skip to content

Southeast snapshot

This infographic provides an overview of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s Southeast Region (Region 4), which serves Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Region 4 includes most of the Gulf of Mexico and includes 131 National Wildlife Refuges, the majority of which are open to the public for hunting and fishing. It also includes 13 Environmental Services Offices and 13 National Fisheries. Region 4 is a treasure house of wildlife, being home to 92% of the bird, 75% of the fish, 69% of the reptile, 57% of the mammal, and 49% of the amphibian species found in the United States.

A graphic detailing public use opportunities and statistics on Southeastern National Wildlife Refuges.
Sources: Why the gulf of Mexico, Harte Research Institute for Gulf of Mexico Studies, USFWS.

Contact Us:

Looking for a media contact? Reach out to a regional spokesperson.

Share this page

Tweet this page on Twitter or follow @USFWSsoutheast

Share this page on Facebook or follow USFWSsoutheast.


Share this page on LinkedIn