Skip Navigation

Resource Management

Monarch CaterpillarMonarch caterpillars go through five instars.  Instars are the periods between the times when an insect sheds its skin.  Because insects have exoskeletons (their skeleton is on the outside of their body), they have to shed their skin to grow.
Page Photo Credits — Monarch caterpillar, Sara Giles/USFWS
Last Updated: Sep 28, 2015
Return to main navigation