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Mattamuskeet National Wildlife Refuge

The 50,180 acre Mattamuskeet National Wildlife Refuge was
established in 1934 primarily to preserve wintering habitat for
migratory waterfowl. The refuge’s predominant feature is the
40,000 acre Lake Mattamuskeet, the largest natural lake in
North Carolina.

The regulated harvest of surplus animals is one tool used to
manage wildlife populations.

General Hunting Regulations

Mattamuskeet Refuge is open to hunting of tundra swan,
Canada and snow geese, ducks, coots, and white-tailed deer in
accordance with applicable State and Federal regulations. The
regulations below supplement the general regulations found in
Title 50, Code of Federal Regulations, which govern activities,
including hunting, on national wildlife refuges.

Hunters under the age of 16 must have successfully passed
a State-approved hunter education course and provide proof
of certification (card or certificate) upon request, and must be
directly supervised by an adult 21 years of age or older.

Hunters using the refuge are subject to inspections of permits,
licenses, hunting equipment, bag limits, vehicles, and their
contents by Refuge or state law enforcement officers.

The taking or possession of any wildlife, including reptiles and/
or amphibians, or any part thereof, except when permitted
during a Refuge hunt or transporting same along a State Road,
is prohibited.

How to Apply for Permits

Permits are required to hunt on Mattamuskeet National
Wildlife Refuge. Prospective hunters must apply for permits
through the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission’s
Permit Hunting Opportunities Program. Hunters can apply

at a North Carolina Wildlife Service Agent, by telephone at
1/888/248 6834 or online at

www.ncwildlife.org/permithunt

Give the Agent the Item Number of the hunt being applied
for. tem Numbers for the Mattamuskeet NWR hunts are:
September Canada goose hunt - ltem Number 7047; Youth
waterfowl hunt - ltem Number 7046; Waterfowl! hunt - Item
Number 7045; Disabled waterfow! hunt - [tem Number 7048;
Deer hunt - Item Number 7050.

An application fee of $8 will be charged by the State for each
goose, deer or waterfow!| hunt application. An application fee of
$10 will be charged by the State for all disabled hunts applied for
in the same transaction.

Hunters selected in the State drawing will be notified with
instructions on how to submit the user fee to receive their refuge
hunt permit. The user fee must be received before the permits are
issued.

Deer Hunt
Deer hunting will be authorized on Mattamuskeet Refuge during
two-day paired hunts on October 19 - 20 and October 26 - 27.

Permits

Apply through the North Carolina Permit Hunting Opportunities

Program. Hunt Item Number is 7050. Application period is from

July 1 - August 10. Applications can be made individually or by

groups of up to five hunters. Successfully drawn applicants will

be required to pay a $15 user fee per person to the Refuge prior
to being issued a permit. Hunters must carry on their person the
signed refuge permit.

Bag Limits

With the appropriate North Carolina big game license, each
hunter may take one antlered and one antlerless or two antlerless
deer per day on Mattamuskeet Refuge.

Manner of Take
Deer may only be taken with shotgun, muzzleloading rifle/
shotgun, bow and arrow, or crosshow.

Access

Permitted deer hunters will be authorized access from one hour
before legal shooting time until one hour after legal shooting
time. Vehicles are restricted to designated roads only. Access to
open hunting areas behind road gates will be by foot, bicycle,
and/or boat only.

Disabled sportsmen with valid proof of disability should contact
the refuge office prior to arrival if special arrangements are
needed.

Hunters are reminded that the land adjacent to the refuge is
privately owned and entering or hunting on this land is at the
discretion of the landowner.

All deer taken on Mattamuskeet Refuge must be checked in
with the State. Field dressing harvested deer is allowed and
encouraged. No facilities are available for dressing deer at the
check station.

Do not field dress deer close to roads or areas where piles are
visible. Depositing or leaving deer carcasses on refuge lands is
prohibited.

Other Special Regulations

All persons participating in the deer hunt must wear a minimum
of 500 square inches of fluorescent orange-colored material
above the waistline that is visible from any direction. All
ground blinds must display a minimum of 144 square inches of
fluorescent orange-colored material visible from all directions.

Hunters may not shoot on, from, or across any road accessible
surface to include the following: Farm Field Road and East Main
Road. See Refuge Map for road locations.

The construction and/or use of permanent blinds, platforms, and/
or ladders is prohibited. Permit hunters may put up one portable
blind or stand the day before the start of their hunt and must
remove it at the end of the second day of that 2-day hunt. Any
stands or blinds left overnight on the refuge must have a tag
with the hunter’s name, address, and telephone number.

The use of nails, wire, screws (including lag-screw type steps) or
bolts to attach a stand to a tree or hunting from a tree into which
a metal object has been driven to support a hunter is prohibited.

Only biodegradable flagging tape can be used to mark trails. All
flagging tape must be removed on the last day of hunting.

As an ethical hunter, if you harvest or wound an animal, make
every reasonable effort to locate the deer and salvage the
animal.

The use of dogs to hunt deer is prohibited.

An adult can supervise only one youth hunter. The youth must
remain in sight and normal voice contact with the adult.

Waterfowl Hunt

Waterfow! hunting will be authorized on approximately 4,000
acres of open water and marsh on the south side of Lake
Mattamuskeet. The waterfow! hunt dates will be scheduled as
two-day paired hunts on Tuesday - Wednesdays and Friday -
Saturdays during the late waterfowl season.

The Youth Waterfow! Hunts will be held on February 5, 2022
and February 12, 2022. Hunters age 16-17 must possess a valid
license, duck stamp and HIP certification. Hunters under the age
of 16 must have successfully passed a state-approved hunter
education course and provide proof of certification.

Permits

Apply through the North Carolina Permit Hunt Opportunities
Program. The youth waterfowl hunt Item Number is 7046, the
general waterfow! hunt Item Hunt is 7045. Disabled hunters can
apply for the disabled accessible hunt blind, Item Number 7048.
The application period for waterfow! hunts is July 1 - October 1.

Individuals selected for the waterfow! hunt will be reserved two
consecutive hunt dates and may bring two guests to participate
in the hunt. A user fee of $15 per person will be collected prior
to hunting each day of the waterfowl hunt. Unclaimed permits
as of 5 am of each hunt date will be allotted to standbys via a
lottery system.

In addition to the proper North Carolina hunting licenses and
signed Federal duck stamp, waterfow! hunters must have the
HIP certification.

Only licensed hunters who have paid the user fee may be in the
blind. No observers.

Bag Limits
Same as prescribed by the State.

Manner of Take
Waterfowl may only be taken with shotguns using approved
non-toxic shot.

Access
Access to hunt area is by vehicle on East Canal Drive and then
via foot or non-motorized boat.

Check-In/Check-Out
All waterfow! hunters must check-in at the refuge headquarters
between 4:30 - 5 am. During check-in, user fees will be collected,

permits will be issued, and check-out instructions will be provided.

Other Special Regulations
Shooting hours are 1/2 hour before sunrise until 12 noon.

Decoys may only be put out on the MORNING of the hunt and
MUST be removed daily.

Hunting is restricted to the assigned blind. Only crippled birds may
be shot from outside the blind.

Hunting is restricted to the use and possession of non-toxic shot
shells only. There is a 30 shell limit per hunter per day.

The use of retrieving dogs is permitted, but dogs must be under
voice command at all times.

Motorized boats are not permitted.

September Canada Goose Hunt

Canada goose hunting will be authorized on 49,400 acres of
Mattamuskeet Refuge. Hunts days are Monday through Saturday
during the state September Canada goose season.

Apply through the North Carolina Permit Hunting Opportunities
Program. The Canada Goose Hunt [tem Number is 7047. The
application period is July 1 - August 1. Successfully drawn
applicants will be required to pay $15 to the Refuge prior to
being issued a permit.

Bag limits are the same as prescribed by the State. Portable
blinds are permitted, but must be removed daily.

Prohibited Activities

e Distributing and hunting over, or by the aid of any type of bait
(food, salt, other minerals or other substance that lures or
attracts animals) is prohibited on the refuge

e Blocking roads, trails or fire lanes

e Camping

e |ittering

* Open fires

e Overnight parking

e Taking wildlife or plants without authorization
e Trapping

e Using artificial lights (including vehicle headlights) to locate,
observe, or take wildlife

e Using or possessing alcoholic beverages while hunting
e ATV's, UTV's, Off Road Motorcycles

Other

Persons possessing, transporting, or carrying firearms on
National Wildlife Refuges must comply with all provisions of
State and local law. Persons may only use (discharge) firearms in
accordance with refuge regulations (50 CFR 27.42 and specific
refuge regulations in 50 CFR Part 32


www.ncwildlife.org/permithunt

