
Holla Bend National Wildlife Refuge
Holla Bend refuge is an important part of our National 
Wildlife Refuge System. This area was established to 
provide essential habitat for migratory birds in the 
Mississippi Valley flyway. The U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service administers the refuge system and is responsible 
for conserving, protecting, and enhancing the nation’s 
fish and wildlife populations and their habitats for the 
continuing benefit of people.

Refuge Office Hours
Monday – Friday, 7:00 am to 3:30 pm. The refuge office is 
closed on weekends and federal holidays.

General Refuge Regulations
By law, public use activities on National Wildlife Refuges 
are prohibited unless expressly permitted. The regulations 
below supplement the general regulations which govern 
hunting and fishing on wildlife refuge areas as set forth in 
Title 50, Code of Federal Regulations. Hunting, fishing, 
wildlife observation and photography are permitted on the 
refuge in accordance with applicable State and Federal 
regulations subject to the following conditions.

Access 
Holla Bend refuge is a nationally designated Fee Area, and 
a vehicle entrance pass is required of all visitors traveling 
through the refuge. Annual, daily and Federal Recreation 
passes are available. A daily pass for Holla Bend is $4.00/
vehicle.

Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamps, 
commonly known as “Duck Stamps,” are valid for refuge 
admission and are available for purchase at the refuge 
office and any U.S. Post Office.

Holla Bend NWR sells an annual pass ($12.50) that is good 
for admission to Holla Bend only and is valid for one year 
from the time of purchase.

The National Parks and Federal Recreational Land Passes 
accepted and available for purchase/issue at the refuge 
office:
n	 Annual Pass - $80.00 (valid for one year from date of 

issue) call refuge for availability.
n	 Senior Pass - $10.00 (for US citizens 62 years of age or 

older). 
n	 Access Pass - Free (for US citizens with a permanent 

disability)
n	 Military Pass - Free (for current US military personnel 

and dependents of deployed military personnel)
n	 Volunteer Pass - Free (for volunteers with 250 service 

hours with federal agencies that participate in the 
Federal Recreational Lands Pass Program).

The Senior and Access passes are good for the lifetime 
of the pass holder. Paper versions of the Golden Age or 
Golden Access Passports can be exchanged for the new 
Senior and Access passes. Contact the Refuge Manager for 
additional pass information.

Vehicle Use 
The maximum speed for any land vehicle is 35 mph, unless 
posted otherwise. ATVs are allowed only for wildlife 
dependent activities by disabled individuals possessing a 
refuge special use permit. Refuges roads are open year 
around. Vehicles must remain on established roads as 
indicated on the map. Vehicles may be parked alongside 
open roads in a manner that will not interfere with the 
normal flow of traffic. Do not block cabled or gated roads, 
field roads or trails. A cable, gate, road closed sign, or other 
barrier (i.e. mounded dirt) means the road is closed to all 
vehicle travel but not to foot travel unless signed otherwise.

Access to refuge waters and land from the Arkansas 
River is prohibited. Contact Refuge Manager for 
additional details.

Emergency Telephone
Access into the refuge is through an automatically time-
controlled gate. Closing times are posted near the entrance.  
If you are locked in the refuge or need assistance, there is 
an emergency telephone located in the office parking lot.  
This telephone is a direct line to the Yell County Sheriff ’s 
office in Dardanelle. Please give them your name and state 
what type of assistance you need. You may also call 911 on 
a cell phone and you will be connected to the Sheriff ’s office 
located in Danville.

Closed Areas
Designated areas may be closed to hunting, fishing, and 
all other public access for resource protection, special 
management or safety reasons. All refuge access is 
prohibited after dark unless specifically authorized by the 
Refuge Manager.

The refuge may close portions of the refuge or the Old 
River Channel from March 1 to June 30 due to bald eagle 
nesting activity.  Be aware of all signs, buoys, etc. and 
consult the Refuge Manager for information.

Firearms and Archery Tackle
Persons possessing, transporting, or carrying firearms on 
National Wildlife Refuges must comply with all provisions 
of state and local law. Persons may only use (discharge) 
firearms in accordance with refuge regulations (50 CFR 
27.42 and specific refuge regulations in 50 CFR Part 32).  
Archery tackle and crossbows are permitted only during 
designated hunts.

Animals/Pets
Dogs are permitted for raccoon hunting only during 
specified refuge season. Other dogs and pets must be 
confined or on a leash. Horses and mules are prohibited.

Specific Hunting Regulations
All game bagged, found or parts thereof must be checked 
at the refuge check station before leaving the refuge. In 
addition, all deer and turkey harvested on the refuge must 
be checked according to state regulations. All deer and 
turkey must be properly tagged before game is moved. For 
all deer and turkey harvested on the refuge, Zone 330 must 
be recorded on your game tag.

State bag limits apply unless otherwise noted. Only those 
species listed in this brochure or on refuge hunt permits 
may be taken.

The use of dogs for deer hunting is prohibited.

During big game seasons the automatic front gate will 
open one hour before daylight and close one hour after 
sunset. Consult each specific hunt permit for additional 
information.

All hunters must enter and exit the refuge from designated 
roads and parking lots only.

Waterfowl and other migratory bird hunting are prohibited 
on Holla Bend National Wildlife Refuge and parts of the 
surrounding area that fall within the Migratory Bird 
Closure Zone. Contact the Refuge Manager for more 
information.

NOTE: The refuge will be closed to all hunting related 
activities during the youth turkey hunts and the refuge will be 
closed to all entry during the youth gun deer hunt.

Hunter Education
All hunters born after December 31, 1968 must possess a 
hunter education card.  Hunters under 16 years old do not 
need to have a card if they are under the direct supervision 
(within arm’s reach) of a holder of a valid hunting license 
at least 21 years of age. Youth hunters under the age of 16 
who have a valid hunter education card must be supervised 
by an adult no less than 21 years old and must remain in 
sight and normal voice contact with the adult. Each adult 
can supervise only one youth.

Tree Stands/Blinds
Only portable stands or blinds capable of being carried 
by one person in its entirety may be used. One tree stand 
or blind per hunter is allowed and must have the owner’s 
name and address, their driver’s license number, vehicle 
license plate number, or license customer ID number 
permanently affixed and visible from the ground. Stands/
blinds may be erected seven days prior to the refuge deer 

season and must be removed within two days after the 
season closes.	

Permits are Required for All Refuge Hunts	
When signed and in your possession, the general hunt 
permit on the front of this brochure serves as your permit 
for all refuge hunts.  

*To Purchase Deer and Turkey Permits:
Fall Deer and Spring Turkey hunts also require an 
additional refuge hunt permit. Request for these hunt 
permits can only be accepted via USPS, FedEx, or UPS. 
Purchases cannot be made in person.

Deer Hunt Permit request must be postmarked during the 
month of July.  

Spring Turkey Permit request must be postmarked during 
the month of February.

On a postcard/index card or sheet of paper, print the 
full name, mailing address and telephone number of 
each person requesting a permit. Please print legibly.  
Duplicated, unclear, or incomplete requested will be 
returned.

Send a money order or cashier’s check for $12.50. No 
personal checks, cash, credit, or debit cards. Cashier’s 
check or money order must be made out to U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service. More than one permit request can be on 
one money order or cashier’s check (number of permit 
requests X $12.50).

Mail requests to: Holla Bend NWR, 10448 Holla Bend 
Road, Dardanelle, AR 72834.

NOTE:  Permits are non-transferable and nonrefundable, 
even in the event of refuge hunt closures due to flooding or 
government shut-downs. Deer Hunt Permits will be mailed 
by August 31. Spring Turkey Permits will be mailed by 
March 31.

Hunting Seasons
Deer (Archery/Crossbow)*
September 26 - November 29.  Rabbit, squirrel, coyote, 
beaver, raccoon, and bobcats may also be taken incidental 
to deer hunting with the devices legal for this hunt.

Deer (Gun Youth) **
Quota hunt only, 1st Saturday in December. The Refuge will 
conduct one youth quota gun deer hunt for youths between 
ages 6-15. Applications must be postmarked during the 
month of October.

Raccoon
Every Thursday, Friday, and Saturday night during the 
month of February. Use of dogs is required. All dogs are 
required to wear a collar displaying the owner’s name, 

address and telephone number. Only rim-fire rifles no 
larger than .22 caliber are permitted.  

Turkey (Spring Archery/Crossbow)*
State season and bag limits apply.

Turkey (Gun Youth) **
Quota hunt only, two weekends. Contact refuge for dates 
and number of permits.  

Youth hunts restricted to youths between ages 6-15.  
Applications must be postmarked during the month of 
January.  

**To Apply for Youth Quota Gun Hunt Permits:
Applications for youth hunts can be printed from the 
Refuge website: www.fws.gov/hollabend  filled out and 
mailed to the refuge office. Applications can also be made 
on a postcard or index card mailed in an envelope. Include 
the applicant’s name, mailing address, phone number, and 
the date of the hunt for which he/she is applying; only one 
applicant per card.

Specific Fishing Regulations
Sport fishing is permitted March 1 – October 31 from 
sunrise to sunset on all waters of the refuge. A valid 
Arkansas Fishing License is required. A Refuge specific 
permit is not required to fish; however, vehicle entrance 
fee/pass is required.

Access to refuge waters and land from the Arkansas 
River is prohibited. Boating over the dam at the Old River 
Channel, from either direction, is prohibited. Contact 
Refuge Manager for additional details.

Fishing will be in accordance with applicable state 
regulations subject to the following special conditions:

Trotline, Setline, Limblines and Yo-Yo fishing
During refuge fishing season only. These devices cannot 
be left overnight or unattended. Lines must be secured 
with cotton line which extends into the water. Limit 20 
devices per person. Each device must be clearly labeled 
with the fisherman’s name and current address, driver’s 
license number or vehicle license number.  

Free-Floating Fishing Devices
During refuge fishing season only. These devices cannot 
be left overnight or unattended. Up to 20 jugs or similar 
devices may be used and must be clearly marked with the 
user’s name and address, driver’s license number or vehicle 
license number.  

Commercial Fishing
Commercial fishing is allowed by Special Use Permit only.  
Contact Refuge Manager for additional information.

Prohibited Activities
Commercial guiding/hunting.

Taking or possessing turtles or mollusks.

Camping and fires.

Carrying, possessing, or discharging fireworks or 
explosives

Swimming.

Littering (including, but not limited to cigarette butts, 
shotgun shell hulls, and fishing line).

Searching for or removing artifacts.

Blocking gates or roadways with vehicles.

Use and/or possession of alcoholic beverages or controlled 
substances.

Cutting, or defacing trees shrubs, or other plants.

Possession or use of herbicides.

Use of non-biodegradable material to mark trails.  

Target practice or non-hunting discharge of firearms.

Dog field trials and organized training events.

Leaving a hunt stand or blind after a hunt season.

Baiting or hunting over bait, salt or any ingestible 
attractant.

All forms of man-deer drives.

Using artificial light to locate wildlife, except as authorized 
for raccoon hunting.

Hunting within 150 feet of roads and trails open to motor 
vehicle use.

Driving or screwing any metal object into a tree or hunting 
from a tree in which a metal object has been driven or 
screwed to support a hunter.

Building or hunting from permanent blinds or stands.

Leaving boats overnight.

Loaded weapons in vehicle or boat while under power.

Use of airboats, water skiing, jet skis, or other personal 
watercraft.

Use of drones (aerial cameras).
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Signs are useful tools in regulating 
the use of a public area. The wording 
of the sign applies to the area behind 
the sign. Please respect the following 
signs:

Refuge Boundary 
Entry permitted in accordance with 
refuge regulations.

Closed Area 
All entry prohibited.

No Hunting Zone 
Hunting, weapons or game retrieval 
prohibited.

No Vehicles 
All vehicle traffic prohibited.  Foot 
travel only.

Migratory Bird Closure Zone
Area behind signs closed to the 
taking/hunting of migratory birds.

Signs
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service

Holla Bend
National Wildlife 
Refuge Public Use 
Regulations 2015-2016

Hunt Permit                                                                    
The signing of this leaflet validates it as your general 
refuge hunting permit and must be in your possession 
while participating in authorized refuge hunts. 
Archery/crossbow hunt permits are issued separately 
at refuge office.                                    

I have read and understand these refuge regulations.

Hunter’s Signature

NO VEHICLES
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Centerville
3 miles 

State Highway 154 

Carden
Bottoms

Petit Jean State Park

Arkansas River 
Arkansas River Sand Bar 

Maintenance 
Buildings

This map is provided for general 
reference only. Actual refuge 
boundary is signed.

Refuge boundary

Paved road

Unpaved road

Walk-in access

Closed to hunting
for all migratory birds

Closed to all hunting

Automatic gate

Auto tour route

Boat ramp

Information station

Observation tower

Public restrooms

Wildlife trail

Refuge office/
Entrance fee station

Closed to all hunting

Long
Lake

Lodge
Lake

Luther
Lake

Old River
Channel

U.S.
FISH & WILDLIFE

SERVICE

D
E

PARTMENT OF THE IN
TERIO

R
 

AREA
CLOSED
To pursuing, 
hunting, 
capturing, 
taking or 
killing of 
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