Villages 1000x586

Seven villages lie within the boundary of Yukon Flats Refuge. Residents of these communities have a long history of harvesting the region's natural resources for subsistence purposes, and they continue to hunt, fish, trap, pick berries, and cut house logs on the refuge. These villages, as well as the Native regional corporation, Doyon Ltd., own approximately 2.5 million acres of land within the boundaries of the Yukon Flats National Wildlife Refuge. These lands were conveyed to the Native peoples under the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act (ANCSA) enacted in 1971. Native residents of the seven villages are also represented by a non-profit organization known as the Tanana Chiefs Conference. 

*Population numbers are from the 2010 US Census 

  • Beaver

    Population: 84*, predominantly Gwitchin/Koyukon Athabascan Indian and Inupiat Eskimo   

    Location: North side of the Yukon River, 60 miles SW of Fort Yukon and 110 miles N of Fairbanks

    Learn More
  • Birch Creek

    Population: 33*, predominantly Dendu Gwich'in Athabascans 

    Location: Birch Creek, 26 miles SW of Fort Yukon

    Learn More
  • Chalkyitsik

    Population: 69*, predominantly Gwich'in Athabascan 

    Location: Black River, 50 miles E of Fort Yukon 

    Learn More
  • Circle

    Population: 104*, predominantly Athabascan  

    Location: South bank of the Yukon River, 160 miles NE of Fairbanks

    Learn More
  • Gwichyaa Zhee (Fort Yukon)

    Population: 539*, predominantly Gwich'in Athabascan 

    Location: Confluence of the Yukon and Porcupine river, 145 miles NE of Fairbanks

    Learn More
  • Stevens Village

    Population: 78*, predominantly Koyukon Athabascans

    Location: North bank of the Yukon River, 17 miles upriver from the Dalton Highway Bridge, 90 miles NW of Fairbanks

    Learn More
  • Venetie

    Population: 166*, predominantly Gwich’in 

    Location: Chandalar River, 45 miles NW of Fort Yukon 

    Learn More