogs must be kept on a leash and under the control of the
owner at all times.

Hunters using the Refuge are subject to inspection of licenses,
permits, hunting equipment, bag limits, vehicles and their contents,
during compliance checks by Federal or State officers.

Temporary tree stands may be left on the Refuge starting one week
before Archery Season and must be removed by the last day of Hog
Season. All tree stands left on the refuge within the hunt season must
display the hunters name and hunting license number legibly written
on or attached to the stand. Tree stands not in compliance may be
confiscated and disposed of according to Federal Regulation. Tree
stands may also be used during Small Game season, but must be
removed by the last day of this season.

Flagging, reflective markers, paint, litter, or pins may NOT be used
for marking in any manner on refuge property, with the exception

of the following: clothes type pins or clips with reflective or colored
markings can be used for the temporary marking of vegetation in
order for identifying a route of travel to or from a tree stand. These
pins must be removed by the end of the scheduled deer season. Each
clothes type pin of clip must contain both the name and hunting
license number of the hunter.

Hunters may enter no earlier than 1 and 1/2 hours before sunrise and
must be out of the woods no later than 1 and 1/2 hours after sunset.

®

Prohibited Actions
B All commercial activities including guiding or participating in a
guided hunt are prohibited.

B Target practice or any non-hunting discharge of a weapon is
prohibited.

B The use of organized drives for taking or attempting to take
game is prohibited.

B Marking any tree, or other Refuge feature with carving,
flagging, litter, paint or blaze is prohibited.

B Possession or use of alcoholic beverages is prohibited while
hunting.

B Camping, fires, littering, and horses are prohibited.

B Collecting or harvesting any articles of antiquity, plants, animals
or parts thereof is prohibited unless specifically authorized by
this permit.

B Cutting trees, removing wood or other plant matter from the
Refuge is prohibited.

B Hunting or shooting from within 150-feet of Refuge roads, open
to public vehicle travel, is prohibited.

B Hunting from a tree in which a metal object has been inserted is
prohibited.

B Field dressing or discarding an animal carcass or parts thereof
within 1000 feet of any developed public recreation area, game
check station, gate, or within 100 feet of a road or trail, open
to the public, is prohibited. Dumping of game carcasses is
prohibited.

B The head and evidence of gender may not be removed from the
carcass of any deer or turkey until it has been properly checked
in at one of the Refuge check stations and transported from
Refuge.

B Construction of permanent blinds or stands is prohibited.

B The placing of, or hunting with the aid of bait, salt, oil or
ingestible attractant is prohibited.

Specific Hunt Regulations

State bag limits and firearms regulations apply unless otherwise
listed. In designated Archery Only Areas (see map), only bows
are allowed. Crosshows are prohibited except with a State issued
Disabled Persons Crossbow Permit. Wild hogs, coyote, and beaver
may be taken during Archery, Muzzleloader, General Gun, Small
Game, and Family Hunt seasons.

Waterfowl

State waterfowl season; ducks and coots only. Decoys and boats must
be removed daily. Hunters must use and be in possession of shells
containing non-toxic shot only.

Archery

September 24 - October 16, 2016; legal to take any deer (except
spotted fawn), wild hog, gray squirrel, rabbit, armadillo, opossum,
and raccoon.

Muzzleloader

October 22 - October 30, 2016; muzzleloader firearms only;
harvesting antlered deer not having 1 antler with 2 or more points is
prohibited, except persons less than 16 years of age may harvest any
antlered deer with 1 antler 5 inches or more in length. Legal to take
hogs (no size or bag limit).

General Gun

November 5 - 13, 2016; harvesting antlered deer not having 1 antler
with 2 or more points is prohibited, except persons less than 16 years
of age may harvest any antlered deer with 1 antler 5 inches or more
in length. Legal to take hogs (no size or bag limit).

Family Hunt (One adult, who may also hunt, must supervise no
more than 2 youth - less than 16 years old.)

November 18 - 20, 2016; Legal to take any deer (except spotted
fawn), legal to take hogs (no size or bag limit).

Wild Hog Hunt

November 21 - December 11, 2016; Legal to take hogs only (no size
or bag limit). An annual Florida hunting license and Refuge hunt
permit is required to hunt hogs.

Small Game

February 4 - 19, 2017; legal to take wild hog (no bag or size limit),
gray squirrel, armadillo, opossum, rabbit and raccoon. Only .17,

.22, and .22 magnum caliber rimfire firearms or smaller, bows, or
shotguns with shot no larger than #4 birdshot, or muzzleloader .40
caliber or less, may be possessed. NOTE: this hunt is a small game
hunt allowing the use small caliber firearms and archery equipment
only. Hogs can only be taken with approved small game weaponry.

Raccoon/Opossum

February 4 - 19, 2017. Night hunting only, from sunset until sunrise.
State regulations, weapons, and ammunition requirements apply.
Limit 2 raccoons per night.

Youth Spring Gobbler Hunt

(Only youth under 16 years of age may hunt and must be under

the supervision and in the presence of an adult not younger than

18 years of age. The youth hunter must carry the firearm. Adults
with required licenses and permits for taking wild turkeys may
participate when in the presence of a youth, but may not harvest a
wild turkey.) March 11-12, 2017. Shooting hours from 1/2 hour before
sunrise until 1 pm. Bearded turkeys only. Shotguns with shot no
larger than size 2 common shot, and bow only may be used.

Turkey (Spring season)

March 18 through April 9, 2017. Bearded turkeys only. Shooting
hours from 1/2 hour before sunrise until 1 pm. Shotguns with shot no
larger than size 2 common shot and bow only.
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