Shutdown Notice
Due to the lapse in federal appropriations, this website will not be updated until further notice. Where public access to refuge lands does not require the presence of a federal employee or contractor, activities on refuge lands will be allowed to continue on the same terms as before the appropriations lapse. Any entry onto Refuge System property during this period of federal government shutdown is at the visitor's sole risk. Please read this important updated message about the closure of National Wildlife Refuge System facilities during the shutdown, and refer to alerts posted on individual refuge websites for the status of visitor facilities and previously scheduled events that may still occur during the shutdown.

For more information, please visit the Department of Interior webpage at

The Federal Duck Stamp – Buying Land for Wildlife

National Bison Range Complex CCP planning website

The Service is developing comprehensive conservation plans (CCP) for the National Bison Range Complex

Planning Site

Planning Email Updates


Click to subscribe to the NBR Planning Newsletter

Planning Updates Newsletter

Visit Flathead County WPAs

Shoveler 150x118

There are five WPAs located in Flathead County. Although all WPAs are wetland and grassland areas purchased by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service with proceeds from the sale of Federal Duck Stamps, each WPA is unique in its own way. Follow the link to explore each of these special areas which are managed primarily for the benefit of waterfowl and other migratory water-dependent birds.

WPA Information

Hunting Regulations

Hunting is permitted on all of Northwest Montana Wetland Management District Flathead County WPAs. Please review our Hunting Regulations as each WPA may be different.

Rules and Regulations
Waterfowl Production Areas

Waterfowl Production Areas

Yellow-headed blackbird 150x118

Waterfowl production areas, or WPAs, are little known, but important components of the National Wildlife Refuge System. Like refuges, they protect habitat for wildlife, but the primary purpose of WPAs is to protect wetlands and grasslands for waterfowl (ducks, geese, and swans). For that reason, WPAs are located primarily in the Prairie Pothole Region of North America. Northwest Montana Wetland Management District Flathead County is part of the 5% of WPAs not found in the prairie wetlands of the Dakotas, Minnesota and eastern Montana. Western Montana WPAs serve an important role for migrating birds.

What is a Waterfowl Production Area?

About the Complex

National Bison Range Complex

Northwest Montana Flathead County Wetland Management District is managed as part of the National Bison Range Complex.

Read more about the complex
About the NWRS

National Wildlife Refuge System


The National Wildlife Refuge System, within the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, manages a national network of lands and waters set aside to conserve America's fish, wildlife, and plants.

Learn more about the NWRS