skip to content

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Southeast Region

We are the federal agency dedicated to conserving wildlife, plants, and habitats for the American people.

The Southeast Region serves Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

map marker

Find Local Offices

A harmonious future for profits, pine and at-risk species along the Florida-Alabama line

Pace, Fla. — Longleaf pine forests once covered 90 million acres from Virginia to Texas, a bio-diverse swath of timber prized by shipbuilders and gopher tortoises alike. Sprawling cities, large farms and commercial pine plantations, though, replaced much of the longleaf habitat. Today, less than five million acres remain. Conservationists’ goal of eight million acres by 2025 seemed laughable. Until Resource Management Service and Jimmy Bullock came along. Map of the Coastal Headwaters Forest by the Conservation Fund and RMS.

Story Archive

Future management of red wolf recovery effort subject of public meetings to be held by U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service will hold two meetings with residents in Eastern North Carolina to discuss the future management of the non-essential, experimental population of red wolves in five counties there. Everyone within the red wolf recovery area is encouraged to participate, ask questions and bring ideas to the process. The meetings are a step in the process for citizens to provide their perspective and comments on an environmental assessment focusing on potential changes to the management of red wolves in the state under the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA).

News Archive

From Our Partners