Fishing

Including crabbing, clamming, oystering and shrimping
Photo Gallery Great Blue Heron

You may Fish, Crab, Clam, Oyster, and Shrimp in the Indian River Lagoon, Mosquito Lagoon, Banana River Lagoon, Mosquito Control Impoundments and Interior Freshwater Lakes except for the restricted areas of the Kennedy Space Center or as noted below. Individuals found in NASA's normal or expanded Restricted Area are subject to arrest. All Florida Fishing Regulations apply as well as the following Refuge Specific regulations. There is a $10 daily fee, or $25 annual fee for using the improved boat ramps.

Mosquito Control Impoundments
Bank fishing after dark is not permitted. Impoundments and interior ponds are not open to night fishing.

Mosquito Lagoon
The Pole & Troll Zones were developed with extensive input from anglers and are intended to improve the quality of flats fishing and reduce prop scarring. The two Pole & Troll Zones cover 3,143 acres of the 21,000 acre Mosquito Lagoon.
To be in compliance with the regulations of the Zones, internal combustion engines must be off, (except in the posted channels) and boats drafting more than 12" at rest may not enter. Boats that enter the zone must switch to a non-internal combustion power source such as polling or paddling. Electric trolling motors are permitted. Boats may operate under power only in the posted running channels. The boundary of the Pole & Troll Zones is posted with white or yellow buoys and the running channels are marked with red and green day markers.

Indian River Lagoon
The headwaters of the Indian River Lagoon and Turnbull Creek are located within the boundary of the refuge. There is limited access to this portion of the lagoon, but Shiloh Marsh Road provides bank access along a 12 mile section of the northeast section of the Lagoon and offers good bird-watching, canoe, and fishing access. As with all refuge waters, a sports fishing permit is required.
Shiloh Marsh Road and L Pond Road are closed to motor vehicles. Individuals may enter by foot to bird-watch or fish from the road.

Banana River No Motor Zone
Most of the Banana River north of Port Canaveral and the Beach Line Highway (SR 528) has been closed to motor boats for the protection for manatees since 1990. This area has one of the highest concentrations of manatees in Florida. Boaters generally refer to this area as the “No Motor Zone” as motorized vessels including any vessel having an attached or non-attached internal combustion or electric trolling motor capable of use are prohibited. The boundary of the No Motor Zone is delineated with signs.
This 10,600 acre open water area is one of the few places in Florida free from motor boats and has become a popular destination for paddlers and fishermen. The shoreline on the north, east, and west side of the lagoon is within the “Security Area” of the Kennedy Space Center and Cape Canaveral Air Force Station; therefore access to the No Motor Zone is very limited and restricted to two locations from the south. From the southwest side, KARS Park provides a 30 car parking lot, store for ice and supplies, and restrooms. The launch site is located at the north end of KARS Park and provides direct access into the No Motor Zone. KARS Park charges a $5.00 per boat launch fee which can be paid at the KARS store. KARS Park is located at the east end of Hall Road off Courtney Parkway (SR3). From the southeast side, paddlers can launch off of the 401 Causeway north of the Cruise Terminals at Port Canaveral. Paddlers on the east side, be advised, Cape Canaveral Air Force Station maintains a permanent closed area that extends 10,000 feet into the Banana River and occupies about half the east shoreline. This closure is marked with buoys.


 A list of comprehensive Refuge-permitted Commercial Fishing Guides is located below:

NamePhoneService ProvidedBusiness Nameemail address
Adams, John(904) 238-6817Fishing GuideAdams Fly Coadamsflyco@gmail.com
Bell, Gary D.(386) 212-4506Fishing Guiden/aeastflafishingcharters@gmail.com
Bradley, Richard A.(321) 868-4953Fishing Guiden/agina@lagooner.com
Brown, Timothy(386) 847-2119Fishing Guiden/acaughthookin@gmail.com
Brown, William(321) 547-1231Fishing Guide Capt. Dave Brown Fishing Guide captdavidbrown@yahoo.com
Budd, Eric (386) 207-1137Fishing GuideSeeing Red Chartersbonzai305@yahoo.com
Carver, Thomas (407) 432-5138Fishing GuideFlat Addicted Fishingflataddicted@gmail.com
Catigano, Joseph(386) 235-7882Fishing GuideMosquito Lagoon Fishingfishing@mosquitolagoon.com
Catino, Frank (321) 223-7700Fishing Guiden/afcatino@cfl.rr.com
Cavanaugh, Drew(352) 223-7897Fishing Guiden/acaptdrew@floridainshorefishingcharters.com
Clancy, Robert(386) 566-6303Fishing Guiden/abclancy1@cfl.rr.com
Clark, Nicholas(321) 567-2931Fishing GuideFlounder Creek OutfittersFLOUNDERCREEKOUTFITTERS@YAHOO.COM
Cox, Johnny D(386) 299-7675Fishing GuideReel Native Guidecaptdcox@yahoo.com
Curtsinger, Bradley(386) 717-3802Fishing GuideNSB Charterscarlcatcher@yahoo.com
Drown, Mark(321) 794-3949Fishing Guiden/acaptmarkdrown@yahoo.com
Ferri, Brandon(386) 690-4824Fishing GuideOn The Spot Chartersonthespotcharters@yahoo.com
Fisher, Robert(386) 290-0786Fishing GuideFisher's Lagoon Chartersanfisher@bellsouth.net
Fisher, William(386) 212-3009Fishing Guide Fisher's Lagoon Chartersdelfish@bellsouth.net
Frazier, John(386) 527-6561Fishing GuideInland Fishing Charterscaptnjohnf@yahoo.com
Futch, William (386) 689-9284Fishing Guiden/aeugene.futch@mail.com
Gillett, Avery(407) 756-9425Fishing GuideCurrent Outdoors, LLCagflyrods@gmail.com
Glasner, James(321) 652-5903Fishing GuideFin & Fly Chartersfinandflycharters@gmail.com
Goodrich, Neal(386) 690-0473Fishing GuideFishing Frenzy Charter Servicenealcaptain@aol.com
Gorichky, Alex(321) 480-3253Fishing GuideLocal Lines Guide Servicelocallines@yahoo.com
Graves, Matthew(407) 222-4408Fishing GuideLimitless Fishing ChartersGravesmatthew09@gmail.com
Groenendyk, Xavier(407) 937-8363Fishing GuideClose Encounters Fishingxaviergroenendyk@yahoo.com
Hughey, Alexander(321) 795-8566Fishing GuideFin $ Fly Charters finandflycharters@gmail.com
Hutson, Claude(407) 247-2407Fishing Guiden/acaptdonhutson@yahoo.com
Kraft, Randy(407) 416-8795Fishing GuideTug of war Charterscaptain@togofwarcharters.com
Kozloski, Anthony(386) 290-5355Fishing GuideCapt. Tony Kozloski, LLCshallowfishing@gmail.com
Kumiski, John(407) 687-3631Fishing GuideJohn Kumiski Guide Servicespottedtail@spottedtail.com
Le, Willy(321) 303-7805Fishing GuideNative Fly Charters LLCnativeflycharters@gmail.com
Lee, Matthew(386) 214-3530Fishing GuideCode Red Fishing Charterscoderedfishing@yahoo.com
Lemmon, Nathaniel(386) 212-4931Fishing Guiden/acaptain@floridasightfishing.com
Link, Dustin(407) 761-9035Fishing GuideXtreme Sight Fishing Chartersxtremesightfishing@gmail.com
Lulay, Jon(407) 733-3223Fishing Guide2 Castaway Redfish Charterscaptlulay3@aol.com
MacCalla, Scott(321) 795-9259Fishing GuideBackcast Chartersbackcastsharters@gmailcom
Mann, Michael(386) 295-5991Fishing GuideFat Fish Guide Servicemannsurf@yahoo.com
Marple, Michael(386) 689-0173Fishing Guiden/acaptainmikemarple@gmail.com
McDaniel, Caleb(321) 501-9294Fishing GuideSouthern Waters Guide Services, LLC.calebm@southernwatersguiding.com
McGhee, Robert(386) 847-3937Fishing GuideFins In Low Places Fishing Chartersfinsinlowplaces@gmail.com
Moore, Michael(321) 624-9789Fishing GuideCPR Fishing Charters Inc.CAPTMIKEMOORE@HOTMAIL.COM
Morrisey, Larry(386) 212-4661Fishing Guiden/afishinmagician01@msn.com
Moss, Jonathan(407) 760-8593Fishing GuideG. Castaway Chartersjonathan@gocastaway.com
Myers, Chris(321) 229-2848Fishing GuideCentral FL Sight Fishing Charterscmyers@flatsfishingtrips.com
Myers, Eric(321) 501-9232Fishing GuideSlightly Obsessed Fishing Chartersslightlyobsessedfishing@gmail.com
Pantuso, Tony(386) 214-3940Fishing GuideCapt. Tony Pantusotpantuso@yahoo.com
Perez, Troy(321) 607-2033Fishing Guiden/acapt.troyperez@gmail.com
Pharis, Frederick(407) 257-4395Fishing Guide2 Lagoon Charters2lagooncharters@cfl.rr.com
Porcelli, Joseph(386) 314-5656Fishing Guiden/ajoe@captjoeporcelli.com
Pounds, Brian(407) 702-3643Fishing GuideSouthern Fishing Charterssouthernfishingchartersllc@gmail.com
Preston, Patrick(386) 566-0460Fishing GuideCapt. Patrick Prestonpprestonnsb@ aol.com
Price, Justin(386) 566-4687Fishing GuideRight in Sight Charterscapt.justinprice@rightinsightcharters.com
Register, Jess(407) 448-2017Fishing GuideFlyin' High Charters, LLCcapt.jesseregister@live.com
Roberson, James(321) 698-2997Fishing GuideJames David Robersondproberson@bellsouth.net
Rood, Patrick(386) 566-1394Fishing GuideSpot-n-Tail Chartersspotntail@yahoo.com
Rotne, William(386) 290-9897Fishing GuideTail Hunter Charterscaptbillyrotne@yahoo.com
Rutan, Daniel(386) 689-5580Fishing GuideRed Talen Charters LLCdbr.ak907@yahoo.com
Sassic, Nicholas(386) 479-3429Fishing GuideFly Envy Fishing Chartersflyfishnic@gmail.com
Savedow, Michael(386) 689-3781Fishing GuideEdgewater River Guideedgewaterriverguide@cfl.rr.com
Shackelford, Edward(386) 314-9914Fishing GuideCapt. Eddie Shackelford Fishing Gsmokingreel@gmail.com
Sills, Karty(386) 416-9668Fishing GuideGone Fishing Guide Servicecaptkarty@yahoo.com
Spicer, Justin(386) 882-2075Fishing GuideLocal Chartersredfish1970@icloud.com
Stickels, Jason(321 363-7397Fishing GuideJust Hooked Fishing Chartersjusthookedfishing@yahoo.com
Tanner, Travis(407) 4680701Fishing Guiden/acapt_travis@yahoo.com
Tolliver, Micah(321) 243-4525Fishing GuideFishing Charters LLC.captmicahtolliver@gmail.com
Tripp, David S.(407) 467-1531Fishing GuideFish'n Light Tackle Chartersfishtrip@cfl.rr.com
Turcot, John(321) 544-2497Fishing GuideBackcountry on Flybackcountryonfly@cfl.rr.com
Van Horn, Thomas(407) 416-1187Fishing GuideMosquito Coast Fishingmosquitocoast@cfl.rr.com
Wright, Mark(321) 302-3474Fishing GuideCapt. Mark Wrightcaptmarkwright@earthlink.net

Facts About Fishing

Free Refuge Fishing Permit 

Florida Fishing Information

Florida fishing licenses can be purchased at most retail outlets

The yearly boat ramp permit can be purchased at the Refuge Visitor Information Center

Looking for a fishing guide? Email MerrittIsland@fws.gov for a current list of up-to-date Refuge-approved commercial fishing guides!