Fishing

Including crabbing, clamming, oystering and shrimping
Photo Gallery Great Blue Heron

You may Fish, Crab, Clam, Oyster, and Shrimp in the Indian River Lagoon, Mosquito Lagoon, Banana River Lagoon, Mosquito Control Impoundments and Interior Freshwater Lakes except for the restricted areas of the Kennedy Space Center or as noted below. Individuals found in NASA's normal or expanded Restricted Area are subject to arrest. All Florida Fishing Regulations apply as well as the following Refuge Specific regulations. There is a $10 daily fee, or $25 annual fee for using the improved boat ramps.

Mosquito Control Impoundments
Bank fishing after dark is not permitted. Impoundments and interior ponds are not open to night fishing.

Mosquito Lagoon
The Pole & Troll Zones were developed with extensive input from anglers and are intended to improve the quality of flats fishing and reduce prop scarring. The two Pole & Troll Zones cover 3,143 acres of the 21,000 acre Mosquito Lagoon.
To be in compliance with the regulations of the Zones, internal combustion engines must be off, (except in the posted channels) and boats drafting more than 12" at rest may not enter. Boats that enter the zone must switch to a non-internal combustion power source such as polling or paddling. Electric trolling motors are permitted. Boats may operate under power only in the posted running channels. The boundary of the Pole & Troll Zones is posted with white or yellow buoys and the running channels are marked with red and green day markers.

Indian River Lagoon
The headwaters of the Indian River Lagoon and Turnbull Creek are located within the boundary of the refuge. There is limited access to this portion of the lagoon, but Shiloh Marsh Road provides bank access along a 12 mile section of the northeast section of the Lagoon and offers good bird-watching, canoe, and fishing access. As with all refuge waters, a sports fishing permit is required.
Shiloh Marsh Road and L Pond Road are closed to motor vehicles. Individuals may enter by foot to bird-watch or fish from the road.

Banana River No Motor Zone
Most of the Banana River north of Port Canaveral and the Beach Line Highway (SR 528) has been closed to motor boats for the protection for manatees since 1990. This area has one of the highest concentrations of manatees in Florida. Boaters generally refer to this area as the “No Motor Zone” as motorized vessels including any vessel having an attached or non-attached internal combustion or electric trolling motor capable of use are prohibited. The boundary of the No Motor Zone is delineated with signs.
This 10,600 acre open water area is one of the few places in Florida free from motor boats and has become a popular destination for paddlers and fishermen. The shoreline on the north, east, and west side of the lagoon is within the “Security Area” of the Kennedy Space Center and Cape Canaveral Air Force Station; therefore access to the No Motor Zone is very limited and restricted to two locations from the south. From the southwest side, KARS Park provides a 30 car parking lot, store for ice and supplies, and restrooms. The launch site is located at the north end of KARS Park and provides direct access into the No Motor Zone. KARS Park charges a $5.00 per boat launch fee which can be paid at the KARS store. KARS Park is located at the east end of Hall Road off Courtney Parkway (SR3). From the southeast side, paddlers can launch off of the 401 Causeway north of the Cruise Terminals at Port Canaveral. Paddlers on the east side, be advised, Cape Canaveral Air Force Station maintains a permanent closed area that extends 10,000 feet into the Banana River and occupies about half the east shoreline. This closure is marked with buoys.


 A list of comprehensive Refuge-permitted Commercial Fishing Guides is located below:

NamePhoneBusiness Nameemail address
Bell, Gary D.(386) 212-4506East Fla Fishing Charterseastflafishingcharters@gmail.com
Bradley, Richard A.(321) 868-4953n/agina@lagooner.com
Brown, Timothy(386) 847-2119n/acaughthookin@gmail.com
Brown, William(386) 547-1231Capt. Dave Brown Fishing Guide captdavidbrown@yahoo.com
Brownell, Frank (386) 690-4761Shallow Minded Fishing Charterscaptfrankb@hotmail.com
Budd, Eric (386) 207-1137Seeing Red Chartersbonzai305@yahoo.com
Carver, Thomas (407) 432-5138Flat Addicted Fishingflataddicted@gmail.com
Catigano, Joseph(386) 235-7882Mosquito Lagoon Fishingfishing@mosquitolagoon.com
Catino, Frank (321) 223-7700n/afcatino@cfl.rr.com
Cavanaugh, Drew(352) 223-7897n/acaptdrew@floridainshorefishingcharters.com
Clancy, Robert(386) 566-6303n/abclancy1@cfl.rr.com
Clark, Nicholas(321) 567-2931Flounder Creek OutfittersFLOUNDERCREEKOUTFITTERS@YAHOO.COM
Cox, Johnny D(386) 299-7675Reel Native Guidecaptdcox@yahoo.com
Curtsinger, Bradley(386) 717-3802NSB Charterscarlcatcher@yahoo.com
Drown, Mark(321) 794-3949n/acaptmarkdrown@yahoo.com
Ferri, Brandon(386) 690-4824On The Spot Chartersonthespotcharters@yahoo.com
Fisher, Robert(386) 290-0786Fisher's Lagoon Chartersanfisher@bellsouth.net
Fisher, William(386) 212-3009Fisher's Lagoon Chartersdelfish@bellsouth.net
Frazier, John(386) 527-6561Inland Fishing Charterscaptnjohnf@yahoo.com
Futch, William (386) 689-9284n/aeugene.futch@mail.com
Gillett, Avery(407) 756-9425Current Outdoors, LLCagflyrods@gmail.com
Glasner, James(321) 652-5903Fin & Fly Chartersfinandflycharters@gmail.com
Goodrich, Neal(386) 690-0473Fishing Frenzy Charter Servicenealcaptain@aol.com
Gorichky, Alex(321) 480-3253Local Lines Guide Servicelocallines@yahoo.com
Groenendyk, Xavier(407) 937-8363Close Encounters Fishingxaviergroenendyk@yahoo.com
Hughey, Alexander(321) 795-8566Fin $ Fly Charters finandflycharters@gmail.com
Hutson, Claude(407) 247-2407n/acaptdonhutson@yahoo.com
Kaminski, Dorothy(321) 394-6874Reel Kayak Fishing Chartersdee@reelkayakfishing.com
Kayholm, Bradley(386) 314-8553Wham Bam Charterswhambamcharters@gmail.com
Kraft, Randy(407) 416-8795Tug of war Charterscaptain@togofwarcharters.com
Kozloski, Anthony(386) 290-5355Capt. Tony Kozloski, LLCshallowfishing@gmail.com
Kumiski, John(407) 687-3631John Kumiski Guide Servicespottedtail@spottedtail.com
Le, Willy(321) 303-7805Native Fly Charters LLCnativeflycharters@gmail.com
Lee, Matthew(386) 214-3530Code Red Fishing Charterscoderedfishing@yahoo.com
Lemmon, Nathaniel(386) 212-4931n/acaptain@floridasightfishing.com
Link, Dustin(407) 761-9035Xtreme Sight Fishing Chartersxtremesightfishing@gmail.com
Lulay, Jon(407) 733-32232 Castaway Redfish Charterscaptlulay3@aol.com
MacCalla, Scott(321) 795-9259Backcast Chartersbackcastsharters@gmailcom
Mann, Michael(386) 295-5991Fat Fish Guide Servicemannsurf@yahoo.com
Marple, Michael(386) 689-0173n/acaptainmikemarple@gmail.com
McGhee, Robert(386) 847-3937Fins In Low Places Fishing Chartersfinsinlowplaces@gmail.com
Moore, Michael(321) 624-9789CPR Fishing Charters Inc.CAPTMIKEMOORE@HOTMAIL.COM
Morrisey, Larry(386) 212-4661n/afishinmagician01@msn.com
Moss, Jonathan(407) 760-8593G. Castaway Chartersjonathan@gocastaway.com
Myers, Chris(321) 229-2848Central FL Sight Fishing Charterscmyers@flatsfishingtrips.com
Pantuso, Tony(386) 214-3940Capt. Tony Pantusotpantuso@yahoo.com
Parker, Kenneth(407) 770-7132First Light Chartersgang21@bellsouth.net
Perez, Troy(321) 607-2033n/acapt.troyperez@gmail.com
Pharis, Frederick(407) 257-43952 Lagoon Charters2lagooncharters@cfl.rr.com
Porcelli, Joseph(386) 314-5656n/ajoe@captjoeporcelli.com
Pounds, Brian(407) 702-3643Southern Fishing Charterssouthernfishingchartersllc@gmail.com
Preston, Patrick(386) 566-0460Capt. Patrick Prestonpprestonnsb@ aol.com
Price, Justin(386) 566-4687Right in Sight Charterscapt.justinprice@rightinsightcharters.com
Register, Jess(407) 448-2017Flyin' High Charters, LLCcapt.jesseregister@live.com
Riccard, Michael(407) 951-3369Schooled Up Redfish Charters LLCcaptain.mikericcard@yahoo.com
Roberson, James(321) 698-2997James David Robersondproberson@bellsouth.net
Rood, Patrick(386) 566-1394Spot-n-Tail Chartersspotntail@yahoo.com
Rotne, William(386) 290-9897Tail Hunter Charterscaptbillyrotne@yahoo.com
Rutan, Daniel(386) 689-5580Red Talen Charters LLCdbr.ak907@yahoo.com
Sassic, Nicholas(386) 479-3429Fly Envy Fishing Chartersflyfishnic@gmail.com
Savedow, Michael(386) 689-3781Edgewater River Guideedgewaterriverguide@cfl.rr.com
Shackelford, Edward(386) 314-9914Capt. Eddie Shackelford Fishing Gsmokingreel@gmail.com
Sills, Karty(386) 416-9668Gone Fishing Guide Servicecaptkarty@yahoo.com
Spicer, Justin(386) 882-2075Local Chartersredfish1970@icloud.com
Stickels, Jason(321 363-7397Just Hooked Fishing Chartersjusthookedfishing@yahoo.com
Tanner, Travis(407) 4680701n/acapt_travis@yahoo.com
Tolliver, Micah(321) 243-4525Fishing Charters LLC.captmicahtolliver@gmail.com
Tripp, David S.(407) 467-1531Fish'n Light Tackle Chartersfishtrip@cfl.rr.com
Turcot, John(321) 544-2497Backcountry on Flybackcountryonfly@cfl.rr.com
Van Horn, Thomas(407) 416-1187Mosquito Coast Fishingmosquitocoast@cfl.rr.com
Wright, Mark(321) 302-3474Capt. Mark Wrightcaptmarkwright@earthlink.net

 

Facts About Fishing

Free Refuge Fishing Permit 

Florida Fishing Information

Florida fishing licenses can be purchased at most retail outlets

The yearly boat ramp permit can be purchased at the Refuge Visitor Information Center

Looking for a fishing guide? Email MerrittIsland@fws.gov for a current list of up-to-date Refuge-approved commercial fishing guides!