skip to content

We are the federal agency dedicated to conserving wildlife, plants, and habitats for the American people.

The Southeast Region serves Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

map marker

Find local offices

Tribe, Service create habitat where species, culture thrive

November is National Native American Heritage Month. To showcase that month, here is a story underscoring how the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service worked with Florida’s Miccosukee Tribe to establish a self-sustaining fishery. It is but one example of how the Service collaborates with tribes across the country.

Story archive

Four other species of map turtles included in the listing due to similarity of appearance

Following a review of the best available science, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is proposing to list the Pearl River map turtle as a threatened species under the Endangered Species Act (ESA). With only an estimated 21,000 remaining in the wild, and those individuals threatened with turtle harvesting as well as habitat loss and degradation due to the effects of sea-level rise, flooding, and drought, future projections for the Pearl River map turtle show populations becoming increasingly isolated.

News archive

From around conservation

Partner story archive

Contact Us:

Looking for a media contact? Reach out to a regional spokesperson.

Share this page

Tweet this page on Twitter or follow @USFWSsoutheast

Share this page on Facebook or follow USFWSsoutheast.


Share this page on LinkedIn