Items of Interest

Tewaukon Wetland Management District Mission

Tewaukon Wetland Management District preserves, restores, and enhances the tallgrass prairie wetland ecosystem that supports the needs of migratory birds and other native wildlife for the benefit of present and future generations.

Tewaukon Wetland Management District Area

The Tewaukon Wetland Management District manages over 14,000 acres of Waterfowl Production Areas in Ransom, Sargent, and Richland Counties in southeast North Dakota. It also includes over 35,000 acres of wetland and grassland easements that protect these areas while remaining in private ownership.

Junior Duck Stamp

The Junior Duck Stamp program allows children to learn about wetlands and waterfowl through an annual art contest. Learn more about the North Dakota Junior Duck Stamp art contest by following the link below.

North Dakota Junior Duck Stamp
Conservation Easements

Opportunities for Private Landowners

Conservation easements allow the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to partner with willing landowners to permanently protect wetlands and grasslands in the Prairie Pothole Region.

Learn more

About the Complex

Tewaukon National Wildlife Refuge Complex

Tewaukon WMD Wetland Management District is managed as part of the Tewaukon National Wildlife Refuge Complex.

Read more about the complex
About the NWRS

National Wildlife Refuge System


The National Wildlife Refuge System, within the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, manages a national network of lands and waters set aside to conserve America's fish, wildlife, and plants.

Learn more about the NWRS