Skip Navigation


Great Gray Owl

The seven owl species that can be found on the Refuge are the:  Northern hawk-owls, Northern saw-whet owls, boreal owls, short-eared owls, great gray owls, snowy owls and great horned owls. From a size standpoint, great grays (such as the one pictured here) are the largest with a body length of 20 inches and a wingspan of nearly 5 feet. 

By the way, that circular pattern around the eyes is called the facial disc; it’s much more prominent on some owl species than others. The facial disc helps direct sounds toward the ear openings, which are hidden under the feathers. We hear things that go ‘bump’ in the night. These elusive hunters hear things that barely whisper in the night.

Facts About Owls

Togiak Refuge is home to 7 species of owls.

Last Updated: Oct 24, 2013
Return to main navigation