National Wildlife Refuge System

Refuge Hunting Expanded in 14 States

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service has opened one new refuge to hunting and expanded hunting opportunities at 16 national wildlife refuges in 14 states, under a final rule published September 11, 2012 in the Federal Register. The rule provides added public hunting opportunities in fulfillment of the National Wildlife Refuge System Improvement Act of 1997.

More than 320 refuges currently permit hunting as a traditional recreational use of renewable natural resources.


(Photo credit: Dr. F. Eugene Hester/USFWS)

- Back -

Last updated: September 11, 2012