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A current LSNWR Hunt Brochure must be signed and in

Lower Suwannee National Wildlife Refuge
possession by all adult hunters.
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General Information

Lower Suwannee National Wildlife Refuge (LSNWR)
encompasses over 53,000 acres along the Suwannee River in
Dixie and Levy Counties. Over 190 miles of roads and trails
provide vehicle or foot/bicycle access to many habitat types
open to a variety of public hunting and recreation opportunities.

All general Refuge regulations, mapped restrictions, and
mapped designations apply unless specifically addressed in this
leaflet. Please note that forest management or maintenance
activities, including prescribed burns and logging operations,
may occur at any time during the year. The Refuge is not
responsible for damage to or theft of tree stands. The Refuge
reserves the right to temporarily close roads or land areas for
any management reason without prior notification.

The Annual Hunter Working Group meeting will be held at
Refuge Headquarters on the third Thursday in April, at 2:00 pm.
Please contact the Refuge Manager (352-493-0238 x 224, or
703-622-3896) to attend.

The following regulations supplement Florida State hunting
regulations and general regulations governing hunting on
LSNWR set forth in Title 50, Code of Federal Regulations.

Permit Requirements

All' hunters must purchase and possess a LSNWR Hunting
Permit and a State of Florida Hunting License, unless otherwise
exempt. A current LSNWR Hunt Brochure must be signed and

in possession by all adult hunters. Hunting permits can only be
purchased through the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation
Commission (FWC) licensing website (https://myfwc.com/
license/limited-entry/lower-suwannee-hunts/), county tax office,
or other outlets that sell State licenses (Permit Vendor Code is
7800). A LSNWR hunt permit will be required for all hunters,
ages 16 and older, to hunt during all Refuge hunts. Youth
hunters 15 and under are not required to possess a LSNWR hunt
permit. Unless otherwise exempt, hunters are required to have
appropriate archery, muzzleloader, deer, and turkey stamps/
permits. Unless exempt, waterfow! hunters are required to have
appropriate State and Federal waterfowl stamps.

Successful hunters are required to report their bag to the FWC's
Harvest Reporting System within 24 hours of harvest. See

the FWC's Florida Hunting Regulations handbook, available

at https://myfwc.com/media/21998/deer-harvest-log.pdf, for
deer harvest reporting instructions. These reports allow us to

better determine population health, numbers, and stability.
NOTE: Absence of accurate and timely bag reports will result in
shortened seasons or cancelled hunts.

General Hunting Regulations

Persons possessing, transporting, or carrying firearms on
National Wildlife Refuges must comply with all provisions of
State and local law. Persons may only use (discharge) firearms in
accordance with Refuge regulations.

A State-issued photo ID must always be in possession while on
Refuge property.

All motorized land vehicles must be State-legal and are
restricted to designated roads shown on the map. Vehicles must
park so they do not block roads or gates. All-terrain vehicle use
(ATV/UTV, etc.) is prohibited.

Hunters (including all persons accompanying hunters) must
comply with State of Florida fluorescent orange safety clothes
requirements during all Refuge deer hunts except archery.

In addition to State of Florida hunter education requirements,
hunters under the age of 16 must be supervised by an adult 18
years of age or older and must remain within sight and normal
voice contact of the youth hunter. During Waterfowl, Small
Game, and Family Hunts, one adult may supervise no more than
two youth hunters. During Archery, Muzzleloader, General Gun,
and Spring Turkey Hunts, the adult may supervise only one
youth hunter.

Dogs may only be used as an aid to take raccoons during
the raccoon night-hunting season and for waterfowl season.
Otherwise, dogs must always be leashed under the direct
control of the handler.

Hunters using the Refuge are subject to inspection of licenses,
permits, hunting equipment, bag limits, vehicles and their
contents, during compliance checks by Federal or State officers.

Temporary tree stands may be left on the Refuge starting one
week before Archery Season and must be removed one day after
the end of General Gun Season. Temporary tree stands may be
left on the Refuge starting one week before Wild Hog Season
and must be removed one day after the end of that season. All
tree stands left on the refuge must display the hunter's name
and hunting license number legibly written on or attached to the
stand. Tree stands not in compliance may be confiscated and
disposed of according to Federal Regulation.

Flagging, reflective markers, paint, litter, or pins may NOT be
used for marking in any manner on refuge property, with the
exception of the following: clothes-type pins or removable

clips with reflective or colored markings can be used for the
temporary marking of vegetation in order for identifying a route
of travel to or from a tree stand. These pins must be removed by
the end of the scheduled deer season. Each clothes-type pin or
clip must contain both the name and hunting license number of
the hunter.

Hunters may enter no earlier than 1 and 1/2 hours before legal
sunrise and must be out of the woods no later than 1 and 1/2
hours after legal sunset.

Special Needs Hunts are considered; call the Refuge to discuss
such requests.

Prohibited Actions

e All commercial activities including guiding or participating in a
guided hunt are prohibited.

e Target practice or any non-hunting discharge of a weapon is
prohibited.

e The use of organized drives for taking or attempting to take
game is prohibited.

e Marking any tree, or other Refuge feature with carving,
flagging, litter, paint or blaze is prohibited.

e Possession, intoxication, or use of alcoholic beverages is
prohibited while hunting on the Refuge.

e Camping, fires, littering, and horses are prohibited.

e (ollecting or harvesting any articles of antiquity, plants,
animals or parts thereof is prohibited unless specifically
authorized by a Refuge permit.

e Cutting trees, removing wood or other plant matter from the
Refuge is prohibited.

e Hunting or shooting from within 150-feet of Refuge roads,
open to public vehicle travel, is prohibited.

e Hunting from a tree in which a metal object has been inserted
is prohibited.

e Field dressing or discarding an animal carcass or parts thereof
within 1000 feet of any developed public recreation area,
game check station, gate, or within 100 feet of a road or trail,
open to the public, is prohibited. Dumping of game carcasses
is prohibited.

e Construction of permanent blinds or stands is prohibited.

e The placing of, or hunting with the aid of bait, salt, oil or
ingestible attractant is prohibited.

Specific Hunt Regulations

State bag limits and firearms regulations apply unless otherwise
listed. In designated Archery Only Areas (see map), only bows
and crosshows are allowed. Wild hogs, coyote, and beaver

may be taken during Archery, Muzzleloader, General Gun, Small
Game, and Family Hunt seasons. There is no taking of Swamp or
Skunk Apes.

HOGS: There is NO size or bag limit for hogs; these can be
taken during any season except Spring Turkey.

Legal Deer

Antlered deer — Legal deer will have at least one antler having
two or more points (each point one-inch or more in length) and
having at least one antler five-inches or more in length. As part
of the statewide annual deer limit, youth less than 16 years of
age may harvest one deer annually not meeting antler point
requirements but having at least one antler five inches or more
in length. Antlerless deer are deer that do not have antlers or
have antlers less than five inches in length. It is illegal to take
spotted fawns.

Waterfow!

State waterfowl season; ducks and coots only. Decoys and boats
must be removed daily. Hunters must use and be in possession
of shells containing non-toxic shot only.

Archery

September 19 - October 11, 2020: Archery equipment (bow
and crossbow) are allowed. Legal to take antlered or antlerless
deer, wild hog, gray squirrel, rabbit, armadillo, opossum, and
raccoon. Archery hunters can hunt all refuge lands open to
hunting. Archery Only Areas (see map) are open during all hunts
with approved archery equipment only.

Muzzleloader
October 17 — October 25, 2020: muzzleloader firearms and
archery equipment only; legal to take antlered deer and hogs.

General Gun
October 31 — November 15, 2020: Legal to take antlered deer
and hogs, and

November 26 — November 29, 2020: Legal to take antlered
deer and hogs (no antlers on hogs...)

Family / Senior Hunt

November 20 - 22, 2020: Up to two youth hunters (less than 16
years old) may hunt but must be supervised by an adult 18 years
of age or older. The supervising adult may also hunt but must
accompany at least one youth hunter. Senior adult hunters (65
years of age or over) may also hunt during the Family Hunt and
may be accompanied by one companion of any age that may also
hunt. Legal to take antlered deer, antlerless deer, and hogs (no size
or bag limit for hogs). The FWC's Antlerless Deer Season (Deer
Management Unit C3) bag limits apply during the family hunt.

Wild Hog Hunt

January 30 — February 14, 2021: Legal to take hogs only (no
size or bag limit). An annual Florida hunting license and Refuge
hunt permit is required to hunt hogs.

Small Game
January 30 — February 14, 2021: Legal to take gray squirrel,
armadillo, opossum, rabbit and raccoon.

Raccoon/Opossum

January 30 — February 14, 2021: Night hunting only,

from sunset until sunrise. State regulations, weapons, and
ammunition requirements apply. Limit two raccoons per night.

Youth Spring Gobbler Hunt

March 13 - 14, 2021: (Only youth under 16 years of age may
hunt and must be under the supervision and in the presence of
an adult 18 years of age or older. The youth hunter must carry
the firearm. Adults with required licenses and permits for taking
wild turkeys may participate when in the presence of a youth
but may not harvest a wild turkey. Shooting hours from 1/2
hour before legal sunrise until legal sunset. Bearded turkeys
only. Only bows, crosshows, pre-charged pneumatic air guns
propelling a bolt or arrow and shotguns using a #2 or smaller
shot size may be used for hunting.

Turkey (Spring Season)

March 20 through April 11, 2021: Bearded turkeys only.
Shooting hours from 1/2 hour before legal sunrise until 1/2 hour
before legal sunset. Only bows, crossbows propelling a bolt or
arrow, pre-charged pneumatic air guns, and shotguns using a #2
or smaller shot size may be used for hunting.

Questions, concerns, reports of violations
Call/Text the Refuge Manager anytime at 703-622-3896.

Report Violations: 1-888-404-3922





