About the Complex


The Southwest Louisiana National Wildlife Refuge Complex consists of four federal wildlife refuges located in southwest Louisiana: Cameron Prairie, Sabine, Lacassine, and Shell Keys. Each of these national wildlife refuges was created to support, protect, and provide winter habitat for migratory waterfowl. These refuges are part of the National Wildlife Refuge System, which is a national network of lands consisting of more than 560 refuges and thousands of waterfowl production areas throughout all 50 states, and U.S. territories, all of which are administered by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

The more than 185,338 acres of land contained within boundaries of the four National Wildlife Refuges in southwest Louisiana supports numerous species of both plants and wildlife. The Southwest Louisiana National Wildlife Refuge Complex offers a multitude of opportunities for you and your family to learn more about and enjoy these national wildlife refuges.

For additional information about Cameron PrairieLacassineSabine and Shell Keys National Wildlife Refuges contact us at:

Southwest Louisiana National Wildlife Refuge Complex
1428 Highway 27 
Bell City LA 70630
Email: SWLRComplex@fws.gov