Public Programs

Programs and events may be cancelled due to inclement weather. For more information, call 952-854-5900.  

 


Visitor Center Special Exhibits

Bloomington Visitor Center Art Gallery

  • 9 a.m.- 4 p.m. September 3-30- Regina Flanagan: What Makes a Landscape Beautiful?
  • 1-4 p.m. September 22- Meet the Artist Reception for Regina Flanagan

     


    Festivals

    Details to come: 
    • Bat Festival- October 26

    Bloomington Culture Festival

     
    • 1-4 p.m. Saturday, October 12

    Community Events

    Puppet Show Series

    • 10:30 a.m. – 11:15 a.m. Saturday, July 20- Chupacabras and Los Tres Cabritos
    • 10:30 a.m. – 11:15 a.m. Saturday, September 14- Way of the Monarch
    • 10:30 a.m. – 11:15 a.m. Saturday, October 26- Little Brown Bat
    • 2-2:30 p.m. Saturday, October 26- Little Brown Bat
    • 2 p.m. Saturday, November 2- Skeletons in the Closet

    Wildlife Watching Events

    Bird Walks at Bass Ponds, 8-10:30 a.m.

    • Sunday, August 25
    • Sunday, September 8
    • Sunday, September 29
    • Monday, October 7
    • Saturday, October 19

    Bird Walks at Bloomington Education and Visitor Center

    • Please check back for upcoming dates/times

    Bird Walks at Rapids Lake Education and Visitor Center, 8-10:30 a.m.

    • Saturday, August 24
    • Saturday, September 7
    • Monday, September 16
    • Sunday, October 6
    • Sunday, October 20
    • Saturday, October 26

    Bird Language, 9:15 a.m. – 1 p.m.

    • Sunday, October 6
    • Sunday, November 3
    • Sunday, December 1
    • Sunday, January 5

    LL Bean Outdoor Discover Programs

    • More details to come, check link for details.

    Meeting Monarchs

    • 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. daily, September 8 through September 29, Bloomington Visitor Center
    • 9 a.m. - 3 p.m. Tuesday-Friday, September 8 through September 29, Rapids Lake Visitor Center
    • 9 a.m. - 3 p.m. Saturday, September 14, Rapids Lake Visitor Center

    Conocer al monarca

    • 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. 8 de septiembre hasta 29 de septiembre, Bloomington Visitor Center
    • 9 a.m. – 3 p.m. Martes a viernes, 8 de septiembre hasta 29 de septiembre, Rapids Lake Visitor Center
    • 9 a.m.-3 p.m. 14 de septiembre, Rapids Lake Visitor Center

    Speaker Series

    Audubon Speaker Series: Birding and Sea bird Research in Alaska's Bering Sea

    • 7:30-8:30 p.m.,Thursday, September 26

    Workshops

    Master Gardener Series at Rapids Lake, 10-11 a.m.

    • Saturday, June 22- Pollinator Friendly Flowers and Landscapes
    • Saturday, July 20- Native Grasses
    • Saturday, August 17- Plant Biodiversity & Invasive Species
    • Saturday, September 14- Trees 101 & Pruning

    Refuge Volunteer Training Event: Oh So Much About Monarchs!, 6:30-8 p.m

    • Friday, September 6

    Night Photography and Light Painting Workshop, 6 p.m.-9 p.m.

    • Saturday, September 21