Bogue Chitto National Wildlife Refuge

General Fishing, Hunting, and Camping Regulations

The regulations listed below supplement Louisiana and
Mississippi State hunting and fishing regulations and

the general regulations governing hunting and fishing on
National Wildlife Refuges set forth in Title 50, Code of
Federal Regulations. All plants and animals are protected
from hunting unless a specific refuge hunting season
allows for the take of animals under this permit.

Hunters, anglers, and campers sixteen years of age and
older are required to have a Refuge permit. This brochure
when signed and in your possession, serves as a permit
for all 2016-2017 Refuge hunts, angling, and camping.
Individuals using the Refuge are subject to inspection of
permits, licenses, hunting equipment, bag limits, boats,
vehicles, and their contents by wildlife officers.

Unless stated otherwise in this brochure, all Refuge lands
are open during daylight shooting hours only with the
exception of legal night time hunting activities. Daylight
shooting hours are from 30 minutes before legal sunrise to
30 minutes after legal sunset.

Persons possessing, transporting, or carrying firearms on
national wildlife refuges must comply with all provisions
of State and local law. Persons may only use (discharge)
firearms in accordance with Refuge regulations (50 CFR
27.42 and specific Refuge regulations in 50 CFR Part 32).

Motorized vehicles are only permitted on public roads and
designated parking areas.

The Refuge will be closed to all hunting, except waterfowl,
when the Pearl River reaches 15.5 feet on the gauge at Pearl
River. Call the National Weather Service at 985/649 0357 for
current reading.

State hunting regulations apply unless otherwise listed. When
the Refuge follows State seasons (as listed below); those Refuge
lands in Mississippi follow Mississippi State seasons and those
Refuge lands in Louisiana follow Louisiana State seasons.

All persons under 16 years of age, while hunting on

the Refuge, must be in the presence and under direct
supervision of a licensed or exempt hunter at least 21
years of age. A licensed hunter supervising a youth must
hold all required licenses and permits. Supervising adults
shall maintain visual and voice contact with the youth at
all times. The supervising adult is responsible for ensuring
that youth hunters do not engage in conduct that would
constitute a violation of Refuge regulations. Dogs are
allowed for hunting migratory birds, squirrels, rabbits,
raccoon, and hogs during designated seasons only.

Big Game Regulations
Legal primitive firearms for primitive firearms season are
defined by State law in the State you are hunting in.

All state approved archery equipment will be allowed as a
legal means of take during the deer archery season.

It isillegal to construct or to hunt from any permanent
stands or blinds. Valid permit holders are allowed to possess
and hunt from a portable stand or blind on the Refuge.

All stands on the Refuge must be identified with hunter’s
name and phone number permanently and legibly written
on or attached to the stand. Stands left on the area do not
reserve the hunting locations. Temporary stands may be
placed two days prior to hunt and must be removed two
days after the season closes. Stands not in compliance with
these regulations may be confiscated and disposed of by the
Refuge.

In Louisiana, during the Refuge deer firearm and primitive
weapon season, all hunters, except waterfowl hunters and
nighttime raccoon and opossum hunters, must wear in

full view no less than 400 square inches of solid unbroken
fluorescent orange as the outermost layer of clothing

on the chest and back and a fluorescent orange cap. All
hunters in Mississippi must abide by the same fluorescent
regulation above but wear not less than 500 square inches
of the fluorescent orange in place of the 400 square inch
requirement described above.

Deer hunters hunting from concealed blinds must display
a minimal of 400 sq. inches of solid unbroken fluorescent
orange visible from all sides.

In the event the Refuge is closed during the deer gun hunts
due to high water, alternative hunt days may be provided.
Details will be provided in a news release and on the Refuge
website: www.fws.gov/boguechitto. (Proposed dates, up

to 21 days from December 26 to January 15, either sex;

but only as many days as lost from the high water closure,
bucks only on week days.)

For all deer hunts in Mississippi except youth hunts, legal
buck antler restrictions apply.

Hunters are encouraged to compete a certified Bowhunter
Education Course.

Migratory Bird Regulations

Waterfowl hunting must cease by noon and all decoys, spent
shells, and blinds must be removed from the hunting area
by 1 pm.

Upland Game/Small Game

All other hunters, including archery hunters (while on the
ground), except waterfowl hunters, must wear a hunter-
orange cap or hat during the season for squirrels and
rabbits. All hunters using shotguns for small game must
use approved non-toxic shot. Small game also may be
hunted with .22 magnum, .17 and .22 caliber rimfire rifles.

Camping

Primitive camping is permitted within 100 feet of
designated streams. This includes either bank of the Bogue
Chitto River, Wilson Slough, West Pearl River south of
Wilson Slough, and Refuge lands along the East Pearl
River and Holmes Bayou.

No campsite can be left unattended longer than 24 hours.
Campsites cannot be established longer than 14 consecutive
days. Campers must mark their campsite with the owner’s
name, address, phone number, and dates of occupancy in a
conspicuous location at the front of the tents.

The Refuge is closed to camping when the Pearl River
reaches 15.5 feet on the gauge at Pear] River.

Specific Sport Fishing Regulations

Recreational fishing is permitted year-round in accordance
with State regulations subject to the following conditions.
All Federal and State regulations governing boating,

creel limits, and license requirements must be followed by
Refuge anglers.

Limb lines are permitted, but must be 100% cotton.

Trotlines are permitted, but the ends of trotlines must be
attached by a cotton line which extends into the water and
be tended every 24 hours.

All non- attended fishing gear on or attached to the Refuge
must be tagged with the owner’s name, address, and phone
number.

The fishing pond at the Pear] River Turnaround is open
except closed from April-June. Non-gas powered boats may
be hand launched when open. The use of this fishing pond
area is permitted from 30 minutes before legal sunrise to 30
minutes after legal sunset.

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service

Bogue Chitto Refuge Hunting/Fishing/Camping Permit
2016-2017

When signed and carried, this serves as your permit
for all Refuge hunts, angling and camping and
acknowledges your understanding of the regulations
contained herein.

Expires June 30, 2017.

Signature (permits are not transferable)
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Type Hunt

Season: Mississippi (MS)

Special Regulations

and Louisiana (LA)

Archery deer State seasons and regulations [ All State approved archery equipment is allowed.
apply. Hogs may be taken with archery equipment during the deer
archery season.
Youth gun deer November 11 - 13, 2016 Deer either sex. Still hunting only. No dogs.

Hogs may be taken as incidental game.

BOGUE CHITTO
Bogue Chitto
National Wildlife Refuge

National Wildlife Refuge

INDUSTRIAL

)

General gun deer

November 19 - 24, 2016

Deer bucks only. Still hunting only. No dogs.
Hogs may be taken as incidental take.

November 25 - 27, 2016

Deer either sex. Still hunting only. No dogs.
Hogs may be taken as incidental take.

December 17 - 25, 2016

Deer bucks only. Still hunting only. No dogs.
Hogs may be taken as incidental take.

Bluff Road

Walkiah

WALKIAH BLUFF
Fad WATER PARK

Primitive weapon/
archery (MS) and
Primitive firearm (LLA)
Deer

January 16 - 22, 2017

Either sex. Still hunting only. No dogs.
Hogs may be taken as incidental take.

January 28 - 29, 2017

Bucks only. Still hunting only. No dogs.
Hogs may be taken as incidental take.

0 Mies 2

Squirrel and rabbit

State Fall Season (including
Youth Season in MS) except
closed during State Spring
Squirrel Season, and closed
during all deer gun and
primitive firearms hunts

Only non-toxic shot (size #4 or smaller) or .22 cal rimfire
ammunition or smaller is permitted.

Dogs may be used from Oct. 24 - Nov. 5, 2016 and from

Feb. 1 - 28, 2017.

Closed during gun and primitive firearms hunts. Raccoon and
opossum may be taken as incidental take during the rabbit and
squirrel season (daytime only). Limit one per person per day.

TALISHEEK

Raccoon and opossum

January 1 - February 28, 2017

Only night time hunting is permitted in accordance with state
regulations. Dogs are allowed.

Only non-toxic shot (#4 or smaller) or .22 cal rimfire
ammunition or smaller is permitted.
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Washington Parish
St. Tammany Parish

Turkey State Spring Season including | State rules and regulations apply.
Youth Season (closed during No shot larger than BB lead or T steel is allowed while hunting.
State Fall Season)

Waterfowl and coots State Teal and General Hunting is permitted from 30 minutes before legal sunrise

(ducks, geese and
coots)

Waterfowl Season including
Youth Season

(ducks, geese and coots) until noon. Closed to hunting during
the special “light goose” conservation season.

(hogs included) within 300
feet of any road, trail or

parking lot.
any object of archeological

ocurring food attractant.
public road, Refuge road,
designated or maintained
material used as flagging
or trail markers, except
or historical significance
including arrowheads,
pottery or other artifacts.

or above ground oil, gas,
reflective tacks.

and hunting with the aid
of bait, including any

or shoot within 150 feet
from the centerline of a
trail, building, residence,
designated public facility,
or electric facilities.

alcoholic beverages while
grain, salt, minerals,

nails, spikes, screws) has
hunting.

prohibited, except during
been driven.

the deer gun hunts.

or from a tree in which
a metal object (such as
of bait while in the field
or any non-naturally-
rabbit, and turkey
boundaries except for
navigational purposes.
damaging live trees.

during the squirrel,
seasons.

participating in a paid

permanent tree stand
guided hunt.

shot while hunting is
terrain vehicles.
and fishing activities
including guiding or
gobbler decoys.

Woodcock State Season Only non-toxic shot is permitted using #4 shot or smaller.
We allow dogs to locate, point, and retrieve.
Hog (dogs only) February 1 - 28, 2017 May be taken only with the aid of trained hog hunting dogs.

Legal hunting hours are 30 minutes before legal sunrise to

30 minutes after legal sunset. All hogs must be killed prior to
removal from the refuge. During this season, only shotguns with
non toxic shot or .22 cal. or smaller pistols or rifles with rimfire
ammunition are permitted.

m The possession of toxic

m The use or possession of

m Possession or distribution
m The use of horses and all-
m All commercial hunting

m Incidental take of hogs

m Houseboats within Refuge
m The use of deer or turkey
m It is unlawful to hunt from
m The use of any type of

m Field dressing game

m Cutting, removing, or

m Searching for or removing

Prohibited Activities:
m Hunting from a

m Target shooting.
m Trail cameras.




