Wildlife & Habitat

Red-tailed Hawk

Ellicott Slough National Wildlife Refuge is small but diverse with foothills, valleys, and coastal scenery.  The refuge is composed of three units:  Ellicott Unit, Calabasas Unit, and the Harkins Slough Unit. Each unit plays a significant role for either threatened and endangered species, migratory birds, or wetland protection.

  • Wildlife

    Pacific Tree Frog

    In addition to federally-listed species, Ellicott Slough National Wildlife Refuge provides homes for a variety of wildlife, including amphibians and reptiles, mammals, birds, fish and invertebrates.

    Learn More
  • Refuge Units

    Ellicott Unit

    The three refuge units offer distinct habitat types for a different types of wildlife.

    Learn More