National Wildlife Refuge System

Winners: Legends and Beacon Awards

Lorrie Beck
Lorrie Beck, winner of the Legends Award, directs the Great Plains Nature Center in Wichita, KS.

Lorrie Beck, director of the Great Plains Nature Center in Wichita, Kansas, is the winner of the 2013 Legends Award, recognizing outstanding work to improve outdoor recreation experiences and opportunities.  The Nature Center is a partnership among the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism and the City of Wichita Department of Park and Recreation.


Beck, who actively supports activities and events at Quivira National Wildlife Refuge, also spearheads production of a calendar featuring Junior Duck Stamp art and books written and illustrated by Kansas kids. The top 36 entries of the 2014 Junior Duck Stamp contest will be on display throughout the state of Kansas during 2014, including the Kansas State Fair in September.   She routinely appears on KSN News in Wichita to discuss wildlife education, nature programs, and events and usually brings along a critter that is well known to the area.   

Beacon Award
Conservation Connect is a web-based video series to connect young teens with the outdoors.
Credit: National Conservation Training Center

Beacon Award for Innovative Technology
This year’s Beacon Award for innovative use of technology goes to the National Conservation Training Center in Shepherdstown, West Virginia. The Knowledge Resources and Technologies Division creates distance learning programs, video for training, print publications and computer-based materials.


NCTC hosts a bald eagle webcam and has recently produced Conservation Connect, a web-based video series to connect young teens ith the outdoors.  The NCTC Video Gallery includes many of these videos and outreach programs.


The Legend and Beacon Awards are presented annually by the American Recreation Coalition, in partnership with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, National Park Service, Bureau of Land Management, Bureau of Reclamation, Forest Service, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and the Federal Highway Administration.


Last updated: June 13, 2014