Hunting

YouthHunt-USFWSx520

Deer hunting by shotgun, muzzleloading rifle/ shotgun, and archery is permitted on the Refuge on specific hunting dates in areas shown on the map. A signed Refuge hunt permit and a valid State hunting license shall be carried when hunting deer on the Refuge. No reservations are required and hunters may select sites and hunt anywhere within the designated hunting areas.

Current Year Hunting Regulations


Deer hunting by shotgun, muzzleloading rifle/ shotgun, and archery is permitted on the Refuge on specific hunting dates in areas shown on the map. A signed Refuge hunt permit and a valid State hunting license shall be carried when hunting deer on the Refuge. No reservations are required and hunters may select sites and hunt anywhere within the designated hunting areas.

 

Youth hunters (under age 16) may possess a firearm in any hunt provided they have passed a State-approved hunter safety course and are accompanied by an adult who is at least 21 years of age. Each adult may supervise only one youth. The adult must carry a valid State hunting license and a valid Refuge hunt permit when supervising a youth hunter.  Hunting opportunities are available for disabled hunters. Please call the Refuge Office for information and to make advance arrangements.

 

Access to hunting areas is by foot, bicycle, boat, and vehicle only from 5 am to 8 pm. No access to hunting areas is permitted before 5 am on hunting dates. Vehicles are restricted to gravel roads. Parking is permitted on road shoulders.

 

All state regulations for big game hunting, including the wearing of blaze orange, shall apply. Only portable deer stands are permitted.  All deer taken must be checked-in by a refuge employee or

(1) if taken in North Carolina, checked-in at the Knotts Island Store, or

(2) if taken in Virginia, checked-in at an authorized deer checking station.

 

Public deer hunts are conducted on the refuge during the fall months (September - December). Waterfowl hunting is available on nearby Currituck National Wildlife Refuge. Contact the refuge office in mid-August for brochures, permits, and additional information. 

 

All hunters are subject to inspections of permits, licenses, tags, hunting equipment, bag limits, boats, vehicles, and their contents during compliance checks by Refuge Officers, North Carolina Wildlife Officers, Virginia Wildlife Officers, and any state or local law enforcement officer.  Violation of any Refuge regulation may result in the cancellation of your hunt permit and prosecution in federal court. It is your responsibility to be familiar with all applicable Refuge and State deer hunting regulations before hunting on the Refuge. If you have a question concerning any Refuge regulation, please call the Refuge Office.

Two deer per day in conjunction with state tagging requirements.

 

Prohibitions include:

*Use of ATV’s and any other unlicensed and unregistered vehicles.

*dumping of deer parts within 100 feet of roads, wetlands and waterways. .

*driving vehicles off of gravel roads.

*possessing a loaded firearm in a vehicle or boat.

*carrying a loaded firearm or bow on or within 50 feet of gravel roads, or shooting from a vehicle or shooting on or across roads or roadways.

*hunting outside of designated areas shown on the map or within 300 feet of the Refuge Office.

*use of nails, bolts, or screws to attach portable stands to trees, nail, bolt, or screw-type steps, artificial lights, including vehicle headlights, to observe, locate, or take wildlife,  dogs used to pursue, track or retrieve deer.

*marking trees or vegetation with blazes, flagging, or other marking devices.

*possession of alcoholic beverages.

*taking any wildlife other than deer

*taking any plants.

*leaving a portable stand overnight.

*littering - if you pack it in, pack it out!

 

For more information, call the Refuge Manager at 252/429-3100.